Showing posts with label 2016. Show all posts
Showing posts with label 2016. Show all posts

Thursday, May 26, 2016

5 Cool Possibilities For Season 3 Of The Flash

Last night The Flash ended its second season in style. "The Race of His Life" had lots of unexpected twists and turns. All of which led to a very excited cliffhanger. 

The future of The Flash will certainly be different. Here are some of my ideas of what could happen when the show returns in October. (IF YOU HAVE NOT WATCHED THE FLASH FINALE DO NOT CLICK THE JUMP, MASSIVE SPOILERS AHEAD!)



Friday, May 6, 2016

Captain America: Civil War (No Spoilers)

Captain America: Civil War is everything I wanted from Avengers: Age of Ultron while still remaining a Captain America centric film.


My buddy turned to me right after the end credits began and said "Dude, I just had a boner for 2 1/2 hrs" (really hope they put that quote on the back of the Blu Ray). That pretty much sums up how any comic book/Marvel movie fan will feel after they watch Civil War. The movie has so many incredible characters and the best (YES THE BEST) fight in a superhero ever.

The Russo Brothers (Arrested Development) are back at the helm and once again they take a Captain America movie to new heights. They continue the personal story of Cap + Bucky from Cap's last two outings and that relationship carries the movie that is stuffed with other superheroes.

  • First and foremost THE AIRPORT SCENE! You have only seen 2% of it in the trailers. Every single character involved has their moment to shine and kick serious ass. This is this the closest thing to a huge crossover comic event that has ever been on screen. You will see characters match ups you had only dreamed about . I was smiling throughout. Without a doubt, it is the best comic book movie fight ever. 
  • Spiderman is fantastic. Tom Holland nails it. He plays the part of the teenager among  the adult superheroes PERFECTLY. He also has some of my favorite dialogue in the film. Everything I saw from him just made Spiderman:Homecoming my #1 anticipated comic movie of 2017.
Holland really reminded me of this criminally underrated Spiderman cartoon
  • Everyone will tell you Spiderman steals the show. And while I loved him, I feel Antman actually steals the spotlight. Will talk about why in my spoiler review.
  • The movie has several comic references including a few actual plot points from the Civil War storyline. 
  • Every audience member will understand why Cap and Iron Man are on opposite sides.  Their motivations make total sense thus making their confrontations more emotional to the viewer.
  • Black Panther is an absolute beast. Chadwick Boseman introduces the King Of Wakanda in excellent fashion. He brings a regal attitude, but at the same time he has a vicious and unique fighting style. Let's just say you do not want to get stuck in his crosshairs.
YOU FORGOT THE PICKLES!
  • There are a few more action beats besides the epic Airport fight that are great. The opening fight scene though had some shaky cam moments that made it difficult for me to follow. That also could have been because I was forced to see the movie in 3D and had to wear 3D glasses over my glasses. That shit fucks with your vision.
  • The bromances between Falcon + Cap and Cap + Bucky are my favorite. They have each others backs no matter what. I love that kind of loyalty.
  • I started out on Cap's side and ended on Cap's side. Chris Evans embodies what I have always felt a hero should stand for and be. Someone who will protect people no matter what.
  • Scarlet Witch is the most powerful Avenger and she shows that off quite a bit.
  • The villain is fine. His motivations make sense especially with the themes of the movie, but he is kind of just there.
There is so much more to talk about. This movie is stuffed, but the Russo Bros do a great job of making sure everything flows in the storytelling. Captain America: The Winter Soldier probably has a more sophisticated storyline, but Civil War has incredible set pieces and characters out the wahzoo. I'm giving Captain America: Civil War an A

How is Marvel going to top this one? Which superhero bout did you like the most? Did you like Spiderman as much as I did? Sound off in the comments and make sure to follow me @cstrand73 on Twitter and Instagram for all of my superhero insights. You can also check out my reviews for the first two Captain America movies below.

UPDATE: Out of all the questions Civil War leaves about the future of MCU, this was by far the biggest and it needed to be answered.


Tweet Credit to +Superhero Feed 

Wednesday, May 4, 2016

Rewatch Review: Captain America The First Avenger

In anticipation of Captain America: Civil War I decided to go back and rewatch some old Marvel Cinematic Universe movies to see how they hold up. Leading off this parade through the MCU is Joe Johntson's 2011 Captain America: The First Avenger.




Captain America: The First Avenger is the one MCU movie that I didn't get to see in the theater. In fact I didn't watch it until after I saw Joss Whedon's The Avengers in 2012. My college friends and I were so jazzed up about Marvel after watching The Avengers that we started talking about all the solo movies that came before it. What we quickly discovered though was that none of us had seen Captain America: The First Avenger. So without much hesitation I loaded the movie up my TV and we were off. 

Now I'm gonna tell you the truth. The first time I watched this movie I didn't like it. In fact all of my friends and I spent the majority of this film shitting on it. Now in retrospect that is probably because all of us had just seen The Avengers and we looking forward to this film being akin to that. 

In the 4 years that have passed since my first viewing I have seen (and loved) this movie's  sequel Captain America: The Winter Soldier and enjoyed another great Cap outing in Avengers: Age of Ultron. I have also read some Captain America comics and grown more fond of the character every time I've see him. In fact he is my favorite character on Marvel Studios roster now and I'm riding the #TeamCap train right into my Civil War screening tomorrow. So I think the combination of tempered expectations and more fondness of the character lead me to enjoying this movie a lot more in my second viewing. The first time I watched it I would have given it a D. Here is what I thought about it this time.

My Thoughts


  • The movie is very much a character piece. It is fully focused on showing it's audience how Steve Rogers is a great guy and hero at heart. Overall it's a great intro to the character.
  • Most of the action beats are solid though out, but full use of Caps fighting abilities (like kicking fuckers off boats and using his shield to take down a helicopter) are better showcased in The Winter Solider. This movie seems to be really focused on telling us that Cap can run fast and jump high. Now if this was a movie about how a shrimpy dude used a super soldier program to cheat his way into the Olympics then I would be fine with it. The problem is that this is a superhero flick and not The Ringer.
Watch Cap run and jump through the streets
  • A criticism for the MCU as a whole has been that there are no good villains besides Loki. Red Skull continues that trend by being the very one note evil German guy. In his defense though his makeup looks amazing.
  • Thorin Oakensheild, Margery Tyrell, and Damien Darhk are in this? That's cool. Also did anyone notice both of the announcers from the Hunger Games are competing German scientists? Coincidence I think not!
Hyrdra?



  • Most of this movie is great set up. Setting up Cap for the Avengers. Setting up Zola for his return in The Winter Soldier. Setting up Hydra and their utter awesomeness (I do not like Nazis I just like saying Hail Hydra!). Through all this set up is one crucial mistake. That is the mishandling of Bucky's death. He falls off a train and is never talked about again.They Han Soloed him. It was like in The Force Awakens how Leia hugged Rey and not Chewie. There is never a moment of Steve morning or saying anything about his best friend for the rest of the movie. Because Bucky's death was so unmemorable, The Winter Soldier has to drill what happened into the viewers head over and over for it's big twist to work.
  • The movie is poorly paced. So much exposition in the beginning then the end feels like a clip show of action moments. Don't get me wrong I liked a lot of the action and a lot of the exposition, it just felt like they were clustered together at the beginning and at the end.
  • I totally forgot about Cap's budding movie career. The old movie within a movie. 
Final Grade: Overall Captain America: The First Avenger is more enjoyable than I remember. It has great character moments and does a good job introducing the Captain we all know and love.
I'm giving my rewatch of CA:TFA a B-


What do you think of Captain America: The first Avenger? Was there to much running and not enough punching? Sound of in the comments and make sure to follow me @cstrand73 on Twitter for all my takes on superhero stuff.

Cannot wait for tomorrow 

Monday, April 11, 2016

New Suicide Squad Trailer Teases More Action, Humor, And Most Importantly More Batfleck

Batman V Superman: Dawn Of Justice certainly did not get the beloved reception Warner Bros was hoping for. So who is gonna come to save the DCEU's future? Why DC Comics' myriad of amazing villains of course! The newest trailer for David Ayer's bad guy team up flick first appeared online after the airing of MTV's Movie Awards. So far it's receiving a lot of praise online just like it's two previous teasers. Check it out!



My TOP 5 Takeaways

1. MARGOT ROBBIE is a force in every clip I've seen from this movie so far. Her line about "being vexing" was so classic Harley it hurts. Also seeing Harley putting her shirt on was a touch too ;).



2. I love how us the audience has no idea how the Joker is involved in this story. That was a major problem with Batman V Superman. Even before the Doomsday reveal in the second trailer, the audience knew that the big two would fight, makeup, become pals, then take down an enemy, and the credits would roll. Suicide Squad however, much like the Joker, is completely unpredictable. All we know is that Waller forms a team and shit goes down. Also Leto's Joker reminds me more of Mark Hamill's than Heath Ledger's. His scene where he threatens a dude who is "chit-chatting" reminded me of this:


3. El Diablo isn't a super famous or beloved DC comic character. So it was cool to see him get a funny character moment along with Will Smith's Deadshot. I'm excited to see how the team utilizes his flame powers.

4. When the first picture of the Squad came out last year I kind of shat all over Killer Croc's look. Well consider this an apology Mr. Ayer cause your practical Croc has looked great on screen in all 3 trailers so far. I loved that shot of his lizard-like eyelids closing. Also the more and more I see of this Croc the more it reminds me of the old Batman The Animated Series one.

5. Last week everyone on the internet got their panties in a bunch because a report came out that reshoots for Suicide Squad were happening in order to add more humor. Well this trailer should refute those BS rumors. There seems to be plenty of humor in this film already. Squad stories have always had humor come from their interactions between their over the top villains and this trailer shows us a bunch of that.

BONUS: I need more Batfleck in everything. His Batman was the absolute highlight of BVS. So as you can imagine, I can't wait for him to come face to face with villains like Joker, Harley, and Croc. Also Zack Snyder has stated that Batman put most of the Squad members in prison. So these baddies have vendettas against the Bat. Seeing more of him in this trailer, especially when he is equipped with a Bat Breather no less, brings me absolute joy.

Also I love this nod to Greg Capullo's Endgame Joker. What a beautiful image!


Lastly, reshoots are not always a bad thing. All Marvel movies schedule them. This is not a Josh Trank situation where David Ayer has been fired and Zack Snyder is picking up the pieces. What these reshoots are is a chance to add more action and strengthen character arcs. The latter is definitely something BVS needed. 

Whose is pumped for Suicide Squad? What are your favorite moments of the trailers? Does anything worry you? Sound off in the comments and until next time...

Wednesday, November 25, 2015

Captain America: Civil War Trailer is Here!

After months of anticipation it's here. The teams are set. ITS ABOUT TO GO DOWN
!


2016 is gonna be the greatest year for comic movies ever! What did you think of the trailer? Comment below or tweet at me @cstrand73

Thursday, August 6, 2015

Deadpool's Trailer is Here and It's Spectacular!

Check out the Merc With The Mouth work his magic in the first trailer for his feature length movie!


Goddamn beautiful! This movie is using it's R-rating to the fullest. This isn't your average mainstream superhero flick. It's a hard R action comedy with some crazy athletic sex scenes. Can't wait. Deadpool hits theaters in Feb. 2016.

Are you excited for Deadpool? Let us know in the comments or tweet at us @Caped_Informers or me @cstrand73. And make sure to tune in for our weekly Arrow, Flash, and Daredevil reviews.

Monday, July 13, 2015

First Suicide Squad Footage Officially Released

David Ayer (Training Day) just dropped a bombshell on Twitter. The director has released the SDCC teaser trailer that was shown in Hall H on Saturday morning. Only select few were meant to see it, but due to so many low quality pirated versions online, Ayer decided to release the footage in a higher quality. Check the greatness.


Top 5

1. Jared Leto looks and sounds amazing. Dude is already a master creep. Scooper Supreme El Mayimbe has said his sources on the Suicide Squad set have told him that Leto is knocking this performance out of the park. This 5 seconds of him confirms that.

2. The Wall is The Wall. Viola Davis isn't playing it nice. She is gonna force these super criminals to do what she desires. Ever the antagonist.

3. Will Smith looks game for the first time in a long while. If 7 years ago, you told me Will Smith would be in a superhero movie not called Hancock I would have been a 100% in. But since around 2009, when Will stopped doing great movies and instead just started promoting his kids to the masses, I have been hesitant to be excited for any project he is in. Forget that shit. He looks like classic WS in these 3 minutes.

4. Big props to Killer Croc's look. When the first official pic came out I gave his practical design some shit. It looks much better on film than I anticipated.

5. Margot Robbie is the X-Factor. She could become the next Groot or Rocket if the movie does well. So far from what we have seen, I'm digging her portrayal.

Bonus: Jai Courtney didn't suck! Letting Aussie be an Aussie was a good idea.

Thanks for reading! What did you think of the footage? Specifically the Joker. Sound off in the comments or tweet us  @Caped_Informers or me @cstrand73. And make sure to tune in for all our TV + movie reviews. as well as our editorials.

Saturday, July 11, 2015

New Batman V Superman Trailer Is Incredible

STOP WHATEVER BULLSHIT YOU ARE DOING AND WATCH THIS!


Kryptonite, Dead Robin, Congress meetings!!! This trailer had it all. The hype is real!

Now to watch on repeat for the next 7 months. What did you think of the trailer? Sound off in the comments or tweet me @cstrand73. 

Tuesday, July 7, 2015

Elodie Yung Is Electra in Davedevil's Second Season

Hot off the heels of adding Jon Bernthal (Wolf Of Wall Street) as the Punisher, Marvel TV has announced that actress Elodie Yung (GI Joe: Retaliation) will also join the series as Matt Murdoch's ex-girlfriend Electra. The character was briefly mentioned in DD's tenth episode and it sure will be interesting to see how the show introduces both Electra and the Punisher. 

Source: Marvel


This chick ain't fucking around


What do you think of Elodie Yung? Can she be better than Jennifer Garner? Sound off in the comments or tweet at us @Caped_Informers or me @cstrand73. And make sure to tune in for all our TV + movie reviews. as well as our editorials.

P.S. Where the fuck is Bullseye? 

Thursday, June 11, 2015

Chiwetel Ejiofor Will Play Doctor Strange Villain Baron Mordo

Doctor Strange has found it's bad guy in the form of Chiwetel Ejiofor. The 12 Years A Slave actor will be suiting up to play evil sorcerer Baron Mordo. He joins an already impressive cast that includes Tilda Swinton (Snowpiecer) and of course Benedict Cumberbatch (Sherlock) as the titular hero.

Source: Deadline




Ejiofor is a great actor and has played villainous parts before. Check out either Four Brothers or Serenity. He will be a great baddie. 
          I hope we see Baron's past that includes him attempting to kill Dr. Strange's mentor, the Ancient One. And if we do see that maybe Baron can help set up his bestie Dormammuu as the villain of the sequel. That would be badass. Doctor Strange hits theaters in November of 2016.

Thanks for reading! Are you a Chiwetel Ejiofor fan? Are you excited for more magic in the MCU? Let us know in the comments and make sure to check out all our articles and reviews about comic book movies.

Wait Baron Mordo? That means... #SpidermanConfirmed!

Tuesday, June 9, 2015

Jon Bernthal Will Be The Punisher in Daredevil's Second Season

Chocolate + Peanut Butter. Corey + Topanga. Oreos and Milk (Also try it with American Cheese. Sounds gross, tastes awesome). These are all classic pairings that work perfectly together. Well be ready to add another pairing to that list because Marvel has just knocked it out of the park with it's latest casting decision for it's next season of it's Netflix hit Daredevil
          Way back in April, at the end of my review for the second half of Daredevil's first season I made a plea for Frank Castle/The Punisher to appear in next year's series of episodes. Wasn't sure it was actually gonna happen. Low and behold Marvel not only brings in Frank Castle for Matt Murdoch's second rodeo, but they also cast the perfect actor imaginable to play the hardened vigilante, Jon Bernthal. That's right. Shane, the world's most loyal best friend, from The Walking Dead is going to roam the streets of Hell's Kitchen looking for trouble. Now that is damn exciting. Bernthal is a damn fine actor and is sure to own this role.

Source: Marvel


So what will Frank Castle's role in the series be? Perhaps he'll be a comrade for Matt to help further each other on their vigilante crusades? Maybe he'll be a client for Nelson + Murdoch to defend? Or maybe he could be a straight up villain? All of those are certainly possible  but what I think is going to happen is that Frank + Matt are going to have a conflict of ideologies. Throughout Season 1, Matt tried to not cross a line into killing bad people. There is no line for Frank Castle. He won't just beat the shit out of the bunch of dudes in a hallway. He'll beat them then put a slug through their fucking skulls. Frank isn't fucking around and if he is leaving a trail of bodies, Daredevil is sure to try follow the corpses to the source. If these two duke it out, expect a fight for the ages.

P.S. Now cast Bullseye! 

Everyone's reaction to this news
Thanks for reading! Are you excited for Bernthal's Punisher? Will he and Daredevil butt heads? Let us know in the comments or tweet at us @Caped_Informers or me @cstrand73. And make sure to tune in for all our TV + movie reviews. 

Sunday, May 3, 2015

First Picture Of The Suicide Squad and Deadshot in Full Costume!

Director David Ayer (Fury) just dropped the first official photo of the main cast of Suicide Squad. Take a gander at Task Force X...


6 Takeaways:

1. Deadshot, Harley Quinn, Boomer, and Rick Flagg all look great. Margot Robbie seems to poised to break out of this movie as the fan favorite character. Harley Quinn is gonna be everywhere when this flick comes out. She will be 2016's Groot.

2. If that is Killer Croc, it disappoints the shit out of me. I wanted a more mutant Croc (Like Jim Lee's in Hush or Arkham Asylum's) instead of the Brian Azzarello version from Joker from which this one is clearly inspired. My boy Adewale is behind the makeup though so that definitely makes me less upset. His take on the character should be cool to see.


3. Well hello there Katana! Didn't expect you to show up in this. Rumor was Karen Fukuhara was going to play Flash villainess, Plastique. Instead she is picking up the soul taker sword as Katana. Maybe this could help set up an adaptation of Green Arrow's Outsider War, where Katana was head of the sword clan. Maybe she is just gonna be there to kick ass and die. Whatever the reason it's just really cool and unexpected for this character show up.

4. Enchantress looks like a combination of the girl from The Ring and the Black Bride from Insidious. Somebody needs to clean that bitch up.

5. Love the nod to Belle Reve prison. With Arkham also confirmed, it sounds like we will be getting a tour of DC's most popular prisons. Can't wait for them to show up at Iron Heights.

6. The overall look is certainly different than I anticipated, but you know what I dig. They aren't meant to look clean cut and nice. They are supposed to look like people that would stab you then fuck your corpse in an alley. So I'm in.

Thanks for reading! What do you think of this look for the Suicide Squad? Do you love Harley Quinn? Let us know in the comments or tweet at us @Caped_Informers or me @cstrand73. And make sure to tune in for our weekly Arrow, Flash, and Daredevil reviews. Suicide Squad hits theaters August 2016.

P.S. Where the fuck is Killer Croc's hat?


UPDATE: Check out Will Smith's Deadshot in full costume.

Friday, April 24, 2015

First Look at Jared Leto's Joker!

Suicide Squad director David Ayer (Fury) just dropped a bombshell just for Mr. J's special 75th anniversary. Here is our first look at Jared Leto's Joker. 



Holy shit! That sure is different. Reminds me of Frank Miller's All Batman and Robin Joker (Which isn't really a good thing because Frank Miller has really lost his fastball). I dig the tattoos for sure, but I'm gonna have to see him in action before I judge the new look. For now I will say like it, don't love it.

Yellow Teeth > Grillz
This makes me wonder though, what will Harley gonna look like? Because of the way her pudding' looks here I'm guessing more of an Arkham City style rather than her classic BTAS threads. At the end of the day though, who really cares what Harley is wearing. All that matter is that Margot Robbie is playing her.


Thanks for reading! Are you pumped for tattooed Joker? Do you want a grill? Let us know in the comments or tweet at us @Caped_Informers or me @cstrand73. And make sure to tune in for our weekly Arrow, Flash, and Daredevil reviews. Suicide Squad hits theaters August 2016.

P.S. Lil' Jon approves!

Tuesday, April 21, 2015

Daredevil Season 2 Is Coming In 2016!

Netflix/Marvel's Daredevil is getting a second season! The status of DD was unsure because of other impending Marvel shows (AKA Jessica Jones, Iron Fist, and Luke Cage) were supposed to lead all to a team up Defenders miniseries, so initially it seemed that we may have not been able to see old horn head until 2016. Thankfully Marvel has told us today that is not the case.

Marvel's home site stated: With the first season of "Marvel's Daredevil" proving a smash success with both audiences and critics, Netflix and Marvel will continue to create further adventures of the Man Without Fear! 

Source: Marvel


The only down side to the renewal is that Season 1 showrunner Steven DeKnight (Spartacus) will not be returning to guide Season 2. Instead Season 1 writers Doug Petrie (Buffy the Vampire Slayer) and Marco Ramirez (Sons of Anarchy) will be at the helm. DeKnight is off to work on other commitments, but maybe when the time comes Marvel will give him a chance to run The Defenders? The man has his fingers in the right assholes so let's hope he wiggles them and he will be in charge of the TV superhero team-up.


Anyway get ready for some more arm breaking. Get ready for some more legal battles. And mostly important get ready for some more tasteful side boob! Cause the devil of Hell's Kitchen is coming back, y'all!

Thanks for reading! Are you pumped for Season 2? Who should the villain be? Let us know in the comments or tweet at us @Caped_Informers or me @cstrand73. And make sure to tune in for our weekly Arrow, Flash, and Daredevil reviews.

P.S. Please invite this dude for a few episodes.

Thursday, April 16, 2015

20 Seconds Of Batman V Superman Is Here!!

STOP EVERYTHING! Zack Snyder just dropped a teaser to his teaser trailer for Batman V Superman: Dawn Of Justice. Check it out!!


Few times in life the hype is this high. Star Wars VII trailer tomorrow and a Batman V Superman one on Monday. Life is fucking good.

Thanks for reading! Are you excited for the Batman V Superman trailer? Are you going to a Imax screening? Let us know in the comments or tweet at us @Caped_Informers or me @cstrand73. And make sure to tune in for our weekly Arrow, Flash, and Daredevil reviews.

Wednesday, April 8, 2015

Suicide Squad Comes Together! Jim Parrack is Deathstroke?

Suicide Squad is revving up it's production schedule and to celebrate director David Ayer (Fury) just tweeted out this gem. 




This shot is of the first cast script read through. Who wouldn't wanna be the fly on the wall in this room? Or a fly on the wall in any room Margot Robbie is in for that matter.

One thing to note is that Jared Leto aka The Clown Prince of Crime is absent from the picture. Not to worry though JarBear Instagramed a picture of his pale completion from the Toronto set earlier this week so I expect he isn't too far away.

As for the cast that is there, Will Smith popped on a Phillies' hat for this pic and I instantly like him again. Dude has charisma out the ass, but his ego and questionable parenting (Jaden and Willow should be locked in Arkham) have hurt him the last few years. Let's hope this movie gets this guy's career back on track cause I want to like him again. More MIB Will Smith and less After Earth Will Smith.

Suicide Squad begins filming soon and will hit theaters August 2016.

P.S. Adewale Akinnuoye-Agbaje could Eddie Murphy this movie and play every role and I would watch the shit out of it.







UPDATE: Latino Review Scooper El Mayimbe is reporting that Jim Parrack (True Blood) is now playing Deathstroke instead of Joe Manganiello (Magic Mike). Parrack is the guy standing second from the right in the picture above. 

Apparently Joe Manganiello is too busy filming Pee Wee's Netflix series to be Deathstroke. Real clown move, bro. Joe, I thought you were a comic fan? Missing out on being a badass assassin role to hang out with a dude who jacks off in movie theaters is a real swing and a miss.

Hell, even Pee Wee Herman didn't miss his chance to be in a comic book movie. He was Penguin's dad in Batman Returns. He didn't speak a word and attempted to drown his newborn baby, but it still counts.



Anyway Jim Parrack is a fine replacement. I liked the dude as Howt/Bubba on True Blood. So I'm on board with him taking up the mantle of Deathstroke. Joe's lose is Jim's gain.

Source: Latino Review


Tuesday, March 31, 2015

Suicide Squad Adds Steve Trevor and Killer Croc!

Have you ever heard the phrase "There can be too much of a good thing"? Well fuck whoever said that crap because Suicide Squad is giving us so much amazingness it can't possibly be bad for us. David Ayer has officially unmasked himself as Santa Claus because he is spreading joy and presents throughout the DC universe.

It all started last night, when Latino Review revealed that professional gorgeous man Scott Eastwood, son of little known actor Clint Eastwood, would cameo in Suicide Squad as Col. Steve Trevor. Thus setting up a role for him in the Wonder Woman movie. Will he be crash landing on Themscyria? That remains to be seen. But this is a cool thread of world building and Eastwood is a star in the making. Hope and him and Gal Gadot can find some good chemistry because I would much rather have these two as love interests rather than Superman and Wonder Woman. Hey Superman, you are dating Lois Lane (Amy Adams) leave some cool women for the rest of us.

Source: Latino Review


Continuing the trend of awesomeness, The Wrap reported today that Adewale Akinnuoye-Agbaje (OZ) will play Batman bad guy Killer Croc in Suicide Squad as well. This was a heart stopper for me. I'm a massive Adewale fan. He first gained my attention as Adebisi on OZ. Beside his uncanny ability to keep a tiny hat on the top of his head, he was the scariest and most physical character on the show. He always kept you entertained and on the edge of your seat. You never knew what he was gonna do next. So when Adewale showed up in another show I was watching, Lost, as Mr. Eko, I was ecstatic. So much so that when the show eventually killed him off, I stopped watching. (I never found out what happened on the island and I don't give a shit either). So to hear this man will be playing one of my favorite Bat-villains is a dream come true. 


Though the coolest component of adding Killer Croc is that it means that he has fought Batman before in this universe. It means Bats has put more criminals away than just Joker and Harley Quinn. So any number of classic Batman villains could already exist in this universe. Which is such a cool idea that any baddie who pops up against Batman in a future film will have some history battling him.

Croc is special though because for years we were forced to see a "realistic take" on Batman by Chris Nolan, where more fantastical bad guys like Croc were left off the table in favor for villains who were more likely to be real. And while that was great, the possibilities in the DCCU are much more open. Just imagine a Batman vs. Croc fight in the sewer in the beginning of the next solo Bat flick? That would be insane. Hell, maybe Croc will beat down Batman with a can of peaches. Or maybe Croc will just throw a rock at him. There can never be too much of a good thing, right?

Source: The Wrap




Thanks for reading! What do you guys think of Killer Croc and Steve Trevor? Would you like to see Batman fight Croc? What's your favorite Adebisi moment? Let us know in the comments or tweet at us @Caped_Informers or me @cstrand73. And make sure to tune in for our weekly Arrow and Flash reviews. Suicide Squad  begins filming soon and will hit theaters in August, 2016.

Wednesday, March 25, 2015

First Look At Jesse Eisenberg's Lex Luthor!

Exactly one year from today, Batman will meet Superman on the big screen. It will be a momentous occasion. Colors will look a brighter, food will taste a little better, and orgies will break out at the mere mention of Ben Affleck's chin. But until then we will have to just enjoy the first look images that Zack Snyder has been sporadically releasing. For today's viewing pleasure Entertainment Weekly has released the first picture of Jesse Eisenberg's (Zombieland) Lex Luthor.


Source: EW

Look at him in all his bald glory!
The curls are gone and what remains is a bald scowling man. Seriously though I think that was what most people were afraid of, a curly haired Lex Luthor. Personally I was just like everyone else when Jesse Eisenberg was first cast. I was apprehensive about it. But after our second podcast called "When Jesse Met Smaug?", I got onboard. Jesse has shown time and time that he has acting ability. Just because he played Mark Zuckerberg before doesn't mean this performance will be a carbon copy. And from the sounds of the EW interview Jesse seems to be taking this character in a fun new direction. I mean he does look quite menacing in this picture. I'm excited to see what the final product looks like. 

As for the people who wanted Bryan Cranston for Luthor, what would be exciting about seeing another picture of Bryan Cranston bald? It would be the same thing you saw a million times on Breaking Bad. Just because he was bald in one role doesn't mean he needs to play every bald characters for the rest of his life. The man has hair goddamn it, let him show it off in his remaining years. Now while I do think Cranston obviously has the chops to play the titular villain, his age was my main concern. He was just too much older then Ben Affleck and Henry Cavill. Like in Smallville and Mark Waid's Superman: Birthright, I prefer a Lex who is of a similar age as the Big Blue Boy Scout. Eisenberg is the same age as the Beefcake of Steel which makes me happy. But for the people who want Cranston in a DC movie (or any comic movie), I (and about a billion other people) think he should play Jim Gordon in the Batman flicks. He is the perfect age and with a mustache, he is picturesque of Gordon's comic counterpart.

At the end of the day though, I would let a fucking ewok play Lex Luthor if he shaved his head. Glad to see that Jesse grabbed a razor and joined the famous bald community. Jesse Eisenberg, Larry David, George Constanza, Walter White #UniteTheBald!




Thanks for reading! What do you guys think of Jesse Eisenberg's Lex Luthor? Let us know in the comments or tweet at us @Caped_Informers or me @cstrand73. And make sure to tune in for our weekly Arrow and Flash reviews.