Showing posts with label alfred. Show all posts
Showing posts with label alfred. Show all posts

Friday, April 17, 2015

Batman V Superman: Dawn Of Justice Teaser Trailer Officially Released!

Stop whatever you're doing and check out the high quality version of Batman V Superman: Dawn Of Justice's teaser trailer. Most importantly check out Ben Affleck's Batman!



Batwing confirmed! Batmobile looks great! Superman is lifting heavy shit! Pretty much what I expected from the initial teaser. Remember the movie is about 11 months away. They don't wanna blow their load too soon.

Take or leave any other part of the teaser. All I need is this shot. Its fucking glorious.



Thanks for reading! Did you like the Batman V Superman teaser trailer? Are you going to a Imax screening? Let us know in the comments or tweet at us @Caped_Informers or me @cstrand73. And make sure to tune in for our weekly Arrow, Flash, and Daredevil reviews.

Tuesday, April 14, 2015

New Post-Covergence Batman Revealed!

Who is in the new robo-batsuit? Well, we were supposed to find out from DC's free book on Free Comic Book Day, but a page from that been has leaked. Click below to find out the new person behind the cowl. Be warned it is a SPOILER!




Monday, December 29, 2014

Analyzing The Batman Franchise (Pt. 5 of 8): Batman Begins (2005)

Batman Begins (2005)
Directed By: Christopher Nolan

Batman/Bruce Wayne: Christian Bale
Love Interest: Rachel Dawes (Katie Holmes)
Villains: Scarecrow (Cillian Murphy), Ra's Al Ghul (Liam Neeson), Carmine Falcone (Tom Wilkinson)
Score: Hans Zimmer and James Newton Howard


High Points:
  • Christopher Nolan must be thanked for making Batman movies relevant again. When this was released in 2005, it had been 8 years since The Dark Knight had graced the silver screen. Nolan had a vision of returning the character to his darker roots while injecting a sense of realism (which I don't always feel was necessary) to the comic book world. Moviegoers and Bat-fans quickly got the taste of Robin's rubber lips out of their mouths with this new interpretation. So thank you Chris for bringing Bat movies back with a bang.
  • Christian Bale was the first Batman to journey across the globe to study and train in order to begin fighting crime. His portrayal of Bruce Wayne's duality as playboy billionaire by day and Batman by night is also very spot on.
  • Gotham, in particular the Narrows, was exactly what you expected the worst city  in America to look like. It was dank, dingy, and hopeless and all captured beautifully on camera by cinematographer Wally Pfister.
  • Bruce Wayne's climb to the top of the mountain and subsequent training from the League of Shadows (or Assassins) was one of my favorite parts of the trilogy.
  • Liam Neeson was an excellent Ra's Al Ghul. He captured the villain's comic book motives perfectly while also providing his classic Neeson badass factor. His speeches about injustice and the history of the League were riveting.
  • Cillian Murphy thrived in the role of supporting baddie Jonathan Crane, the Scarecrow. 
  • James Gordon and Batman started their long term relationship. (Strictly platonic...)
  • Gary Oldman was actually a character and not just a fat cop like Pat Hingle was.
  • The film did a great job of setting up how corrupt Gotham was. With asswipe cops like Flass and crime lords like Falcone, the city was in real turmoil.
  • I enjoyed Bruce's playboy facade especially when he bought that hotel like a boss.
  • Morgan Freeman's Lucius Fox helps explain where Batman gets all those wonderful toys.
  • Michael Caine is an excellent Alfred. He would never let anyone into the Batcave without permission like that dope Michael Gough. Also his overall relationship with Bruce is much more interesting and caring, while their interactions also serve as a good source for comic relief.
  • The dialogue is top notch and the film has a lot of quotable lines. "Swear to me!!"
  • Batman's interrogation of Flass was classic Bats.
  • Batman's take down of Falcone's gang was intense. He instilled great fear in the hearts of those criminals.
  • Batman does a little detective work when he gains evidence against Falcone.
  • The Demon's Head vs The Bat is a great fight that happens to take place on the train.
  • The in-movie flashbacks to a younger Bruce Wayne were compelling. Showed a intriguing path on how he set out to fight injustice.
  • Great use of plot elements and themes from Bat-comics Year One and The Long Halloween.
  • That Joker card tease!!!!!
Favorite Line: "You must become more than just a man in the mind of your opponent." 
                                                                                         - Ra's Al Ghul

Favorite Scene: So many great scenes to choose, but I have to pick the interrogation of Flass because that reminds me so much of the Batman from comics.



Low Points:
  • Bruce Wayne's parents took him to the opera instead of a Zorro movie. If you take your kid to the opera, you kind of deserve to get shot, right?
  • Katie Holmes was fine in her part. She didn't hinder the movie in anyway. I just hate Rachel Dawes. There have been so many Batman love interests in comics that I just don't understand why Nolan decided on this uptight Assistant DA. I mean overall she is better than the average superhero love interest (looking at you Natalie Portman!), yet I just didn't buy into why Bruce cared about her so much.
  • Rachel Dawes fucked over the Starks and all of Westros by saving Joffery Bartheon from getting killed by the Scarecrow. Why do you hate Sean Bean so much, Rachel?.
  • I have never been a fan of child actors and the parts with little kid Bruce I find to be the weakest parts of the film.
  • I don't like the Tumbler. I understand Nolan wanted a realistic tank-like that Batman could drive, but Anton Furst's Batmobile to the best Bat-car to date on screen.
Worst Line: "The man I loved - the man who vanished - he never came back at all. But maybe he's still out there, somewhere. Maybe some day, when Gotham no longer needs Batman, I'll see him again." - Rachel Dawes

Worst Scene: There isn't many scenes I don't like in this movie. The weakest parts I found were when Bruce was a little kid. Out of those, I'm picking the opera as the worst part of the movie. No one has ever wanted to be at an opera, let only a 10 year old kid. 
*Warning* I could only find a clip that had the Wayne's death attached, so make no mistake I enjoy that part, just not that damn opera.



Verdict: Batman Begins is the best "Batman" movie of all time. Now before you get out your pitchforks and attempt to crucify me read that first sentence again. I said best "Batman" movie of all time. I like you probably believe that The Dark Knight is the best film in Batman's filmography. Personally I feel though that Batman Begins is the closet interpretation to Batman from the comics. He intimidates, he interrogates, hell he even does a little detective work in this joint. Yes, The Dark Knight is a great movie, but I almost consider that to be the Joker's film and not Batman's. This movie on the other hand is all about Batman. It's how he became the character we all know and love. And for this story Ra's Al Ghul was the perfect foil to the Caped Crusader to show what the latter believes true justice really is. Then you mix in a fantastic supporting cast riddled with great performances as iconic Bat-characters and you have a recipe for the beginning of an incredible Bat-triliogy. Overall Batman Begins gets a 9.0 out of 10. The most underrated Bat-flick of all time and a must watch for anyone who loves the crusade of Batman.



Thanks for reading! Is Batman Begins the best "Batman" movie? Sound off in the comments. And make sure to check out the site soon for my analysis of The Dark Knight as our look back into Batman's film history continues. Also be sure to follow us on Twitter @Caped_Informers or follow me @cstrand73 for all your comic book news.


Check out the rest of our look back at Batman's film history by clicking the links below.

Sunday, December 7, 2014

Analyzing The Batman Franchise (Pt. 2 of 8) : Batman Returns (1992)

Batman Returns (1992)
Directed By: Tim Burton

Batman/Bruce Wayne: Michael Keaton
Love Interest: Selina Kyle/Catwoman (Played By: Michelle Pfeiffer)
Villains: The Penguin (Danny Devito), Catwoman (MP), and Max Schreck (Chris Walken)
Score: Danny Elfman

High Points:
  • Michael Keaton's Batman was serviceable, but still killed people.
  • Michelle Pfeiffer's Catwoman was dark, mesmerizing, and seductive. Make note that I said her "Catwoman" and not her Selina Kyle.
  • The opening fight sequence against the Red Triangle Circus Gang was fun. (Even though Batman burned some poor bastard to death).
  • Bo Welch took over the Art Direction from Anton Furst and brought us a beautiful Gotham Square during Christmas time. (There was no reason for this movie to be set during Christmas other than Gotham looks cool in the snow).
  • I will outright say that I fucking love Danny Devito in whatever he is in, so I give him props here for at least trying. (Christopher Walken sure as hell didn't)
  • The Penguin wore his monocle. (For like a second)
  • Bruce calls Alfred out for being a dickhead when he let Vicki Vale in the Batcave in the last movie.
  • I will also say I dug the Penguin for Mayor angle. (It just could have worked better with the comic book version of the character)
  • The Masquerade dance sequence when Selina and Bruce discover each other's alternate identities was an emotional charged scene.
  • Catwoman and Penguin do a good job framing Batman for the murder of the Ice Princess. (Then decide to do nothing with this leverage)
  • The sexual tension between Batman and Catwoman was so thick you could have cut it with a knife.
Favorite Line: "Seems like every woman you try to save ends up dead... or deeply resentful. Maybe you should retire." - Catwoman

Favorite Scene: The Bat, The Cat, and The Penguin finally meet; Batman fights Catwoman

Why?: Batman may all of a sudden forget how to fight, but that's probably becuase he was mesmerized by Michelle Pfieffer.



Low Points:
  • Needless Biblical references: Penguin got thrown into river like Moses, then later on wanted to kill the first born sons of Gotham. He was also 33 years old in the movie like Jesus in the Bible. So if you are religious (I am not, but to each his own) this movie is try to tell you that the Penguin is the true God.
  • Pfeiffer's Selina Kyle was underdeveloped and her transformation was totally unexplained. Were the cats that bit her fingers, magical street cats? I feel like you are more likely to get Hepatitis or herpes from street cats than superpowers.
  • It felt like Batman was barely in his own film.
  • Penguin's terrible plans were easily thwarted. There was no tension whatsoever.
  • The only time any plan worked was when Penguin framed Batman for the murder of the Ice Princess, but less than 5 mins after that occurred it was resolved.
  • What the fuck was leaking from the Penguin's mouth?
  • Penguin gets the Tim Burton treatment. Instead of being a high brow criminal, he is turned in a deformed perverted freak, who wants to murder children.
  • Batman stopped two of Penguin's schemes by jamming frequencies with Alfred. First he pumped in audio to destroy Penguin's mayoral run, then he jammed the signal that was guiding the penguin's with missiles. Batman really could have just stayed at home the whole movie if this was all it took to stop this chubby asshole. (Seriously Danny was a more menacing villain in Lethal Weapon 5).
  • Hijacking the Batmobile had no rhyme or reasoning to it. Was Penguin trying to kill Batman? Or defame him further? Just made no sense.
  • Max Shrek = Cliched greedy businessman played by Chris Walken, who really didn't give a shit.
  • Once again Batman and Gordon's relationship is non-existent.
Worst Line: "My dear penguins, we stand on a great threshold! It's okay to be scared; many of you won't be coming back. Thanks to Batman, the time has come to punish *all* God's children! 1st, 2nd, 3rd *and* 4th-born! Why be biased? Male and female! Hell, the sexes are equal with their erogenous zones blown sky high! Forward march! The liberation of Gotham has begun!" - The Penguin

Worst Scene: Penguin's pump up speech. 

Why?: It was the worst line for a reason. It was just such a ridiculous moment.


Verdict: Tim Burton won a lot of good will with Warners Bros because Batman (1989) was such a finical success. So with that good will came more creative freedom for Burton when he worked on Batman Returns (1992). And with that creative freedom came Tim Burton's version of the Penguin, an ugly, deformed, perverted, plump, aquatic bird boy freak. A total and complete departure from the character's comic book counterpart. As I said yesterday, Tim Burton loves his freaks. So because he didn't have another Joker to toy with, he turned the Penguin into one. Well actually Tim didn't do it alone, the screenwriter Daniel Waters (Heathers) can take some of the credit as well. Besides destroying my boy Ozzie, Water's script contained zero tension because all of the problems presented to Batman were easily resolved. For god sakes Penguin's plot to kill the firstborns, that he was working on the whole film, was stopped in two seconds. All we got to see his Batman's hands grab the train driver. But despite all those problems, I still love this movie for some reason. Could it be nostalgia, or because I had a boyhood crush on Michelle Pfieffer's Catwoman, or maybe it's because I have a massive Danny Devito bias? I don't know what it is, but I watch this movie every year around Christmas. Gotham just looks great in the snow you know? But at the end of the day I got to give this flick a reasonable rating, so Batman Returns gets a 6.5 out of 10. Danny Devito was born to play the Penguin, the real Penguin, not this fucking strange perverted version. 

Now here is a real villain!

Thanks for reading. Stayed tuned for an analysis of Batman Forever tomorrow. And make sure to follow us on Twitter @Caped_Informers or follow me @cstrand73 for all your comic book and Caped Informers news and stories.

Check out the rest of our look back at Batman's film history by clicking the link below.

More great are by Francesco Francavilla

Monday, October 27, 2014

Gotham "Spirt of The Goat" Review

Harvey reflects back on better days, while Oswald takes a bath on an all new Gotham.


Synopsis: A killer targets Gotham elite’s firstborn children, and the case brings back painful memories for Bullock. Elsewhere, Gordon is forced to deal with the consequences of his past decisions.

High Points
  • Interesting to see Harvey's past
  • Jim Gordon can kick some serious ass
  • They got the Penguin's middle name right
  • Fish Mooney didn't show up
You can cut the sexual tension with a knife


Low Points
  • Couldn't come up with a better name for the killer than The Goat
  • Edward Nygma is nauseating
  • Nevermind he is fucking worse than nauseating
  • I would rather eat my own shit than to watch him on screen
  • Cobblepot's mom is a caricature joke
  • Nice Silence of the Lambs ripoff with the penny
  • Selina breaks into Wayne manor for no apparent reason
  • Umm that Penguin and Mama bath scene...
  • The villain was hypnotism

Verdict: This week Jim and Harvey go after a serial killer that has ties to a case Harvey solved years back. Now this ep. kinda reminded me of last year's episode of Arrow entitled "Broken Dolls" (If you haven't seen it, go watch it, it's great). That being said Arrow did this scenario much better than Gotham. Det. Lance on Arrow had a strong emotional connection to the old killings because the victims were all women in their early 20's and his daughter, who was that age, had recently died. Lance thought that if he could stop this killer (The Dollmaker), it was almost like her could save his daughter. Now on Gotham, Harvey had no real emotional trauma from his old case. In fact the writers could have killed off his old partner (appropriately named Dicks after what kind of bag this show sucks) to give Harvey more of a connection to the case. But there was no emotion. Instead it was an easily solved case (Solved by looking at who took days off from work!) with an easily caught baddie who went by a terrible name (Spirit of the Goat, really?). Yes there was a twist that a random therapist and her hypnotism caused these Goat men to go on killing sprees, but that was laughable explanation  As for other story lines, Edward Nygma's portrayal is irritating and unneeded. We get that he will be The Riddler, but stop having him talking in riddles and start having him be a person. Eddy in the comics has always thought he was the smartest person in any room he stepped into. Show him doing something mildly intelligent. Any asshole can google riddles and say them aloud. On one final note, Oswald couldn't even save this episode. He took a bath with his mom. That's about it. overall I give "Spirit of the Goat" a 3.0 out of 10. This show needs to be better than this because if this is the best Gotham has in store then it's gonna be a long season.


Thanks for reading. What did you think of Gotham's sixth episode? Sound off in the comments. Make sure to check out our reviews every week and follow our live action tweeting of every episode @Caped_Informers and @cstrand73See you next week folks!

Believe it when I say i like Jim Carrey's better
Famous Baths: Penguin shared a bath with mother tonight So I thought we should look back at history's most famous bath. It was of course the time President Taft got his fatass stuck in the presidential tub at the White House. Just think about that anytime you are feeling down. Also Penguin's bath reminded me of Blazing Saddles. "Mother that's not froggy"

Monday, October 20, 2014

Gotham "Viper" Review/Thoughts

Free Drugs! Get your free drugs here! Gotham is overtaken by a new "super" drug. Mild SPOILERS!


Synopsis: Gordon and Bullock search for the source of a new street drug that causes euphoria then death. Meanwhile, Oswald Cobblepot works his way deeper into Maroni’s inner circle and Fish Mooney continues her plot against Falcone.

High Points

  • Bullock likes pickles
  • Bruce is the best detective on the show
  • Bullock and Gordon's interplay still fun
  • Edward Nygma didn't make me puke this week
  • Penguin tells Maroni the truth
  • David Zayas is a great Maroni
  • Penguin compromises Gordon again
You haven't earn the right to call me Mama, Jaden!

Low Points

  • No one questions random guy handing drugs to everyone
  • Viper (Later Venom) leads to milk addiction
  • Low grade special effects
  • Cases are very linear
  • Jada Pinket Smith's overacting has worn its welcome
  • Van Gough wannabe and Super Old Man were shit villains
  • No suspense
  • Awful villain motivation
  • Villains only exists to show Wayne Enterprises sucks
  • Another episode more dead villains to never return
  • Falcone is thinking with his dick
Verdict: Arrow is great. The Flash is great. The Walking Dead is usually fun. But unfortunately Gotham is quickly becoming The Agents Of SHIELD (otherwise known as Agents of SHIT) of DC comics shows. This week the new Fox hit decided to bastardize Bane's favorite drug Venom (I NEED MILK!!!). By having it created by two badly motivated villains who's grand plan was thwarted by simple having people run out of a room. The whole situation just had no suspense and was just plain boring. Five straight weeks of uninteresting cases and undeveloped quickly dead villains. Once again the redeeming part of the ep. was the Penguin. His confession to Maroni and how it subsequently affected Jim was the only exciting event to take place. Otherwise this episode was just a set up to show that Wayne Enterprises is run by shitheads. Huge surprise, since we have yet to find one decent person in the city besides Bruce, Alfred, Jim, and maybe Harvey. Well at least this WE plot thread allows lil' Batman to go on a detective case into his parents' company. Could actually be something worth watching. Unlike Fish Mooney's scheme to trick Falcone to fall in love. I thought this was a mob war not Gossip Girl. I understand Mooney is playing both sides of the coin by banging the Russian dude too, but this fake girlfriend plan is overused on TV. Overall I give "Viper" a 5.0 out of 10. Scarecrow looks to be the villain next week perhaps he can get this show out of it's early growing pains.

Thanks for reading. What did you think of Gotham's fifth episode? Sound off in the comments. Make sure to check out our reviews every week and follow our live action tweeting of every episode @Caped_Informers and @cstrand73See you next week folks!


What did you do to Venom?

Gotham Conspiracy Theory: Is Harvey Bullock actually Bubble Bass from SpongeBob Squarepants? I don't see anyone saying he isn't the Sponge's arch nemesis. Expect the crossover soon. You heard it here first!


Monday, September 29, 2014

Gotham "Selina Kyle" Review/Thoughts

This week's Gotham episode titled "Selina Kyle" surprising has very little Selina Kyle to go along with a very "by the numbers" procedural case.


Episode DescriptionDetectives Gordon and Bullock investigate a child trafficking ring preying on Gotham’s street kids, including Selina Kyle (Camren Bicondova). Meanwhile, Penguin (Robin Lord Taylor) resurfaces in the countryside and begins to make his way back to GOTHAM, leaving victims in his wake.

High Points

  • Jim Gordon and Barbara Kean are a solid moral compass
  • Oswald's killing spree is fun
  • Excited to see Mooney's power play against Falcone
  • Professor Pyg?
  • Bullock and Gordon remain an interesting pair

Low Points:

  • Boring "by the numbers" case
  • Absolutely no tension or suspension
  • Lame ass kidnappers
  • Lame shootouts once again
  • Still hate Hardo Alfred
  • David Mazouz's performance was cringe-worthy
  • Unexciting case conclusion
  • Episode titled Selina Kyle has little Selina Kyle
  • Beginning to feel like just another network procedural
Verdict: Gotham's second episode did little to utilize the show's potential. Bullock and Gordon  go on a "by the numbers" no surprises case that gave the audience zero tension and zero connection to any of the kids being kidnapped except Selina. And she only spoke once before being nabbed. Sure McKenzie's Gordon and Logue's Bullock have an interesting working relationship but that main storyline was just a total dud. Thank god for Oswald Cobblepot and dare I say Fish Mooney. Ozzy's killing spree as he makes his way back to the city is a load of fun. While Mooney's future play against Carmine Falcone is the only story line I am actually interested in. So overall I give Gotham's second episode a 5.5 out of 10. Once again this show isn't bad, but it sure as hell isn't good. I hope the impending mob war and perhaps even Prof. Pyg help bolster this frustrating ordinary show.

Thanks for reading. What did you think of Gotham's second episode? Sound off in the comments. Make sure to check out my reviews every week and follow our live action tweeting of every episode @Caped_Informers and @cstrand73See you next week folks!


Gotham Tweet of the Week:  @Caped_Informers "The Dollmaker! How many villains are we gonna see in season 1? Im expecting to see Victor Fries driving an ice cream truck by ep 10 now."


Friday, May 16, 2014

First 'Interstellar' Trailer

Interstellar is Christopher Nolan's (Dark Knight Trilogy) newest sci-fi flick. Rust Cohle, Alfred, and Catwoman must team up for a space mission of dire importance. Count me in!


Chris Nolan also always brings in the man, the myth, the legend Hans Zimmer to score all his films. Guaranteed amazing score. Hans Zimmer is the kind of guy who has been hitting home runs his entire career don't expect him to start hitting bloop singles.

 

Saturday, May 10, 2014

FOX Releases First Poster for Gotham

Alfred's hand placement is aggressive as fuck.


The idea of Fish Mooney angers me. This unneeded show is going to use every goddamn Batman super villain in the first episode, but they refuse to use any actual Gotham mob rulers like Carmine Falcone or Sal Maroni. Jada Pinkett Smith could have been Sofia Gigante, Falcone's daughter who became mob leader after his death, for fuck's sake. Now she is signed up for one season to be a pawn for Penguin to fuck over. Not too compelling. Plus can't wait to see Jack Napier telling shitty jokes on stage at a gangster club. Going to be glorious. This show is shaping up to be the Agents of SHIELD for DC. A super hero show that has no superheroes and just name drops for ratings. 

Saturday, May 3, 2014

Efrem Zimbalist Jr. Passes Away at 95

Efrem Zimbalist Jr. will best be known by comic fans as the voice Alfred from Batman TAS. He passed away yesterday at the age of 95. Zimbalist Jr. played Bruce's loyal with butler with grace and wit. Honor him this weekend by watching any of his vocal performances from Batman. Thank you for the memories, Efrem.


Tuesday, March 25, 2014

THE INFORMERS: MOVIES OF FUTURE SUMMER!

On this edition of the Caped Informers, Christian, Dan, Ryan and Karl catch up on all the latest comic TV show and movie news that came into the spotlight in the past week. Topics include images from Fox's Gotham TV series, X-men: Days of Future Past's new trailer, Arrow's Suicide Squad episode, The Avengers filming scenes in Italy, and The Amazing Spider-Man 2 final trailer. Enjoy!

Follow us on twitter: @Caped_Informers




Monday, March 24, 2014

FOX Releases First Official Image of Sean Pertwee as Alfred Pennyworth

I've been saying it every week for the past two weeks and I will continue to say it, got to keep an eye out for GOTHAM releasing new images and new material. Today Fox has graced us with the presence of every one's favorite butler/side kick/voice of reason Alfred Pennyworth (Sean Pertwee). Now this is the youngest Alfred that we have seen on screen to date. He looks younger then Michael Caine in the Dark Knight Trilogy, and he looks younger than the 90s Alfred, horror king Michael Hough. A couple things come to mind after seeing this image. Will there be more young Bruce Wayne air time then we anticipated? How will Alfred's character be portrayed in a show mostly based around Gotham's villains and vigilantes? All I can say is I'm excited and I can not wait for the pilot episode. As I say every week, keep your eyes open for more material and images. Heres the image let us know what you guys think!


Source: fox.com/GOTHAM