Showing posts with label killer croc. Show all posts
Showing posts with label killer croc. Show all posts

Monday, April 11, 2016

New Suicide Squad Trailer Teases More Action, Humor, And Most Importantly More Batfleck

Batman V Superman: Dawn Of Justice certainly did not get the beloved reception Warner Bros was hoping for. So who is gonna come to save the DCEU's future? Why DC Comics' myriad of amazing villains of course! The newest trailer for David Ayer's bad guy team up flick first appeared online after the airing of MTV's Movie Awards. So far it's receiving a lot of praise online just like it's two previous teasers. Check it out!



My TOP 5 Takeaways

1. MARGOT ROBBIE is a force in every clip I've seen from this movie so far. Her line about "being vexing" was so classic Harley it hurts. Also seeing Harley putting her shirt on was a touch too ;).



2. I love how us the audience has no idea how the Joker is involved in this story. That was a major problem with Batman V Superman. Even before the Doomsday reveal in the second trailer, the audience knew that the big two would fight, makeup, become pals, then take down an enemy, and the credits would roll. Suicide Squad however, much like the Joker, is completely unpredictable. All we know is that Waller forms a team and shit goes down. Also Leto's Joker reminds me more of Mark Hamill's than Heath Ledger's. His scene where he threatens a dude who is "chit-chatting" reminded me of this:


3. El Diablo isn't a super famous or beloved DC comic character. So it was cool to see him get a funny character moment along with Will Smith's Deadshot. I'm excited to see how the team utilizes his flame powers.

4. When the first picture of the Squad came out last year I kind of shat all over Killer Croc's look. Well consider this an apology Mr. Ayer cause your practical Croc has looked great on screen in all 3 trailers so far. I loved that shot of his lizard-like eyelids closing. Also the more and more I see of this Croc the more it reminds me of the old Batman The Animated Series one.

5. Last week everyone on the internet got their panties in a bunch because a report came out that reshoots for Suicide Squad were happening in order to add more humor. Well this trailer should refute those BS rumors. There seems to be plenty of humor in this film already. Squad stories have always had humor come from their interactions between their over the top villains and this trailer shows us a bunch of that.

BONUS: I need more Batfleck in everything. His Batman was the absolute highlight of BVS. So as you can imagine, I can't wait for him to come face to face with villains like Joker, Harley, and Croc. Also Zack Snyder has stated that Batman put most of the Squad members in prison. So these baddies have vendettas against the Bat. Seeing more of him in this trailer, especially when he is equipped with a Bat Breather no less, brings me absolute joy.

Also I love this nod to Greg Capullo's Endgame Joker. What a beautiful image!


Lastly, reshoots are not always a bad thing. All Marvel movies schedule them. This is not a Josh Trank situation where David Ayer has been fired and Zack Snyder is picking up the pieces. What these reshoots are is a chance to add more action and strengthen character arcs. The latter is definitely something BVS needed. 

Whose is pumped for Suicide Squad? What are your favorite moments of the trailers? Does anything worry you? Sound off in the comments and until next time...

Sunday, May 3, 2015

First Picture Of The Suicide Squad and Deadshot in Full Costume!

Director David Ayer (Fury) just dropped the first official photo of the main cast of Suicide Squad. Take a gander at Task Force X...


6 Takeaways:

1. Deadshot, Harley Quinn, Boomer, and Rick Flagg all look great. Margot Robbie seems to poised to break out of this movie as the fan favorite character. Harley Quinn is gonna be everywhere when this flick comes out. She will be 2016's Groot.

2. If that is Killer Croc, it disappoints the shit out of me. I wanted a more mutant Croc (Like Jim Lee's in Hush or Arkham Asylum's) instead of the Brian Azzarello version from Joker from which this one is clearly inspired. My boy Adewale is behind the makeup though so that definitely makes me less upset. His take on the character should be cool to see.


3. Well hello there Katana! Didn't expect you to show up in this. Rumor was Karen Fukuhara was going to play Flash villainess, Plastique. Instead she is picking up the soul taker sword as Katana. Maybe this could help set up an adaptation of Green Arrow's Outsider War, where Katana was head of the sword clan. Maybe she is just gonna be there to kick ass and die. Whatever the reason it's just really cool and unexpected for this character show up.

4. Enchantress looks like a combination of the girl from The Ring and the Black Bride from Insidious. Somebody needs to clean that bitch up.

5. Love the nod to Belle Reve prison. With Arkham also confirmed, it sounds like we will be getting a tour of DC's most popular prisons. Can't wait for them to show up at Iron Heights.

6. The overall look is certainly different than I anticipated, but you know what I dig. They aren't meant to look clean cut and nice. They are supposed to look like people that would stab you then fuck your corpse in an alley. So I'm in.

Thanks for reading! What do you think of this look for the Suicide Squad? Do you love Harley Quinn? Let us know in the comments or tweet at us @Caped_Informers or me @cstrand73. And make sure to tune in for our weekly Arrow, Flash, and Daredevil reviews. Suicide Squad hits theaters August 2016.

P.S. Where the fuck is Killer Croc's hat?


UPDATE: Check out Will Smith's Deadshot in full costume.

Tuesday, April 14, 2015

New Post-Covergence Batman Revealed!

Who is in the new robo-batsuit? Well, we were supposed to find out from DC's free book on Free Comic Book Day, but a page from that been has leaked. Click below to find out the new person behind the cowl. Be warned it is a SPOILER!




Wednesday, April 8, 2015

Suicide Squad Comes Together! Jim Parrack is Deathstroke?

Suicide Squad is revving up it's production schedule and to celebrate director David Ayer (Fury) just tweeted out this gem. 




This shot is of the first cast script read through. Who wouldn't wanna be the fly on the wall in this room? Or a fly on the wall in any room Margot Robbie is in for that matter.

One thing to note is that Jared Leto aka The Clown Prince of Crime is absent from the picture. Not to worry though JarBear Instagramed a picture of his pale completion from the Toronto set earlier this week so I expect he isn't too far away.

As for the cast that is there, Will Smith popped on a Phillies' hat for this pic and I instantly like him again. Dude has charisma out the ass, but his ego and questionable parenting (Jaden and Willow should be locked in Arkham) have hurt him the last few years. Let's hope this movie gets this guy's career back on track cause I want to like him again. More MIB Will Smith and less After Earth Will Smith.

Suicide Squad begins filming soon and will hit theaters August 2016.

P.S. Adewale Akinnuoye-Agbaje could Eddie Murphy this movie and play every role and I would watch the shit out of it.







UPDATE: Latino Review Scooper El Mayimbe is reporting that Jim Parrack (True Blood) is now playing Deathstroke instead of Joe Manganiello (Magic Mike). Parrack is the guy standing second from the right in the picture above. 

Apparently Joe Manganiello is too busy filming Pee Wee's Netflix series to be Deathstroke. Real clown move, bro. Joe, I thought you were a comic fan? Missing out on being a badass assassin role to hang out with a dude who jacks off in movie theaters is a real swing and a miss.

Hell, even Pee Wee Herman didn't miss his chance to be in a comic book movie. He was Penguin's dad in Batman Returns. He didn't speak a word and attempted to drown his newborn baby, but it still counts.



Anyway Jim Parrack is a fine replacement. I liked the dude as Howt/Bubba on True Blood. So I'm on board with him taking up the mantle of Deathstroke. Joe's lose is Jim's gain.

Source: Latino Review


Tuesday, March 31, 2015

Suicide Squad Adds Steve Trevor and Killer Croc!

Have you ever heard the phrase "There can be too much of a good thing"? Well fuck whoever said that crap because Suicide Squad is giving us so much amazingness it can't possibly be bad for us. David Ayer has officially unmasked himself as Santa Claus because he is spreading joy and presents throughout the DC universe.

It all started last night, when Latino Review revealed that professional gorgeous man Scott Eastwood, son of little known actor Clint Eastwood, would cameo in Suicide Squad as Col. Steve Trevor. Thus setting up a role for him in the Wonder Woman movie. Will he be crash landing on Themscyria? That remains to be seen. But this is a cool thread of world building and Eastwood is a star in the making. Hope and him and Gal Gadot can find some good chemistry because I would much rather have these two as love interests rather than Superman and Wonder Woman. Hey Superman, you are dating Lois Lane (Amy Adams) leave some cool women for the rest of us.

Source: Latino Review


Continuing the trend of awesomeness, The Wrap reported today that Adewale Akinnuoye-Agbaje (OZ) will play Batman bad guy Killer Croc in Suicide Squad as well. This was a heart stopper for me. I'm a massive Adewale fan. He first gained my attention as Adebisi on OZ. Beside his uncanny ability to keep a tiny hat on the top of his head, he was the scariest and most physical character on the show. He always kept you entertained and on the edge of your seat. You never knew what he was gonna do next. So when Adewale showed up in another show I was watching, Lost, as Mr. Eko, I was ecstatic. So much so that when the show eventually killed him off, I stopped watching. (I never found out what happened on the island and I don't give a shit either). So to hear this man will be playing one of my favorite Bat-villains is a dream come true. 


Though the coolest component of adding Killer Croc is that it means that he has fought Batman before in this universe. It means Bats has put more criminals away than just Joker and Harley Quinn. So any number of classic Batman villains could already exist in this universe. Which is such a cool idea that any baddie who pops up against Batman in a future film will have some history battling him.

Croc is special though because for years we were forced to see a "realistic take" on Batman by Chris Nolan, where more fantastical bad guys like Croc were left off the table in favor for villains who were more likely to be real. And while that was great, the possibilities in the DCCU are much more open. Just imagine a Batman vs. Croc fight in the sewer in the beginning of the next solo Bat flick? That would be insane. Hell, maybe Croc will beat down Batman with a can of peaches. Or maybe Croc will just throw a rock at him. There can never be too much of a good thing, right?

Source: The Wrap




Thanks for reading! What do you guys think of Killer Croc and Steve Trevor? Would you like to see Batman fight Croc? What's your favorite Adebisi moment? Let us know in the comments or tweet at us @Caped_Informers or me @cstrand73. And make sure to tune in for our weekly Arrow and Flash reviews. Suicide Squad  begins filming soon and will hit theaters in August, 2016.

Wednesday, July 2, 2014

Carol Kane Cast As Penguin's Mom on 'Gotham'

Carol Kane (Taxi) has joined the cast of Fox's Gotham as Oswald Cobblepot's Mom, Gertrud Kapelput. TVLine broke the news earlier today and was also able to grab a brief character overview, Gertrud will be a "proud and faded beauty with delusions of grandeur." Kane will be working closely with Robin Lord Taylor to bring the Cobblepots to life.

Listen, I have given this show a lot of shit. Most of it is unjustified since it has yet to air an episode. The pilot will air at SDCC in a few weeks and we as fans will hear the first reactions soon. I really am hoping this shows turns out well. I am a Batman fan through and through. What irks me though is from what I have heard about this show, it is very much like the usual cop bullshit on TV today. I just don't want to watch them destroy an iconic Batman villain every week with some crappy cop drama. Every week a fucking goose chase to find out pre-supervillain assholes like Waylon Jones (Killer Croc) were stealing Snickers bars from 7-11's to feed their drunk parents or some shit.

Source: TV Line


Does that mean Pee Wee Herman is no longer his Dad?