You don't get it, son. This isn't a email service, it's a blog and we're the bloggers! We are the Caped Informers. Here to inform you on all current comic related news.
A few days ago it was reported that Robert Downey Jr. (Iron Man) was in negotiations for Iron Man 4. Well it turns out that Downey was in negotiations, but not for a new Iron Man flick though. According to Variety, he was signing on to co-star in Captain America3! Which will supposedly adapt (or begin to adapt) Marvel's famous Civil War storyline that was written by Mark Millar (Kick Ass) and drawn by Steve Mcniven (Old Man Logan).
Variety wrote that "The deal is significant for the Marvel cinematic universe considering the plot will pit Stark against Captain America’s alter-ego Steve Rogers, played by Chris Evans, as they feud over the Superhero Registration Act, which forces anyone with superhuman abilities to reveal their identities to the U.S. government and agree to act as a police force for the authorities. Stark supports the program, but Rogers does not, saying it threatens civil liberties, causing sides to be taken and Rogers, among others, to go on the run to avoid arrest. The moral question and battle with his Avengers teammate essentially makes Stark a villain of sorts in “Captain America 3,” providing Downey with a meaty role he could play out into future Marvel films, including a fourth “Avengers.” Sounds awesome so far and the report went on even further to say that this film will "drive the plots of sequels and new franchises for the next seven years" because "The fallout from the government and Stark’s actions would factor into a new “Avengers 4″ film and beyond that will assemble new characters being introduced like Ant-Man and Doctor Strange, among others, in their own movies." So get excited for 2016 cause now we can add Captain America vs. Iron Man in addition to Batman vs. Superman. Holy Shit it is a great time to be alive!
HEYY SEXY LADY!!!
WOW. Just wow. We live in a time where anything can happen with comic book movies. Civil War could be an incredible addition to the Marvel Cinematic Universe. It really gives Iron Man a new role to explore within this world and expands the roster of heroes for future film projects.
I am just blown away of how excited I am right now for 2016. I have just one thing to say (or rather plead). HEY SONY PICTURES! PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE LOAN OUT ANDREW GARFIELD TO MARVEL STUDIOS. SPIDERMAN NEEDS TO BE IN THIS MOVIE!
It was was recently reported actually that Sony was in talks to loan the character out to Marvel. This is because they are desperately looking for a new direction with the character after Amazing Spiderman 2 had a lukewarm reception. I'm not gonna say that this will happen, but I did start this rant by saying anything can happen in comic book movies...
2016 is going to change lives. Batman Vs Superman in March and Cap Vs Iron Man in May. Everyone's deepest comic fantasies are coming true. I'm in shock that it is actually happening. In fact I haven't been this surprised since Tony Stark revealed he was Iron Man.
Thanks for reading! For all your Marvel movie and comics news make sure you follow us on Twitter @Caped_Informers or follow me @cstrand73.
Amid recent reports that The Amazing Spiderman 3 has been pushed back to 2017, one of the screenwriters for ASM 2 Robert Orci has told IGN Movies that he has exited the sequel. "I don't know what their plans are for that franchise," Orci said. Then when asked if he would return for future installments he said "I don't ever want to say never, but we have to figure out what their scheduling is in terms of when they want each movie. I've read probably as much as anyone else. There's a love for the Sinister Six, the idea of Venom -- there's an idea of Spider-Man's going to be one of these characters that's part of our business. He's such a popular character. Spider-Man's not going to go away any time soon. When it all happens and how and all that has yet to be determined." Orci's next project will be directing the JJ-less Star Trek 3.
First off I would to say that I'm not the biggest fan of Robert Orci or his former writing partner Alex Kurtzman. They have many shitty projects clogging up their combined resume including Cowboys vs Aliens and Transformers: Revenge Of the Fallen. Overall they are mediocre writers at best. They are the geniuses behind using super blood as a plot device in both Star Trek: Into Darkness and ASM 2. Fuck, I wouldn't be surprised if they are the ones who proposed the idea that the aliens' motivation in Cowboys vs Aliens was that they wanted our gold. Just terrible. So somehow these two were believed to be featured heavily in the future of the ASM franchise. Kurtzman was to direct Venom and both of them were expected to pen the upcoming sequel. That was all before the lukewarm critical and box office reception of ASM 2. So now Orci is off to ruin Star Trek and Kurtzman is god knows where. So where does that leave Spiderman and his spinoffs?
What is really interesting is Orci's comments about not knowing the schedule of future Spidey films. A few months ago it seemed very set in stone that Amazing Spiderman 3 would be released in 2016. But in a post ASM 2 world, that no longer seems so certain. Same thing with Venom and the Sinister Six. Sony's plans for the villainous spinoffs seemed like a guarantee, but now Orci's comments make it sound like the studio is weary to make those flicks.
So let's face the facts, Amazing Spiderman 2 has (at least temporarily) crippled the once promising franchise. As a staff we gave the film an 7.5, but others were not as kind. So what was the problem with the movie? Andrew Garfield sure of hell isn't, he is a great Spiderman. Emma Stone was once again top notch. The problem is Marc Webb and the writing team. Webb has swung and missed on both of the mains villains and focus of the first two movies.
I have never particularly found the Lizard to be an exciting villain and as for Electro, Jamie Foxx's performance of wasn't the problem, the way he was misused was. The character was extremely powerful (superpowers-wise), it just did not feel like the main villain of the film though. He was only around so when the time was right he could break Harry Osborn in Oscorp and give us a Goblin origin. Still somehow in forgien markets this film had the subtitle Rise Of Electro. Even though Electro is missing through most of the film and done away with rather quickly in the finale so that the more compelling villain Green Goblin can fuck with Peter. Webb has stated that Electro is his favorite Spiderman villain, yet the character felt like he didn't belong in this movie.
The other main problem I have with Webb is his focus on Peter's parents. The storyline had an obvious ending and took away valuable screen time from other scenes that could have improved the film. It just further made the film jumbled by making it spin more story lines. Also nobody has ever given a shit about Peter's parents. Like seriously I'm surprised this franchise even attempted to address them.
So yes maybe The Amazing Spiderman franchise is delaying it's 3rd film and subsequent spinoffs. But truthfully I find this to be a good thing. This franchise needs to find a new direction. Orci leaving is a good start, but I really believe Sony needs to replace Webb as well. He is great with the romantic scenes, but I'm sorry to tell him that Spiderman isn't all about romance. He picks and misuses the villains of his films and I do not want to see him ruin characters like Venom or Kraven anytime soon. Get a new writing team and tell Webb to hit the curb. Hopefully then Andrew Garfield can get a movie that his fantastic portrayal of Spiderman deserves.
Thanks for reading and make sure to follow us on Twitter @Caped_Informers or me @cstrand73 for all your comic and ASM updates.
Sony has churned out five Spiderman movies over two different franchises in the last 12 years. Some of the films have been great, others not so much. So I thought I would throw my two cents in and compare the two franchises. Expect SPOILERS from all Spidey films. Let us begin...
1. Better Peter Parker/Spiderman: Andrew Garfield
Why?: After seeing two full movies with Garfield as Spidey, I can confidently say that he is the Superior Spiderman. He nails Spidey's fun loving and joking nature, while also being able to portray Peter Parker's more dramatic moments. Garfield's Peter Parker has also cries less, which is a plus. The original trilogy had Maguire openly weeping more than cracking jokes. That is not Maguire's fault, but his Spiderman feels a lot less like the comic character than Garfield's.
2. Better Love Interest: Emma Stone/Gwen Stacy
Why?: This was the easiest decision of the bunch. Emma Stone's Gwen is the far better love interest of Peter Parker. Gwen was able to help Spiderman defeat his villains in each of the Amazing Spiderman films, while Kristen Dunst's MJ would always find her way to cause problems for Peter. Gwen is smart, beautiful, and understanding. She has a natural likability to her that Dunst's MJ was just unable to achieve.
3. Better Villains: The Original Trilogy (Doc Ock, Gobby, etc.)
Why?: Alfred Molina's Doctor Octopus almost single handedly won this category for the original trilogy. The beef I have had with all the villain's of the Spidey franchise is that have been sympathetic foes with voices in their heads. For that reason I am excited to see where Dehaan's Goblin goes from the ending of Amazing Spiderman 2. He has been the only villain out the 8 (I am not counting Paul Giamatti's Rhino because he is a total clown) in the franchise not to have a voice in his head. Perhaps with Gobby's growth and Sinister Six and Venom films on the horizon the Amazing franchise will have better villains down the road. Until then though, Raimi's baddies get the nod.
4. Best Fight Sequence: Doc Ock vs. Spidey on the Train
Why?: The Amazing series better showcases Spiderman's fight style especially the use of his webbing in battle, but the train sequence from Spiderman 2 is the most iconic fight of any of the films. Spidey must fight Ock while protecting the citizens on the locomotive. This leads Spidey to use all his strength to stop the moving train. An easy feat for Superman, but for Spidey not so much.
5. Better Director: Sam Raimi
Why?: Raimi's first two Spiderman films are fun, tight knit, and well executed. While Webb's ventures with Spidey had it's moments, but have been overstuffed. What Webb really excels at is the romantic scenes between Peter and Gwen, but then he almost tries to make these popcorn film too indie. I would be interested in seeing what Webb has left on the editing room floor from his two flicks maybe the deleted scenes would have worked better to make his films less clunky. Raimi's first two films are just much more well rounded and get the nod.
6. Better Supporting Cast: The Original Trilogy
Why?: This was a very tough choice. The Original Trilogy wins by a nose because of having the most perfect cast character of any of the films in J.K. Simmons as J. Jonah Jameson. Sally Field and Martin Sheen's portrayals of Ben and May are excellent, but just not enough to topple JJ.
7. Best Stan Lee Cameo: Amazing Spiderman (Librarian)
Why?: The Godfather of comics and the creator of Spiderman Stan Lee has made a cameo in all the five films. The most memorable by far is his turn as the obvious librarian. Spidey and the Lizard battle it out as Stan the Man is too busy to notice. Classic.
Bonus Catergories: A. Best Comic Book Moments from each Franchise: Amazing: The Death of Gwen Stacy
The Original Trilogy: Death of Goblin by Glider
Two deaths as the best moments. Tells you a lot about me.
B. Worst Moments from each franchise:
Amazing: The Uncle Ben Responsibility Speech and Death
The attempt to be different failed. Uncle Ben stumbled through a crappy speech and was killed because Peter wanted chocolate milk.
The Original Trilogy: Spiderman 3's Dance
Words cannot explain. WTF was everyone on this movie thinking?
Best Spiderman Film: Spiderman 2 (2003)
Worst Spiderman Film: Spiderman 3 (2007)
Finally Tally: Original: 4 vs. Amazing: 3
The leads of the Amazing Spiderman series are an improvement over the originals. I actually prefer the fighting style in the new films as well. But when push comes to shove the Original trilogy still has a slight edge over the newbie franchise. The original films are fun and well executed. They also sport the best villain of the series so far, Alfred Molina's Doctor Octopus. Now while I picked the Original Trilogy in more categories, I actually like the Amazing Spiderman movies more myself. I believe they are more accurate to the character of Spiderman from the comic books. What really hurts this newer franchise is it's need to be different from the original. The Amazing Spiderman's attempt to have a different origin was a failure. Spiderman nailed the origin of Spidey and the deviation to be different made the beginning of the movie feel like a crappy retread. Now trying to set up future films and characters is what really hurt Amazing Spiderman 2. For all that movie got right, it was just too damn overstuffed.Taking all of that into account, I still think the future of Spiderman franchise is bright. Garfield is excellent. Just a top notch Spiderman. And I am hopeful for these spin-off villain films will be successful and start a new niche in the comic book movie genre. Peter Parker will never give up and never will his movies.
Best Spidey Suit by Far
Thanks for reading! What do you think of the Spidey films? Which is your favorite? Sound off in the comments. And don't forget to follow us on Twitter @Caped_Informers or follow me @cstrand73 to catch up on all things comics.
Marc Webb's The Amazing Spiderman 2 swung into theaters yesterday and all the Informers got together for a screening. Mild- Spoilers Ahead.
What We Liked:
Great Performances from Main Cast (Garfield, Stone, DeHaan, Foxx)
Excellent action sequences particularly the final showdowns
Proper Characterizations of Peter Parker and Spiderman
Garfield and Stone's chemistry as Peter and Gwen
DeHaan's new direction with Harry Osborn/Goblin
Fleshing out of Stone's Gwen
Electro's villain score
Electro was a powerful and worth foe
A fun joke slinging Spidey
Absolutely nailing a huge moment in Spiderman comic's history
A fantastic portrayal of how Spiderman web slings through the city
What We Didn't Like:
The arc of Peter's parents
Foreign accents (Rhino, Dr. Kafka)
Uneven Pacing
Misplaced montage songs
Max Dillion's over the top loneliness and shitty life
Trailers gave away too much of the fighting sequences
Many people initially thought that The Amazing Spiderman 2 was going to suffer from "too many villains" syndrome ala Spiderman 3, but the movie is not overloaded with villains. It is in fact overloaded with story arcs to get through. The film spins a lot of plates. They had to finish the arc with Peter's parents, introduce Harry, create Electro + Goblin, set up the Sinister Six, deal with fallout of Gwen's dad dying and that's just half of it. There is a lot to get through in 2 hrs and 12 mins. This leads the film to pacing and tonal issues, but what it lacks in those departments it makes up for in the film's heart. Spiderman likes being Spiderman. He is not dark and gritty like Batman. He has fun on the job and wishes to inspire the people of New York. The film perfectly captures this. It also brings tremendous action and performances from it's leads. So while this is not the perfect film cinematically, it does has the perfect Spiderman. Andrew Garfield is more Spiderman/Peter Parker than Tobey McGuire ever was. So taking into everything above into account especially the absolute nailing of a classic Spiderman moment, The Informers give The Amazing Spiderman 2 a 7.5 out of 10.
Check out our podcast this week to hear more about our thoughts on the movie. Thanks for reading! What did you think of the movie? Sound off in the comments