Showing posts with label peyton reed. Show all posts
Showing posts with label peyton reed. Show all posts

Thursday, July 16, 2015

Ant-Man Review

Paul Rudd bursts onto the Marvel scene in Ant-Man. Check out my review of the pint sized hero's first solo outing. (Mild To No Spoilers!)



Description: Several months after the events of Avengers: Age of Ultron, ex-thief Scott Lang must aid his mentor and former hero Dr. Hank Pym in safeguarding the mystery of the Ant-Man technology—which allows its user to decrease in size but increase in strength—from various new threats, and plot a heist that will save the Earth.

High Points:
  • Paul Rudd was classic charming Paul Rudd. You buy that his Scott Lang is a criminal who wishes to reform. He also provides his A+ comedic timing.
  • Speaking of comedy, this movie is funny. And the funniest person isn't even Paul Rudd, it's Michael Pena as Luis. Almost every word out of his mouth made me laugh.
  • Michael Douglas was a great Hank Pym. He and Rudd had solid chemistry. Their mentor/men-tee relationship was the core of the film.
  • Loved Hank Pym's backstory.
  • The Ant-Man shrinking sequences were pretty cool. The stunt team and special effects  were able to make Ant-Man fight in a much different way than most superheroes. He used his size and speed to his advantage.
  • Scott actually controlled a shit ton of ants. 
  • There is a sequence with an Avenger that was an unexpected surprise.
  • Loved the heist film vibe. What Marvel has excelled at is making their movies feel like different types of films rather than just a generic superhero film. 
  • Yellowjacket had a kickass suit. It looked damn cool.
  • Judy Greer is America's Mom.
  • The final fight sequence encompasses everything that made this movie a blast. 
  • Cut Scenes set up two future Marvel movies!
  • T.I. was in it and that makes me happy.

Ant-Man's Theme Song

Low Points:
  • While Ant-Man's powers + action sequences felt new and exciting, other elements of the film felt rather predictable and generic. Particularly a romantic plot and the film's entire opening.
  • Corey Stoll is a great actor. I fucking loved him as Peter Russo in House of Cards. He is wasted here. He is generic Bad guy #1. The actions he takes to make the audience hate him are ridiculous/hilarious. Marvel continues to show that they don't give a shit about villains.
  • Non-chalant Hydra reference.
  • Ants are gross.

Verdict: Ant-Man is a fun film. Another product of the proven Marvel formula. The movie has a generic bad guy, but that has worked for these films that fit into the MCU. Despite that major flaw, Paul Rudd's charm and the great use of Ant-Man's powers put this flick a step above many of Marvel's other solo efforts. Overall I'm giving Ant-Man a 7.5 out of 10. A cool new superhero romp that doesn't disappoint, but fails to get from good to great.

Thanks for reading! What did you think of Ant-Man? What part will he have to play in Civil WarLet us know in the comments or tweet at us @Caped_Informers or me @cstrand73. And be sure to check out all our other TV + movie reviews.


P.S. Someone start a Kickstarter for the Michael Pena (Luis) spinoff!


P.P.S. I'm still fucking bitter that I didn't direct this.

Tuesday, January 6, 2015

Ant-Man Trailer Has Finally Been Released!

Paul Rudd stars in a movie that I didn't direct alongside Michael Douglas as a character I didn't cast in Marvel Studios' Ant-Man. Last year everyone claimed that Marvel was taking a major risk with Guardians of the Galaxy (look at how that worked out!), so the risk with Ant-Man looks like slightly less at this point. Disagreements with the studio caused Edgar Wright (Hot Fuzz) to leave that director chair and rumors that there is something wrong with this movie to spread. Now people love Paul Rudd (myself included) so I don't think this movie will totally bomb. I'm just saying from this trailer, Ant-Man looks a lot like another Thor: The Dark World and not a GOTG. That's not a good thing if Marvel wants to launch another character to join their Avenger's roster. 
          In the end though there is no stopping Marvel these days. They are on a roll after an amazing 2014. So with the Marvel logo in the front the credits, Ant-Man should be just fine. Plus I fucking love Corey Stoll (House of Cards). He will be a great adversary for Paul Rudd.  Ant-Man comes out July 2015.


Thursday, June 19, 2014

Updates On the 'Ant-Man' and 'Doctor Strange' Movies

Since Marvel Studios' Ant-Man nabbed Peyton Reed (The Break-Up) to direct, not much else in terms  of news has come about the film. We still didn't know who the villain of the movie was. That was until yesterday when JoBlo.com reported that Paul Rudd's Scott Lang will most likely be battling villain Darren Cross. The Cross character in the comics has rare heart condition and is the owner of Cross Technological Enterprises, a competitor of Stark Industries and Oscorp in the Marvel Universe. Then today The Wrap's Jeff Sneider tweeted that actor Corey Stoll (House of Cards) will be playing the main baddie which will be Cross and Patrick Wilson (Watchmen) will play Cross's cousin William Cross aka Crossfire. Sneider also clarified that he does not know if Wilson's character will become Crossfire in this film or become him in future installments.

Glad to finally know what villain will be taking on Ant-Man. Let's hope Darren Cross can stack with other evil businessmen like Norman Osborn and Lex Luthor. The evil businessmen game is not for the for the faint of heart. Ant-Man is expected to start shooting soon and is to be in theaters July 2015.

Source: Joblo.com
             @TheInSneider



Over in Doctor Strange's camp, Deadline reports that the production is bringing in Prometheus writer Jon Spaihts to rewrite the script. The original draft was penned by Thomas Dean Donnely and Joshua Oppenheimer. Scott Derrickson (Sinister) awaits the new script and will soon cast the role of the Sorcerer Supreme. Deadline then again reaffirmed that Marvel's shortlist for Strange is Benedict Cumberbatch (Sherlock), Tom Hardy (Warrior), and Jared Leto (American Psycho). Expect to hear casting soon.

Source: Deadline

Saturday, June 7, 2014

I'm Not Directing 'Ant-Man'

Marvel Studios has officially announced Peyton Reed (The Break-Up) will direct Ant-Man. After a long search that included pretty much any director who has made a comedy film in the last ten years the studio went with the genius mind behind Yes Man. Well, all I can say is that I got fucked. Sure Reed has directed two movies that have grossed over 200 million dollars, but at the end of the day everyone knows those movies sucked. So now Marvel will have to pay this guy actually money to direct this steaming pile of crap. See I would have still have made a shit film, but at least I would have been cheap. Guess I should thank him for taking this gig off my resume. Maybe I'll have better luck if Scott Derrickson leaves Dr. Strange for creative differences. Ant-Man is still expected summer 2015.

You better watch your ass Reed. You take my job again, I won't be so kind.