Showing posts with label DC comics. Show all posts
Showing posts with label DC comics. Show all posts

Friday, March 17, 2017

Don't Want A Matthew Vaughn Superman Movie, I Need It

Rumor has it that Warner Bros is interested for Matthew Vaughn (Kingsmen, X-Men: First Class) to direct their upcoming Man Of Steel sequel. 

My Reaction:



Make this happen! It just needs to. Matthew Vaughn brings incredible action sequences, heart, and a great sense of humor. All which a Superman movie should have in spades. 



Just imagine this with less guns, more Brainiac bots, and a 100% more Henry Cavill (Man Of Steel). Now that's a home run.

Follow me @cstrand73 on Twitter for more breathtaking insights.

Friday, November 4, 2016

New Wonder Woman Trailer!

Wonder Woman!!! All the worlds waiting for you! 

Beautiful colors, amazing visuals, kickass looking fights, and some Chris Pine charm make this trailer a total winner. Check it out



Wonder Woman comes out June 2nd 2017. Directed by Patty Jenkins (Monster) starring Gal Gadot (Fast Five) and Chris Pine (Star Trek Beyond).

Monday, August 29, 2016

Deathstroke in Justice League and Batman Solo Movie?

The Batman himself, Ben Affleck (Justice League), dropped a cool piece of footage from what appears to be the Justice League (2017) set on all of his social media platforms earlier today. The footage appears to be confirmation that DC villain Deathstroke will be in DC's superhero team up. Check it out:


So this must mean that Deathstroke is in Justice League, right? Well maybe or maybe not because according to The Wrap's scoop master supreme, El Mayimbe, Deathstroke will feature as the main antagonist in Ben Affleck's Batman solo movie. Many had assumed that Jared Leto's Joker would face off with the Dark Knight in his new solo flick, but that appears to not be the case. Deathstroke could definitely cameo in Justice League and then star in The Batman. Or some are suggesting this could just be a costume test just for the Bat's solo film and Slade will not appear in JL.

Personally I hope to see the Terminator in both. Just imagine the fights Batman and Slade will have. Those will definitely rival the warehouse scene from Batman V Superman (2016). Or maybe Zack Snyder wants to recreate the moment from Brad Metzler's Identity Crisis when Deathstroke takes down the whole Justice League by himself. That would be sick. 



Are you excited to see Deathstroke in the DCEU? Who should play him? Which movie do you want to see him in the most? Sound off in the comments or hit me up on twitter @cstrand73.

Monday, April 11, 2016

New Suicide Squad Trailer Teases More Action, Humor, And Most Importantly More Batfleck

Batman V Superman: Dawn Of Justice certainly did not get the beloved reception Warner Bros was hoping for. So who is gonna come to save the DCEU's future? Why DC Comics' myriad of amazing villains of course! The newest trailer for David Ayer's bad guy team up flick first appeared online after the airing of MTV's Movie Awards. So far it's receiving a lot of praise online just like it's two previous teasers. Check it out!



My TOP 5 Takeaways

1. MARGOT ROBBIE is a force in every clip I've seen from this movie so far. Her line about "being vexing" was so classic Harley it hurts. Also seeing Harley putting her shirt on was a touch too ;).



2. I love how us the audience has no idea how the Joker is involved in this story. That was a major problem with Batman V Superman. Even before the Doomsday reveal in the second trailer, the audience knew that the big two would fight, makeup, become pals, then take down an enemy, and the credits would roll. Suicide Squad however, much like the Joker, is completely unpredictable. All we know is that Waller forms a team and shit goes down. Also Leto's Joker reminds me more of Mark Hamill's than Heath Ledger's. His scene where he threatens a dude who is "chit-chatting" reminded me of this:


3. El Diablo isn't a super famous or beloved DC comic character. So it was cool to see him get a funny character moment along with Will Smith's Deadshot. I'm excited to see how the team utilizes his flame powers.

4. When the first picture of the Squad came out last year I kind of shat all over Killer Croc's look. Well consider this an apology Mr. Ayer cause your practical Croc has looked great on screen in all 3 trailers so far. I loved that shot of his lizard-like eyelids closing. Also the more and more I see of this Croc the more it reminds me of the old Batman The Animated Series one.

5. Last week everyone on the internet got their panties in a bunch because a report came out that reshoots for Suicide Squad were happening in order to add more humor. Well this trailer should refute those BS rumors. There seems to be plenty of humor in this film already. Squad stories have always had humor come from their interactions between their over the top villains and this trailer shows us a bunch of that.

BONUS: I need more Batfleck in everything. His Batman was the absolute highlight of BVS. So as you can imagine, I can't wait for him to come face to face with villains like Joker, Harley, and Croc. Also Zack Snyder has stated that Batman put most of the Squad members in prison. So these baddies have vendettas against the Bat. Seeing more of him in this trailer, especially when he is equipped with a Bat Breather no less, brings me absolute joy.

Also I love this nod to Greg Capullo's Endgame Joker. What a beautiful image!


Lastly, reshoots are not always a bad thing. All Marvel movies schedule them. This is not a Josh Trank situation where David Ayer has been fired and Zack Snyder is picking up the pieces. What these reshoots are is a chance to add more action and strengthen character arcs. The latter is definitely something BVS needed. 

Whose is pumped for Suicide Squad? What are your favorite moments of the trailers? Does anything worry you? Sound off in the comments and until next time...

Tuesday, July 28, 2015

Chris Pine Will Play Steve Trevor In Wonder Woman

Guess those Green Lantern rumors were a load of bullshit cause Chris Pine (Star Trek) has officially joined the cast of Patty Jenkins' Wonder Woman as Steve Trevor. The Wrap has reported that Pine will star opposite Gal Gadot's Wonder Woman as her main love interest/compatriot. They also go on to give a quick description of what to expect of Pine's character "Steve Trevor will be no mere love interest for Gadot’s Diana Prince, as there will be plenty of action to keep him busy." Wonder Woman will hit theaters in 2017.

Source: The Wrap



Pine is a fine addition to the Wonder Woman mythos. He can serve as a romantic interest to Diana, but at the same time can add ties to the government and even Amanda Waller. 

What do you think of Chris Pine as Steve Trevor? Did you want him as Hal Jordan instead? Let us know in the comments or tweet at us @Caped_Informers or me @cstrand73. And make sure to tune in for our weekly Arrow, Flash, and Daredevil reviews.

Saturday, July 11, 2015

New Batman V Superman Trailer Is Incredible

STOP WHATEVER BULLSHIT YOU ARE DOING AND WATCH THIS!


Kryptonite, Dead Robin, Congress meetings!!! This trailer had it all. The hype is real!

Now to watch on repeat for the next 7 months. What did you think of the trailer? Sound off in the comments or tweet me @cstrand73. 

Thursday, July 9, 2015

Ben Affleck To Direct The Batman; Geoff Johns to Co-Write Script

Forget Batman and Superman, the real greatest team up of all time is taking place behind the camera. Warner Bros has announced that Academy Award winning talent and current Batman, Ben Affleck (The Town), will be directing as well as starring in the next Batman solo film! So who did WB decide to team with their one man wrecking crew to write this bad boy? None other than their top DC comics writer, Geoff Johns (The Flash)! Holy shit, right? That is one hell of a tag team. Affleck is a life long fan of the character and Johns has written the Bat on multiple occasions. So expect the most comic accurate and badass Batman to date on the silver screen.

The movie is expected to shoot after Affleck wraps up production on Dennis Lehane's Live By The Night. So a tentative mid 2017 release date sounds likely!

Source: ComicBookMovie


What direction do you want Affleck+Johns to take Batman? Who should the villain(s) be? Sound off in the comments or tweet at us @Caped_Informers or me @cstrand73. And make sure to tune in for all our TV + movie reviews. as well as our editorials.

P.S. Please be these guys.

Monday, June 8, 2015

Watch Justice League: Gods and Monsters!

There are a lot of religions in the world. Some people worship Jesus. Some worship Muhammad. Others prefer Buddah, but I (like many others) follow the one true god, Bruce Timm! The man, the myth, the animation legend! Bruce has returned to WB animation with some more incredible DC Animated Universe  goodies. This time though he has tinkered with DC's classic Trinity (Superman, Batman, and Wonder Woman) to bring us a newer and darker take on our favorite heroes. Superman is Zod's son, not Jor-El's. Dr. Kirk Langstrom is under Batman's cowl. And Wonder Woman is from now New Genisis not Themyscrira. It's an "What If" story for the ages. So check out 4 mini prequel episodes from Machinima. Then be sure to buy Justice League: Gods and Monsters when it comes out in July.


Screw Jim Gordon "Robo" Batman. I wanna see Kirk Langstrom Batman fuck bad guys up. Murdering villains by sucking their blood is pretty damn effective. Make it happen Scott Snyder!

Wednesday, May 13, 2015

Arrow "My Name Is Oliver Queen" Review

Barry Allen makes an appearance as Ollie finds love in a hopeless place on an all new Arrow.


High Points
  • Who can save the day when Ollie is too busy? Barry Allen of course! His brief cameo was great. 
  • Malcolm Merlyn takes charge. Interesting that both Barry and Ollie have teamed up with some of their greatest enemies during this week.
  • Ra's hidden agenda makes sense. Kill two birds with one stone.
  • Team Arrow is fucking beastly with the additions of Nyssa + Merlyn.
  • I'm a big fan of the Lance family alcoholism. They should have a family reunion with an contract for a reality show.
  • Speedy is suited up! But there is no middrift...
  • Ra's once again beats down the Arrow. Then... Ollie beats him just cause.
  • Felicity suits up as the ATOM.
  • Malcolm Merlyn is the new Ra's Al Ghul!!!
  • Ray wants shrinkage!
  • Oliver and Felicity drive off into the sun!

Watch out Stan Lee, there is a new King of the cameo.
Low Points
  • Oliver's reveal to Ra's Al Ghul would have been more intense if the writers had kept his allegiance to his original team a secret from the audience until that moment as well.
  • The opening fight was weak. Though I love seeing Ra's in action.
  • The flashbacks slow down the show to a crawl. Get Ollie back on the goddamn island and be done with it. I don't need to see Ollie torture Shireve. Rather just fucking gut him and be over with it.
  • Damien Dark isn't dead which means that he and HIVE are gonna be the villains of season 4. Fuck...
  • Oliver's love for Felicity is the key to beating Ra's. I'm at a loss for words.
  • Felicity suits up as the ATOM! I'm not sure if it was good or bad.
  • Oliver gives up being the Arrow for love. He is coming down with a case of Rachel Dawes syndrome.
What should be done to the person who wrote this episode

Verdict: Urban Dictionary defines the term "shit" as "another word for feces, poop, dookie, scheisse, poo poo, and brownies." Well I would like to add another phrase to that list, Arrow's Season 3 Finale. All season I have stood by my favorite show. I have waited for it to get back to those season 2 highs, but now all those battles with Deathstroke feel like a distant memory. I have ranted on Olicity many times before. If you are part of the group of people that think their love affair makes Arrow a better show, I don't want to be friends with you. 
          In all seriousness I don't even want to talk about them being together anymore. I accept it's gonna take over 50% of the show, but when the writers commit the crime they committed tonight something needs to be said. Oliver beats Ra's Al Ghul because he loves Felicity. That is the biggest load of shit that I have ever seen. Yes having something to fight for helps, but no way does it give Oliver an advantage over a guy who kicked his dick in not 5 months ago. Oliver beat Ra's because... he had to or the season wouldn't end. 
          Take this example on how to stop a villain that has an advantage on the hero properly.  Last night on The Flash, Barry admitted that Wells has the advantage over him. Wells has been faster and five steps ahead Barry this whole season. So was Barry just magically able to defeat Wells? No! He asked for help from the Arrow and Firestorm. He knew when he was outclassed and his writers knew that Barry had to regain the advantage over Wells in order for their class to end in Barry's favor. Tonight's Arrow did none of that. Instead Ollie can kill Ra's because he needs to in order to ride off into the sunset with Felicity. 
          You don't just have to add more firepower to beat a baddie. You can use your brain to defeat a foe. Batman always has to use his mind to get the advantage over some of his more physical opponents like Bane + Killer Croc. If he can't beat them physically, he will figure out some other way. Fuckin' A. Ollie had used his brain the night before when he had Ray give him the nanites to stop Wells' superspeed. And if you go back to last year's finale Olicity was used in a positive manner when Oliver tricked Slade and Felicity was able to administer a cure for the Miraku, thus making it an even battle in which Ollie could win. Ra's vs. Oliver isn't an even battle. So having Oliver win because he has love in his heart is the biggest load of bullshit I have ever seen.
          Now it's was not all bad. Barry Allen showed up for a brief, but entertaining cameo. And I also enjoyed seeing where Malcolm, Thea, and Ray's story lines are leading. My suggestion for Season 4 is to just let Ollie + Felicity be gone. I mean gone. For like the first half of next year. Expand everyone else's story lines and when the huge conflict arises call back the Arrow. As for scoring this turd, I'm going to be generous and give it a 5.5 out of 10. I pray Season 4 can be a return to form, but with rumors that Damien Dark is the big bad, I'm not hopeful. In the meantime I'm just gonna act like Season 3 never happened.

I didn't want to write a review this harsh, but it had to be done
Thanks for reading! Did you like Arrow Season 3? Was I too big of an asshole? Let us know in the comments or tweet at us @Caped_Informers or me @cstrand73. And make sure to tune in for our weekly Arrow, Flash, and Daredevil reviews.

The Flash "Rouge Air" Review/Thoughts

On this week's episode, Barry decides to leave the thankless superhero life behind in exchange for a luxurious career in human trafficking, plus we get the dynamic duo we have all been waiting for: the Amell cousins.


Episode Description: When the Reverse Flash rigs the particle accelerator with a mysterious device that threatens the lives of the people in the pipeline, Barry must seek help from an unlikely source: Captain Cold. 

High Points:

  • I liked that Well's wheelchair ended up being more than just a clever disguise. Plus it explains why the Reverse Flash is still so much faster than Barry even though he is having trouble accessing the speed force.
  • The old "hide right underneath their noses" trick. Well played Eobard, well played.
  • This week's moral dilemma with the pipeline prisoners really pushed Barry into uncharted territory and I enjoyed seeing him have to make a deal with his nemesis. And in a shady bar nonetheless!
  • Leornard Snart would listen to Foreigner's "Cold as Ice" 
For Captain Cold: A Man who Truly is as Cold as Ice
  • Ferris Airfield? Barry mentioned it was abandoned because a test pilot went missing so they shut it down. Hal Jordan's father died in a plane crash out of Ferris Aircraft. Coincidence? NO. Green Lantern confirmed. (Don't hold me to that)
  • Screw all other relationship nonsense. I don't want, I need Cisco and Golden Glider to happen. I even have their celeb relationship name picked out: Lisco. (Lisa + Cisco)
  • The ol' double cross from Captain Cold only solidifies how cold this man can be. Plus the ensuing battle was fun because it was like a big reunion-style brawl featuring Barry's season 1 enemies 
  • That last battle!! All sorts of fun to watch The Flash, The Arrow and Firestorm all team up to take on the Reverse Flash, plus every character had their struggles and successes over the course of the fight
  • The Reverse Flash has the suit ring! It was just an extra detail in an otherwise full-on action packed sequence, but still when that suit came of his ring I felt things of a generally sexual nature
  • Oliver asks Barry for a favor. Sounds like we are going to see the Scarlett Speedster play a role in the closing episodes of Arrow.
Low Points:
  • S.T.A.R. Labs really needs to invest in a deadbolt. Seriously, anyone and everyone in Central City just waltzes through the front door on a regular basis. Iris walked in on Barry with his mask off, Captain Cold just helped himself inside. You would think a high-tech lab would have some sort of system in place to prevent all these unwarranted visits
  • Eddie has once again proven to be a huge waste of time. I just keep waiting for the bigger picture with him. Some sort of transformation, some sort of deeper connection between him and the Reverse Flash. So far he is just a meaningless pawn. Maybe something will happen with him in season 2 but season 1 is coming to its conclusion fast and he has done nothing but act as the "reason" Barry and Iris can't be together all season. 
  • There is only one episode left until I don't know what to do with myself on Tuesday nights...
Verdict: Tonight we got a taste of Arrow in more ways than one. Barry and the gang find themselves in a really tricky situation where the law isn't willing to help them in their highly illegal activities. We get a lot of that vibe on Arrow with Oliver's vigilanteism, but on The Flash, more often than not the CCPD wants to work with the Flash as much as they can. So it was an interesting change of pace to see the S.T.A.R. Labs gang have to operate completely outside of the law. And where do you go when you need to accomplish such a dark and seedy task? Why to Captain Cold's dark and seedy bar of course! I remember a time when I was not 100% sold on Leonard Snart in this show. Now I love the relationship that has been built between him and Barry. Barry and Eobard Thawne have a hero-villain dynamic going on, and that is in no way a bad thing. But The Flash and Captain Cold have an arch-rivalry forming and I love that. I want to see The Flash and Captain Cold constantly struggling to get the edge over the other time after time. Sometimes Barry walks away victorious, sometimes Snart leaves with the upper-hand, and sometimes there is just no clear-cut winner. The two have already clashed four times this season so I think it is safe to assume they will keep challenging each other into season 2. Plus it looks like next time the Rouges will have some new recruits. Snart helped those meta-humans escape and Weather Wizard was looking pretty thankful for it. Will Cisco be forced to make him a weather gun? Or perhaps, a weather wand?? Only season 2 will tell. However, the Flash/Captain Cold team-up was another interesting chapter in their rivalry and it offered both new moral dilemmas for our heroes while also setting the stage for a fight that essentially payed homage to the first season of Central City baddies. 
                     The majority of the episode focused on Barry's human transportation dilemma so the battle with The Reverse Flash at the end seemed a little but rushed into. That being said, the battle itself was awesome. Not only did the Amell cousins tag in as The Arrow and Firestorm but we got to see everyone do a little facing off with The Man in Yellow. It was a true, blue team effort that brought down Eobard Thawne. Now I won't say there isn't part of me that wants to see Barry ultimately triumph over The Reverse Flash on his own. It has been the story of The Flash vs. The Man in Yellow all season so it would be incredibly satisfying to see Barry beat him without relying too heavily on Oliver and Ronnie. In fact, at times it seemed like the real action was between Oliver and The Reverse Flash rather than the Flash. However, the battle was still fantastic and the season isn't over yet so there is still time for a one-on-one face-off. Plus on an interesting side note, we learned that Oliver lives to be 86. So SPOILER ALERT: Oliver doesn't die at the end of this season or any season. Also, if Eobard knew that from the history books than Oliver Queen must have done something worth noting in said history books. Maybe like being a member of a certain league pertaining to themes such as justice?

Or maybe it was a classic political sex scandal..Who knows?

All-in-all this was another great episode. I personally think some more time could have been dedicated to overcoming The Reverse Flash but I love it when Snart and the Rouges are in town as well. Eddie and Iris also broke up but enough going on about that, because if it isn't Cisco Ramon and Lisa Snart then it isn't love. An 8.0 out of 10 is in order for The Flash's second to last episode of the season.


Thanks for reading the review! Who do you think will be in the Rouge's season 2 line-up? What did Oliver do to get in the history books? Let us hear your thoughts in the comments below and on twitter @Caped_Informers. Also be sure to check back here regularly for more reviews, articles, and news about your favorite comic book shows and movies. The Flash has its season 1 finale next week at the same time: "Fast Enough".


An Observation About Oliver Queen: Like I said before, there were parts of the final battle where Oliver was truly the star of the fight, like how he slowed the Reverse Flash down the first time and then proceeded to beat the living shit out of him with his superior hand-to-hand combat skills. However, the part that really stuck out to me was when Oliver ended up being the one who got the last shot in. It instantly reminded me of another epic battle that Oliver managed to sneak a final shot in at the end:


And if you haven't seen this whole 2-part movie do yourself a favor and watch it

Either Oliver Queen demands on delivering the final blow in his battles or he is by-far the biggest kill stealer of all time. The point I am getting at here is that I would never play a one-person shooter with this guy.


Sunday, May 3, 2015

First Picture Of The Suicide Squad and Deadshot in Full Costume!

Director David Ayer (Fury) just dropped the first official photo of the main cast of Suicide Squad. Take a gander at Task Force X...


6 Takeaways:

1. Deadshot, Harley Quinn, Boomer, and Rick Flagg all look great. Margot Robbie seems to poised to break out of this movie as the fan favorite character. Harley Quinn is gonna be everywhere when this flick comes out. She will be 2016's Groot.

2. If that is Killer Croc, it disappoints the shit out of me. I wanted a more mutant Croc (Like Jim Lee's in Hush or Arkham Asylum's) instead of the Brian Azzarello version from Joker from which this one is clearly inspired. My boy Adewale is behind the makeup though so that definitely makes me less upset. His take on the character should be cool to see.


3. Well hello there Katana! Didn't expect you to show up in this. Rumor was Karen Fukuhara was going to play Flash villainess, Plastique. Instead she is picking up the soul taker sword as Katana. Maybe this could help set up an adaptation of Green Arrow's Outsider War, where Katana was head of the sword clan. Maybe she is just gonna be there to kick ass and die. Whatever the reason it's just really cool and unexpected for this character show up.

4. Enchantress looks like a combination of the girl from The Ring and the Black Bride from Insidious. Somebody needs to clean that bitch up.

5. Love the nod to Belle Reve prison. With Arkham also confirmed, it sounds like we will be getting a tour of DC's most popular prisons. Can't wait for them to show up at Iron Heights.

6. The overall look is certainly different than I anticipated, but you know what I dig. They aren't meant to look clean cut and nice. They are supposed to look like people that would stab you then fuck your corpse in an alley. So I'm in.

Thanks for reading! What do you think of this look for the Suicide Squad? Do you love Harley Quinn? Let us know in the comments or tweet at us @Caped_Informers or me @cstrand73. And make sure to tune in for our weekly Arrow, Flash, and Daredevil reviews. Suicide Squad hits theaters August 2016.

P.S. Where the fuck is Killer Croc's hat?


UPDATE: Check out Will Smith's Deadshot in full costume.

Wednesday, April 29, 2015

Arrow "Al Sah-Him" Review

Olive is gone and all that is left is Al Sah-Him in an all new Arrow.


Episode Description: Oliver (Stephen Amell) goes through a rigorous transformation. The League of Assassins sets their sights on Nyssa (guest star Katrina Law), who is back in Starling City training Laurel (Katie Cassidy). When Nyssa realizes they are coming, she arms up to face them alone but Laurel asks Felicity (Emily Bett Rickards) and Diggle (David Ramsey) to help protect her new friend.


High Points:
  • Montage! Brain Washing Montage!

  • This Ra's uses special herbs much like Liam Neeson's Ra's Al Ghul did in Batman Begins
  • HIVE and Damien Dark are being set up as baddies of Season 4. 
  • The old kill my daughter to assume her heirship trick. You are so wise, Mr. Al Ghul.
  • I would watch the Black Canary solo show! Yea I said it. Laurel's journey this season has been kickass.
  • Laurel and Nyssa bonded over milkshakes. This friendship is great for both characters arcs. Allows Laurel more training and allows Nyssa more screen time.
  • It's dinner with the Diggles!
  • Thea wants to step and be a vigilante. She should call Artemis about how to make a suit that is highly functional, but also rocks a serious mid drift.
  • Ollie be "Theatricality and deception. Powerful agents to the uninitiated, but we are initiated, aren't we Nyssa?"
  • Canary Cry!!!!!!!! Cisco my friend, you are a god!
  • It was interesting Dynamic to see Oliver be the bad guy. When he kidnapped Lyla, I half expected Dig + Felicity to stumble on a Dexter Season 4 finale situation. Maybe I'm just kinda fucked up like that. That sure would have been extreme for the CW.
  • Ollie took that arrow through the wrist like a champ. Shrugged it off like it was a bug bite.
  • IT'S THE GREEN WEDDING!! Ra's Al Ghul is putting on his best matchmaker outfit and marrying up Nyssa and Ollie. Reminds me of those awesome marriages that Tywin Lannister set up for his kids. And those have turned out so well! Sir Lauris is so in love with Cersi.
  • Ra's Al Ghul is finally doing Ra's Al Ghul things! Like releasing viruses upon cities.
May I suggest a song for the lovely couple's first dance


Low Points:
  • Don't tell Nyssa the bad news while there is still food on the table, Laurel! No need to waste burgers and fries.
  • If the League of Assassins' brainwashing techniques are so effective, why not just kidnap Oliver and force him to be "Al Sah-Him".
  • I want someone to make a super cut of the times in Season 3 that Felicity starts crying. It seems to be the only thing the writers make her do anymore.
  • Where do they set up these LoA meet up spots in Starling? Those torches are mighty bright for some random alley to conceal.
  • I get that Oliver "turning" bad is suppose to raise the stakes of the season, but kidnapping Lyla did not really bring any tension whatsoever. You knew Lyla wasn't gonna to die so what was the point?
  • The flashbacks finally came together with the main story by introducing the Alpha Omega virus in the present. Let me just say the juice was not worth the squeeze. Ra's could have pulled out any old virus and it wouldn't have mattered to me and still would have still gotten the job done. It was like Peter Parker attempting to discovery stuff about his parents in Amazing Spiderman 2. Nobody gave a shit.
  • Katana and Maseo's kid is dying! Didn't see that coming!
My face when Ra's ordered Nyssa to marry Ollie.


Verdict: Don't wanna sound like a shithead, but watching Arrow the day after The Flash is always a letdown. Greatness followed by mediocrity. Almost like watching Spiderman 2 every Tuesday then dying your hair black and letting the goth out to watch Spiderman 3 on Wednesdays. Now before anyone jumps on me and says that I just don't like the darker tone of this series, I would like to lunge to my own defense and say that's bullshit. I love dark and gritty. I eat dark content for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. If Batman asked me out, I would say yes. I rock out to Evanescence. Daredevil is the number one show on my Netflix queue. I'm into that dark shit. So to say that I think The Flash is better because of it's lighter tone is simply not the case. The problems with this Arrow season all stem from one vile source: OLICITY!
          Yes the torrid love affair that has swept the CW by storm is at least partly responsible for the Emerald Archer's recent decline. Once again the weakest elements of this episode incorporated the romantic attachments of Felicity and Oliver. What makes Olcitity such a malevolent force is that it took a character that was once an independent + quick witted computer hacker down to being a weepy middle school girl. Wanna know the last time Felicity wasn't crying for an entire episode? It was on The Flash. There the old Felicity was allowed to flourish. Not here on Arrow though, she has been reduced to the annoying girlfriend role. 
          Anyway as the rest of "Al Sah-Him" is concerned, it was an intriguing notion to see Ollie as the bad guy of an episode. We have seen the Arrow save the day on countless occasions so to flip the script and have Ollie commit evil deeds was cool to see. What hurt this notion though was you knew that Ollie was not going to kill anyone, especially his best friend's wife. I buy the brainwashing, but the CW doesn't have the balls to pull the trigger on anyone on Arrow right now (Ex. from Season 3: Ollie, Roy, and Thea all died and came back), so the tension in the hour was almost non existent. That doesn't mean some cool new story lines weren't presented though. Ra's has tasked Ollie with unleashing the virus from his past, the Alpha Omega thing, upon Starling City. Now that is what the League of Assassins is best at. Taking down cities that need to be put down. Starling has had two massive terrorist attacks in the last two years, so one could imagine that besides it's connection to erasing Oliver Queen's past, that Starling would be a perfect target for the League anyway. 
          And if you thought tasking Ollie with taking out his hometown was a hard enough obstacle for our hero to overcome, our buddy Ra's wasn't finished yet. In a very Game of Thrines-esqe move, Ra's then ordered Ollie to marry his daughter Nyssa to bond their respective houses. Not only does Nyssa not want to marry Ollie, she doesn't even wanna marry a dude in general. So it's tough break for her. But say Ollie + Nyssa do get married and fall in love (that isn't gonna happen, but roll with me on this) thus subsequently destroying Felicity's heart. Maybe that would wake that bitch up. Then Felicity could move over to the new crossover series with her old beau, Ray Palmer, who she works much better with as a couple. Finally ending the plague that is Olicity.
          Now while I did my fair share of bitching, "Al Sah-Him" wasn't that bad of an episode. It had moments that really stood out (Like the Canary Cry!) so overall I'm giving it an 7.0 out of 10

Thanks for reading! Will Ollie ever really come back? Do you want Olicity to die a slow and painful death? Am I just a pessimistic asshole? Let us know in the comments or tweet at us @Caped_Informers or me @cstrand73. And make sure to tune in for our weekly Arrow, Flash, and Daredevil reviews. 
         
 P.S. Katie Cassidy, if you are reading, I'd get a milkshake with you anytime, anyplace, anywhere. :). Laurel is the best part of Arrow. #CanaryCry

Batman at Green Arrow's bachelor party

The Flash "The Trap" Review/Thoughts

On this week's episode of The Flash, the curious case of Harrison Wells is blown wide open and all the beating around the bush about his true identity comes to a screeching halt.


Episode Description: The S.T.A.R. labs gang develops a trap in an attempt to expose Dr. Well's connection to Nora Allen's murder. Meanwhile, Eddie meets resistance from Joe when he announces he plans to propose to Iris. 

High Points:

  • Finally getting some more details from that newspaper. (How and when the Flash disappeared, the author of the article, etc.)
  • "You are also The Flash. Founding member of..." -Gideon. (The Justice League? Gideon were you about to say the fucking Justice League??)
  • Very interesting piece of information that Barry created Gideon. Pieces are starting to fall into place and make sense on the current end of the time stream, but there is still so much about the future Eobard came from that we don't know
  • Wind funnel arms! Another classic Flash move in the repertoire. Now we just need to see some helicopter action:
I expect to see Barry flying alongside Firestorm and Atom by season 2
  • The inner struggle that Barry is having with accepting Wells as a mentor but also knowing his true motives was very palpable in tonight's episode
  • Cisco's dream sequence was cool, even if it was just a reiteration of what happened in the "Out of Time" episode.
  • Joe's flashback to the hospital really captured the "deal with the devil" vibe between him and Wells
  • The S.T.A.R. Labs team had a pretty solid trap planned out, but Harrison Well's trap was just a little bit better. They all must subscribe to Traps Illustrated
The authority on modern trap-setting
  • Eddie: "So this has all been about me?" Eobard: "Not a chance". Has nothing to do with anything but it brought a smile to my face
  • Harrison's flashback to an unconscious Barry was really interesting. We got a real taste of what their dynamic was like before Eobard got stuck in the past but there was still a lot left ominously unanswered. Even when his identity is completely out of the shadows, Eobard Thawne still proves to be a very enigmatic villain.
Low Points
  • For an honest cop just trying to make the city a better place, Joe really sticks to his "put 2 in the chest" method of police work. 
  • I am not buying Iris's realization at the end of the episode. That electric shock doesn't seem like viable grounds to make a connection between Barry and The Flash. I get static shocks touching people and things all the goddamn time and you don't see me jumping to conclusions. I mean Barry even said he would bring Eddie back, which was almost identical to what he said to Iris about Joe in the alternate timeline. They could have easily done a weird timeline flashback thing there and I would have readily bought it over the electric shock thing
  • As funny as I thought Eddie and Eobard's exchange was, I am still waiting on how Eddie truly plays into all this..
Verdict: The Flash is roaring down the homestretch for this season and we are still learning things about Eobard Thawne. Up until now the focus has been entirely on trying to figure out who Harrison Wells really is. Now that we know the answer, the question has shifted to what is the story with Eobard Thawne? Tonight we got some hints both from the opening and the closing sequences. We know that Gideon really belongs to a future Barry Allen and somehow came to fall into the hands of Thawne. We also know that in the future, Thawne and Allen have squared off a number of times and that The Flash disappeared in 2024 during a battle in the streets with Thawne. Likely that is when the two traveled back in time. We also saw Thawne find it ironic that he ended up being the one to create The Flash this time, which means originally Barry didn't become the Flash until 2020, when the real Harrison Wells originally created the particle accelerator. So we are slowly getting details to form the entire story of The Flash's and Thawne's complicated relationship but there is still a lot to be answered in the coming weeks. On a semi-related side note, we also learned that The Flash was a founding member of something by the year 2024. Now I am not going to say we should expect a fully formed Justice League by season 9, but I am going to pray for it every single night for the rest of my days and hope a miracle happens. 

CW's The Super Seven. I'd watch

                Tonight we also learned that not only is there still more to learn about Eobard Thawne, but that he is a formidable opponent in more ways than just being a faster version of The Flash. It turns out that he made sure that he was aware of everything going on with everybody from the very beginning, and his counter-trap using Everyman as a ploy was a clever ruse that caught me completely off-guard. Which means that yes, for the briefest of moments I was actually starting to think that all this build-up ended with Joe dropping the Reverse Flash like a hat and calling it a night. Luckily we have a villain on our hands who is as calculating as he is fast, which makes me even more excited to see how these next few episodes play out. Besides the opening scene and the last handful of minutes of the episode though there was not too much to talk about. Cisco's dream sequence was cool but it was literally just a recap of things we the viewers already knew. Couple that with some out of place Eddie-Iris-Barry love triangle action and you got a good chunk of tonight's episode. I am also still waiting on Eddie's purpose to shine through. Wells said he took him as "insurance", so what does that mean? Does he want to keep Eddie safe because he needs the Thawne bloodline to live on in order to eventually be born? Do you think the S.T.A.R. Labs crew will reach this realization and send Joe in to put two in the back of Eddie's head? Seems a bit out of character for all or any of them but hell who knows. Drastic times am I right? This long-awaited Wells confrontation episode scores an 8.0 out of 10.



Thanks for reading the review! What do you think will happen in these last few episodes? What is your opinion on Iris's choice to hyphenate? Let us know in the comments or on twitter @Caped_Informers. Be sure to check back regularly for more reviews, articles, and news about your favorite comic book characters. The Flash returns same time next week with "Grodd Lives".

Friday, April 24, 2015

First Look at Jared Leto's Joker!

Suicide Squad director David Ayer (Fury) just dropped a bombshell just for Mr. J's special 75th anniversary. Here is our first look at Jared Leto's Joker. 



Holy shit! That sure is different. Reminds me of Frank Miller's All Batman and Robin Joker (Which isn't really a good thing because Frank Miller has really lost his fastball). I dig the tattoos for sure, but I'm gonna have to see him in action before I judge the new look. For now I will say like it, don't love it.

Yellow Teeth > Grillz
This makes me wonder though, what will Harley gonna look like? Because of the way her pudding' looks here I'm guessing more of an Arkham City style rather than her classic BTAS threads. At the end of the day though, who really cares what Harley is wearing. All that matter is that Margot Robbie is playing her.


Thanks for reading! Are you pumped for tattooed Joker? Do you want a grill? Let us know in the comments or tweet at us @Caped_Informers or me @cstrand73. And make sure to tune in for our weekly Arrow, Flash, and Daredevil reviews. Suicide Squad hits theaters August 2016.

P.S. Lil' Jon approves!

Thursday, April 23, 2015

Arrow "The Fallen" Thoughts and Review!

Things in Ollies world come crashing down when we find Thea in the hospital, we take another fun trip to Nanda Parbat, and learn even more about the mystic waters there within.




Episode Description:
Ra's al Ghul finally makes Oliver an offer he can't refuse. The team joins Oliver on his journey to Nanda Parbat where a heartbroken Felicity decides to take matters into her own hands.


"Who let that chick piss in my Laz Pit"-Jason Todd



High Points:
  • Although it was a total steal from the Batman story line, I enjoyed the fact that the Lazerus Pits have been heard to have the same effects in the DC TV series as they do in the animated/comic world.
  • It was good to see Oliver show some emotion finally on this show. He's been so stone walled, emotionless for too long and it's nice to know he's still human inside
  • When Team Arrow arrives in Nanda Parbat, they are met by what looks like the entire league and it looked awesome. Almost like something out of Lord of the Rings on a much smaller scale
  • Big Daddy Dig coming in strong calling out not just Maseo, but the whole league calling them cowards, and a bunch of pansies running away all the time. Dig doing big things each week
  • The resurrection scene was pretty awesome. The anticipation was definitely felt because I could feel it. Only little down side I will post in "Low Points"
  • The sex scene happened, couple episodes late but over and done with
  • I think Arrow heard my claims of the flash back scenes being lackluster all season, they were much better tonight, and a lot more fun to watch
  • Team Arrow ft Maseo fight was a pretty awesome fight scene, including Ollie recognizing himself as the air to the Demon's Head commanding the league
  • How awesome did Ollie look in the League uni tonight at the end of the episode? Looked like the first time Jerome Iginla put on a Boston Bruins jersey for a year.

Watching the Olicity sex scene like....


Low Points:
  • The entire episode was one giant Olicity show. I really hope they did that so we have no more moments between them. It's quite honestly the worst part of this show.
  • Speaking of Felicity, what the hell in her mind tells her its ok to drug a guy after sex or tell the Demons Head he's out of his mind? If you ask me thats probably two of the biggest no no's I can think of
  • Very slow episode all together. I understand it was focused around the Lazerus Pits and Nanda Parbat, I just feel they could have put this in another episode, and now by itself. 
  • The Lazerus Pit scene was extremely short, and Thea turning demon/confused teenager was quite strange. 

I can only imagine Maseo felt like this after letting Team Arrow escaped.


Verdict: Tonight's episode as we all knew going in was going to be all about Nanda Parbot and the Lazerus Pits. Here's what I thought they did wrong about with this episode. They built so much hype around a matter of two minutes. I thought it was much too short, and not exactly what you wanted to see after all the hype. Also, I would have liked to have scene some more detail on Thea's part in the pits.Its like one moment she's in and in a blink of an eye shes in a bed resting completely fine. Hopefully the side effects of the pits show up in remaining episodes and she starts losing it. Could be a very cool aspect to the story line. Another point I want to touch on is the Olicity moment that everyone has been waiting for finally happened tonight. Now I don't hate it, I thought it was much overdue and needed. I just hope that now that its off the chest of the writers, they can focus on what made this show so great in the first place. Briefly commenting on the flash backs this week, I thought they were much better and I'm anxious to see what happens now that the alpha-omega bioweapon has been released into the streets. Now we come to the point everyone will be talking about. Oliver Queen aka Al Sah-Him aka air to the Demon. I have to say, I'm ok with this decision and what direction Oliver's story will go in. I thought he looked awesome in the League uniform, and I think this means we will see him in full fledge action mode these next few eps. Only question is where does this leave Team Arrow. From the short promo of next week's episode and an educated guess, I can only assume there will be some sort of show down that will eventually bring Ollie back to Staring. Another thing to think about in these last few weeks of Arrow, is Ollie just "playing" the role until he can find a way back out of the league? It's something to think about because once Ras is gone and/or killed (if this should happen) Ollie is in control of his own destiny. It's a long shot but should be fun to watch as things unfold in the final weeks. 
All in all I give tonights episode a solid 7.0 out of 10!


Thanks for reading! What do you guys think is next for team arrow? Will there be a show down between them and the league? Will Oliver eventually make his way back to Starling City, or will he be consumed by the league? Let us know what you guys think by commenting below or sending us a tweet @Caped_Informers or @O_doyleRULES11.
Tune in next week for "Al Sah-Him"