You don't get it, son. This isn't a email service, it's a blog and we're the bloggers! We are the Caped Informers. Here to inform you on all current comic related news.
Showing posts with label bruce wayne. Show all posts
Showing posts with label bruce wayne. Show all posts
Tuesday, April 14, 2015
New Post-Covergence Batman Revealed!
Who is in the new robo-batsuit? Well, we were supposed to find out from DC's free book on Free Comic Book Day, but a page from that been has leaked. Click below to find out the new person behind the cowl. Be warned it is a SPOILER!
Monday, December 29, 2014
Analyzing The Batman Franchise (Pt. 5 of 8): Batman Begins (2005)
Batman Begins (2005)
Directed By: Christopher Nolan
Batman/Bruce Wayne: Christian Bale
Love Interest: Rachel Dawes (Katie Holmes)
Villains: Scarecrow (Cillian Murphy), Ra's Al Ghul (Liam Neeson), Carmine Falcone (Tom Wilkinson)
Score: Hans Zimmer and James Newton Howard
High Points:
- Christopher Nolan must be thanked for making Batman movies relevant again. When this was released in 2005, it had been 8 years since The Dark Knight had graced the silver screen. Nolan had a vision of returning the character to his darker roots while injecting a sense of realism (which I don't always feel was necessary) to the comic book world. Moviegoers and Bat-fans quickly got the taste of Robin's rubber lips out of their mouths with this new interpretation. So thank you Chris for bringing Bat movies back with a bang.
- Christian Bale was the first Batman to journey across the globe to study and train in order to begin fighting crime. His portrayal of Bruce Wayne's duality as playboy billionaire by day and Batman by night is also very spot on.
- Gotham, in particular the Narrows, was exactly what you expected the worst city in America to look like. It was dank, dingy, and hopeless and all captured beautifully on camera by cinematographer Wally Pfister.
- Bruce Wayne's climb to the top of the mountain and subsequent training from the League of Shadows (or Assassins) was one of my favorite parts of the trilogy.
- Liam Neeson was an excellent Ra's Al Ghul. He captured the villain's comic book motives perfectly while also providing his classic Neeson badass factor. His speeches about injustice and the history of the League were riveting.
- Cillian Murphy thrived in the role of supporting baddie Jonathan Crane, the Scarecrow.
- James Gordon and Batman started their long term relationship. (Strictly platonic...)
- Gary Oldman was actually a character and not just a fat cop like Pat Hingle was.
- The film did a great job of setting up how corrupt Gotham was. With asswipe cops like Flass and crime lords like Falcone, the city was in real turmoil.
- I enjoyed Bruce's playboy facade especially when he bought that hotel like a boss.
- Morgan Freeman's Lucius Fox helps explain where Batman gets all those wonderful toys.
- Michael Caine is an excellent Alfred. He would never let anyone into the Batcave without permission like that dope Michael Gough. Also his overall relationship with Bruce is much more interesting and caring, while their interactions also serve as a good source for comic relief.
- The dialogue is top notch and the film has a lot of quotable lines. "Swear to me!!"
- Batman's interrogation of Flass was classic Bats.
- Batman's take down of Falcone's gang was intense. He instilled great fear in the hearts of those criminals.
- Batman does a little detective work when he gains evidence against Falcone.
- The Demon's Head vs The Bat is a great fight that happens to take place on the train.
- The in-movie flashbacks to a younger Bruce Wayne were compelling. Showed a intriguing path on how he set out to fight injustice.
- Great use of plot elements and themes from Bat-comics Year One and The Long Halloween.
- That Joker card tease!!!!!
Favorite Line: "You must become more than just a man in the mind of your opponent."
- Ra's Al Ghul
- Ra's Al Ghul
Favorite Scene: So many great scenes to choose, but I have to pick the interrogation of Flass because that reminds me so much of the Batman from comics.
Low Points:
- Bruce Wayne's parents took him to the opera instead of a Zorro movie. If you take your kid to the opera, you kind of deserve to get shot, right?
- Katie Holmes was fine in her part. She didn't hinder the movie in anyway. I just hate Rachel Dawes. There have been so many Batman love interests in comics that I just don't understand why Nolan decided on this uptight Assistant DA. I mean overall she is better than the average superhero love interest (looking at you Natalie Portman!), yet I just didn't buy into why Bruce cared about her so much.
- Rachel Dawes fucked over the Starks and all of Westros by saving Joffery Bartheon from getting killed by the Scarecrow. Why do you hate Sean Bean so much, Rachel?.
- I have never been a fan of child actors and the parts with little kid Bruce I find to be the weakest parts of the film.
- I don't like the Tumbler. I understand Nolan wanted a realistic tank-like that Batman could drive, but Anton Furst's Batmobile to the best Bat-car to date on screen.
Worst Line: "The man I loved - the man who vanished - he never came back at all. But maybe he's still out there, somewhere. Maybe some day, when Gotham no longer needs Batman, I'll see him again." - Rachel Dawes
Worst Scene: There isn't many scenes I don't like in this movie. The weakest parts I found were when Bruce was a little kid. Out of those, I'm picking the opera as the worst part of the movie. No one has ever wanted to be at an opera, let only a 10 year old kid.
*Warning* I could only find a clip that had the Wayne's death attached, so make no mistake I enjoy that part, just not that damn opera.
Verdict: Batman Begins is the best "Batman" movie of all time. Now before you get out your pitchforks and attempt to crucify me read that first sentence again. I said best "Batman" movie of all time. I like you probably believe that The Dark Knight is the best film in Batman's filmography. Personally I feel though that Batman Begins is the closet interpretation to Batman from the comics. He intimidates, he interrogates, hell he even does a little detective work in this joint. Yes, The Dark Knight is a great movie, but I almost consider that to be the Joker's film and not Batman's. This movie on the other hand is all about Batman. It's how he became the character we all know and love. And for this story Ra's Al Ghul was the perfect foil to the Caped Crusader to show what the latter believes true justice really is. Then you mix in a fantastic supporting cast riddled with great performances as iconic Bat-characters and you have a recipe for the beginning of an incredible Bat-triliogy. Overall Batman Begins gets a 9.0 out of 10. The most underrated Bat-flick of all time and a must watch for anyone who loves the crusade of Batman.
Thanks for reading! Is Batman Begins the best "Batman" movie? Sound off in the comments. And make sure to check out the site soon for my analysis of The Dark Knight as our look back into Batman's film history continues. Also be sure to follow us on Twitter @Caped_Informers or follow me @cstrand73 for all your comic book news.
Check out the rest of our look back at Batman's film history by clicking the links below.
Monday, December 8, 2014
Analyzing the Batman Franchise (Pt. 3 of 8): Batman Forever (1995)
Batman Forever
Directed By: Joel Schumacher
Batman/Bruce Wayne: Val Kilmer
Love Interest: Dr. Chase Meridian (Played By Nicole Kidman)
Villains: The Riddler (Jim Carrey), Two-Face (Tommy Lee Jones)
Sidekick: Robin/Dick Grayson (Chris O'Donnell)
Score: Elliot Goldenthal, but really it's so forgettable that who gives a shit. So here is Seal!!
High Points:
- Kiss From A Rose was in the End Credits.
- Like Danny Devito before him, Jim Carrey gets credit for trying. He made a solid effort.
- Batman killed less people. (Still not good enough)
- Robin's origin was pretty close to his comic counterpart. (Expect he isn't suppose to be 30 fucking years old)
- By stopping Two-Face's bomb plot at the circus, the Grayson family did something more heroic than Batman did in either of his first two movies.
- Nicole Kidman also wasn't given much to work with and tried her best. She also provided us with the first ever nude scene in a Batman movie. (Joel, you risqué motherfucka!)
- Two-Face's origin that is shown in a news clip is spot on to his origin from Jeph Loeb's The Long Halloween. (Somebody read a comic!)
- The Riddler destroying the Batcave was fun.
- Arkham Asylum looked kinda cool.
- There were some better fight sequences than Burton's films. (That ain't saying much)
Favorite Line: "Riddle me this, riddle me that, who's afraid of the big, black bat?" - The Riddler
Favorite Scene: Robin saves Batman
Why?: Dick and Bruce have one of the longest running friendships in comics, so it was great to see the start of them being partners.
Low Points:
- Jim Carrey's Riddler was a spurned stalker fan-boy of Bruce Wayne. It was a shitty origin for any super villain character, but has for some reason it keeps being re-hashed in superhero flicks. First time it was re-used was for geeky Aldrin Killian who swore revenge on Tony Stark after Tony skipped a meeting with him. Then lameass Electro cried into birthday cake cause Spiderman wasn't his best friend. Hell the only time being a fanboy turned villain ever worked was for Syndrome in the The Incredibles.
- Tommy Lee Jones is an awful Two-Face. The character is all about duality, but Jones just tries to be a rip-off of Nicholson's Joker. Way too over the top and ridiculous. And where the hell does he buy those suits he wears?
- Robin is too goddamn old.
- Joel Schumacher left behind the beautiful art-deco sets of Anton Furst for crazy giant statues, bright colors, and dutch angles.
- I know writing riddles can be hard, but try not having riddles that Scrappy Doo could solve.
- Joel Schumacher's Legacy - The introduction of the Bat-Nipples.
- Why the fuck wasn't Billy Dee Williams (LANDO!!), Two-Face? Answer me Joel!
- Somebody invited Val Kilmer.
- Somebody also invited Michael Gough and Pat Hingle back as Alfred and Gordon.
- Chris O'Donnell is whiny, uncool, and just a douchebag, everything Dick Grayson isn't.
- The mass production of Riddler's tech The Box could not be done in a weekend, nor could they erect an island to mass produce it in that amount of time either.
- Am I the only person who is sick of the "damsel in distress" in the climax.
- Unneeded flashbacks to parent's funeral and Thomas Wayne's red journal were unneeded.
Worst Line: "Holey rusted metal, Batman!" - Robin
Worst Scene: Two-Face teaches the Riddler how to punch.
Why?: There was a lot to choose from, but this particular scene just shows you how much these two villains suck and how this movie should not be taken seriously.
Verdict: Some people like to say the fall of the Batman film franchise started with Batman Returns. Those people have a right to their opinion (even if it's wrong), but I believe it started as soon as Joel Schumacher signed on as director for Batman Forever. The return to the campiness of Adam West's Batman occurred because of parental backlash about the darkness of Burton's films. WB was scared and reverted back to full fledge family entertainment. And it was fucking awful. Everything in this movie was a joke. Jim Carrey and Tommy Lee Jones were some of the hottest actors around in 1995 and even they couldn't save this crap. All the characters are over the top caracitures and there is no one really to even root for. Like is there anyone out there that thinks Val Kilmer's Batman was cool? At least Michael Keaton knew what to do when a woman wanted to fuck him. Am I being too harsh to this movie? Probably. It was not nearly as bad as it's sequel. There were some enjoyable parts. Personally I enjoy the Flying Graysons' scene. And you know what Bat-Wing and the Bat-boat looked cool. So what am trying to say is Joel Schumacher's Batman Forever wasn't all bad, it was just mostly bad. Overall this foray back to the 60's gets a 4.0 out of 10.
Fun Fact #1: Did you know both Leonardo DiCaprio and Christian Bale were both asked to play Robin. Thank god neither of those guys ruined their careers making that mistake.
Fun Fact #2: I gave this movie a 4 out of 10, but I still have a poster from it on my wall for some reason.
Thanks for reading. Stayed tuned for an the hardest analysis of my life as I take on Batman and Robin tomorrow. Wish me luck and make sure to follow us on Twitter @Caped_Informers or follow me @cstrand73 for all your comic book and Caped Informers news and stories.
Check out the rest of our look back at Batman's film history by clicking the link below.
Monday, October 27, 2014
Gotham "Spirt of The Goat" Review
Harvey reflects back on better days, while Oswald takes a bath on an all new Gotham.
Synopsis: A killer targets Gotham elite’s firstborn children, and the case brings back painful memories for Bullock. Elsewhere, Gordon is forced to deal with the consequences of his past decisions.
High Points
- Interesting to see Harvey's past
- Jim Gordon can kick some serious ass
- They got the Penguin's middle name right
- Fish Mooney didn't show up
![]() |
| You can cut the sexual tension with a knife |
Low Points
- Couldn't come up with a better name for the killer than The Goat
- Edward Nygma is nauseating
- Nevermind he is fucking worse than nauseating
- I would rather eat my own shit than to watch him on screen
- Cobblepot's mom is a caricature joke
- Nice Silence of the Lambs ripoff with the penny
- Selina breaks into Wayne manor for no apparent reason
- Umm that Penguin and Mama bath scene...
- The villain was hypnotism
Verdict: This week Jim and Harvey go after a serial killer that has ties to a case Harvey solved years back. Now this ep. kinda reminded me of last year's episode of Arrow entitled "Broken Dolls" (If you haven't seen it, go watch it, it's great). That being said Arrow did this scenario much better than Gotham. Det. Lance on Arrow had a strong emotional connection to the old killings because the victims were all women in their early 20's and his daughter, who was that age, had recently died. Lance thought that if he could stop this killer (The Dollmaker), it was almost like her could save his daughter. Now on Gotham, Harvey had no real emotional trauma from his old case. In fact the writers could have killed off his old partner (appropriately named Dicks after what kind of bag this show sucks) to give Harvey more of a connection to the case. But there was no emotion. Instead it was an easily solved case (Solved by looking at who took days off from work!) with an easily caught baddie who went by a terrible name (Spirit of the Goat, really?). Yes there was a twist that a random therapist and her hypnotism caused these Goat men to go on killing sprees, but that was laughable explanation As for other story lines, Edward Nygma's portrayal is irritating and unneeded. We get that he will be The Riddler, but stop having him talking in riddles and start having him be a person. Eddy in the comics has always thought he was the smartest person in any room he stepped into. Show him doing something mildly intelligent. Any asshole can google riddles and say them aloud. On one final note, Oswald couldn't even save this episode. He took a bath with his mom. That's about it. overall I give "Spirit of the Goat" a 3.0 out of 10. This show needs to be better than this because if this is the best Gotham has in store then it's gonna be a long season.
Thanks for reading. What did you think of Gotham's sixth episode? Sound off in the comments. Make sure to check out our reviews every week and follow our live action tweeting of every episode @Caped_Informers and @cstrand73. See you next week folks!
![]() |
| Believe it when I say i like Jim Carrey's better |
Monday, October 20, 2014
Gotham "Viper" Review/Thoughts
Free Drugs! Get your free drugs here! Gotham is overtaken by a new "super" drug. Mild SPOILERS!
Synopsis: Gordon and Bullock search for the source of a new street drug that causes euphoria then death. Meanwhile, Oswald Cobblepot works his way deeper into Maroni’s inner circle and Fish Mooney continues her plot against Falcone.
High Points
- Bullock likes pickles
- Bruce is the best detective on the show
- Bullock and Gordon's interplay still fun
- Edward Nygma didn't make me puke this week
- Penguin tells Maroni the truth
- David Zayas is a great Maroni
- Penguin compromises Gordon again
| You haven't earn the right to call me Mama, Jaden! |
Low Points
- No one questions random guy handing drugs to everyone
- Viper (Later Venom) leads to milk addiction
- Low grade special effects
- Cases are very linear
- Jada Pinket Smith's overacting has worn its welcome
- Van Gough wannabe and Super Old Man were shit villains
- No suspense
- Awful villain motivation
- Villains only exists to show Wayne Enterprises sucks
- Another episode more dead villains to never return
- Falcone is thinking with his dick
Thanks for reading. What did you think of Gotham's fifth episode? Sound off in the comments. Make sure to check out our reviews every week and follow our live action tweeting of every episode @Caped_Informers and @cstrand73. See you next week folks!
![]() |
| What did you do to Venom? |
Gotham Conspiracy Theory: Is Harvey Bullock actually Bubble Bass from SpongeBob Squarepants? I don't see anyone saying he isn't the Sponge's arch nemesis. Expect the crossover soon. You heard it here first!
Sunday, October 12, 2014
Leslie Thompkins and Hush Are Coming To "Gotham"
IGN had an exclusive interview with some members of the cast of FOX's Gotham after the show's NYCC panel had ended today. During the interview, the cast members confirmed that doctor Leslie Thompkins will be making an appearance on the show. Audiences should also expect a Tommy "Hush" Elliot easter egg as well. Check out the link below to watch the video.
Source: IGN
Source: IGN
| Best Friends 4 Eva! |
I have been giving Gotham a lot of shit for bringing on too many famous villains on too soon, but I am actually okay with them bringing on Tommy Elliot. Tommy was Bruce's childhood friend who eventually became the bandage baddie Hush. So having Tom as Bruce's childhood bud is okay with me. That is only if Tommy is a kid. If Gotham pulls the same shit with him that they are pulling with Harvey Dent and make Tommy 20 years older than Bruce, I'm out...
In addition to a young Tommy, Leslie Thompkins is perfect for this show because of her ties to a young Bruce Wayne. She has long been recognized as a friend/mentor to the millionaire orphan.
These two characters coming to the show make sense. Actually when this show was first announced I had hoped that they would be included. Glad to see some actual pieces of Bruce Wayne's childhood will be showcased. #BruceShouldn'tKnowSelina
Make sure to check out Gotham on FOX on Mondays at 8! Then check out our weekly review of the show. See ya tomorrow!
Labels:
Batman,
bruce wayne,
DC,
DC comics,
fox,
gotham,
hush,
jim Gordon,
leslie thompkins,
nycc,
tommy elliot
Monday, October 6, 2014
Gotham "The Balloonman" Review/Thoughts
This week in Gotham The Balloonman terrorizes the city's untouchable criminals which leads Jim and Harvey to finally learn how balloons work.
Episode Description: Detectives Gordon and Bullock track down a vigilante who is killing corrupt Gotham citizens by attaching them to weather balloons. Meanwhile, Oswald Cobblepot returns to Gotham and gets a new job close to an influential figure in the underworld.
High Points
- Jim Gordon vs. Everyone
- Harvey Bullock getting his ass kicked
- Barbara and Montoya ;)
- Penguin's kill streak continues
- Alfred is growing on me
- Intro to Sal Maroni
- The corruption of Gotham runs deep
- Villain presents interesting moral conflict for Gordon
Low Points
- Balloonman was ridiculous villain
- Lameass Bullock interrogations
- Gordon easily tricked by Selina
- Fish Mooney is beginning to wear thin
- Once again overall episode was just boring
- And once again little tension or excitement
Verdict: This show's heart is in the right place. Jim Gordon's characterization is great and the show continually demonstrates how shitty the city of Gotham is. The problem is so far no bad guy has really been worth investigating for a full episode. Hell, no one in the city even wants these cases solved except for Gordon. The Balloonman was a ridiculously stupid villain. His balloon kills were more hysterical than scary which made this villain of the week a real joke. His only plus side was he that he's a murderous vigilante which presented an interesting moral dilemma for Gordon. On the flip side of the episode, Oswald Cobblepot meeting Maroni was interesting. I'm excited to see what part Ozzy plays in the impending mob war. Overall I give "The Balloonman" a 6.5 out of 10. Well, at least Jim and Harvey learned how balloons work.
Thanks for reading. What did you think of Gotham's third episode? Sound off in the comments. Make sure to check out my reviews every week and follow our live action tweeting of every episode @Caped_Informers and @cstrand73. See you next week folks!
Gotham's Weird Fact Of The Week: For some reason all three episodes so far have some weird mention of shoes. First episode had Jim Gordon notice that Mario Pepper owned no shiny shoes. The second had Bullock get told that he had nice shoes. And now in third episode, Oswald kills a bro for his shoes. This leads me to the conclusion that Bruno Heller has a foot fetish. That is all!
Monday, September 22, 2014
Gotham "Pilot" Review/Thoughts
After months of anticipation and hype Gotham is finally here. Ben Mckenzie steps up to the task of portraying a young Jim Gordon, but this pilot isn't without it's flaws...
Episode Description: Rookie detective James Gordon battles villains and corruption in the premiere of this action-adventure series set in pre-Batman Gotham City.
High Points
- Jim Gordon does a little bit of detective work
- Selina Kyle is agile
- Solid characterization of Carmine Falcone
- Fish Mooney was interesting
- Robin Lord Taylor is an intriguing yet different Oswald Cobblepot
- Donal Logue is a solid Bullock and Mckenzie is a solid Gordon
- The look of Gotham is beautiful
- Barbara Kean is pretty :)
- Gotham City is a shithole like it should be
- Enjoyed the final 10 minutes
Low Points
- Overall slow pace
- Boring action pieces
- Terrible shootouts
- Hardo Alfred is a Hardo
- Ivy Pepper and her family cause volatile body reactions
- Shoving several classic villains into the pilot
- Would like more Bruce
- People already calling Oswald "Penguin"
Verdict: I'm not going to lie, I had low expectations for this show. My heart belongs to the Batman universe and anyone who I believe is attempting to harm it automatically becomes my enemy. Everything I heard about this show going into its premiere made me think that I would detest it. To my surprise that wasn't the case. I didn't hate Gotham, but I sure as hell didn't love it either. The show has a good cast and the potential to be a new take on the tale of the early days of the comic world's most infamous city. Yet this first episode felt very slow. It also felt like a chance to cram every DC villain the general audience knows into one episode. Hopefully this series overcomes pilot syndrome and can turn into a interesting take on the early Batman mythos. Oswald Cobblepot was a standout character for me though. I wanna see more of him climbing the ranks and being a slippery fuck. Overall I give the pilot episode of Gotham a 6 out of 10. This show has potential, lets hope it lives up to it.
Thanks for reading. What did you think of Gotham's premiere episode? Sound off in the comments. Make sure to check out my reviews every week and follow our live action tweeting of every episode @Caped_Informers and @cstrand73.
Tuesday, July 22, 2014
DC TV Updates For 'Flash', 'Arrow' and 'Gotham'
Hey everybody! Sorry for the hiatus. I just took the last week for a little R+R, but now I'm back and more dedicated than ever. Let's talk some DC TV.
Wentworth Miller Cast as Captain Cold
Last Friday TV Guide tweeted that Prison Break actor Wentworth Miller will portray the ice villain and leader of the Rogues on Flash. The character will be first introduced in episode 4.
Wentworth Miller Cast as Captain Cold
Last Friday TV Guide tweeted that Prison Break actor Wentworth Miller will portray the ice villain and leader of the Rogues on Flash. The character will be first introduced in episode 4.
Miller is a great cast for Leonard Snart. He fits the new 52 look of the character which is the direction I believe the show should take. Ice Powers > Ice Gun every time. With Cold being added there is only a matter of time before this show brings in the rest of the Rogues. Can't wait.
Arrow and Flash Will Have a Two Hour Crossover!
TV Guide also nabbed another a big DC TV scoop this week from an interview with Flash and Arrow producer Andrew Kreisberg. He revealed that both shows will have a crossover event that will take place across each of the show's 8th episodes. The producer also mentioned that everybody's favorite Arrow character, Felicity Smoak, will be making a stop in Central City in Flash's 4th episode.
These shows exist in the same universe so a crossover was inevitable. Thats not meant to say that I'm not excited for it though. It's going to be cool seeing Ollie team up with super powered Barry. The dynamic between the characters will be much different than Barry's Arrow guest stint considering they are both superheroes now. Bring on the mash up.
By the way the most exciting question about this crossover is who's the bad guy causing this little team up? Could it be the Rogues first assembling? Or maybe Deathstroke breaks free? Or could Gorilla Grodd bringing his own brand of whoop ass to Central City? (I'm still riding on an Ape-high because of Dawn of the Planet of the Apes) Well whoever it is must be tough to catch the attention of both our CW heroes.
Geoff Johns Confirms DC TV and Movies Are Not Connected
DC Entertainment Chief Geoff Johns had a recent interview with IGN Movies where he revealed that the DC Movie and TV universes are not connected. Johns said "You'll see a lot of DC universe characters [on The Flash and Arrow]. You won't see Batman or Superman. We're on production on Batman V Superman now. So you'll see characters like The Atom or Firestorm, but no not Batman or Superman right now [on TV]." That makes sense, but Smallville aired when Superman Return was released, so why not?... It's a separate universe than film so that the filmmakers can tell the story that's best for film. While we explore something different in a different corner of the DC universe. We will not be integrating the film and television universes."
We live in a world today where everybody expects every comic related media to be connected. Marvel Studios has revolutionized the genre by weaving a larger tale with their interconnected films. Last year the studio attempted to integrate TV into it's MCU cannon by adding Agents of S.H.E.I.L.D. Now that show blows. Like seriously sucks ass. And while I believe that Marvel's Netflix series will fair much better, I think AOS proved that making your TV show connected to your movie universe is not always a good thing.
Yes having a Movie Flash and a TV Flash will not please everyone. But I actually like what Johns said about having the universes separate allow the writers to explore different characters in the TV corner of the DC Universe. I mean let's face it, not every comic character is going to be brought to film. The Flash and Green Arrow might get film adaptions yet characters like Firestorm, The Atom, and Katana probably never will. So having heroes like Flash and GA on TV allows for these more obscure DC characters to make it into the limelight. And if the two heroes are played by different actors and make it into film, then they can deal with their fellow Justice Leaguers. I think it just means more stories being told about our favorite characters. So its not the end of the world that Ben Affleck will not be taking selfies with Colton Hayes anytime soon.
Gotham show runner Bruno Heller Dishes on Batman Prequel
Bruno Heller (The Mentalist) has been talking non-stop about his new show Gotham. Heller told IGN Movies about the potential Joker appearances, Poison Ivy's name change, the inclusion of Hugo Strange, an older Harvey Dent, and Arkham Asylum all in season one.
An older Harvey Dent and Hugo Strange. Great two more villains for this show to ruin. Let's go through which foes have been confirmed for this show. Penguin, Catwoman, Riddler, Poison Ivy, Hugo Strange, Two Face, Joker, Scarecrow and some have even rumored Mr. Freeze will make an appearance. That's 9 of Batman's top baddies and they have only shot the pilot. Are gonna introduce fucking Clayface and Professor Pyg this season too? If the writers did they would probably rename them Swine Bacon and Johnny Mud. (The name Ivy Pepper still makes me fucking puke.) Seriously though I thought this show was about Jim Gordon and the GCPD. Gordon's past now only really seems like a vehicle for these horrendous villain backstories that no one wants to see. The season is supposed to consist 16 episodes, but I starting to think that is 15 episodes to many. Bury this shit before it starts to tarnish Batman's legacy.
Sources: IGN Movies
That's all the recent DC TV news, but make sure to follow us on Twitter @Caped_Informers or follow me @cstrand73 to keep up on all your comic related news. Thanks for reading.
Labels:
Arrow,
Batman,
bruce wayne,
captain cold,
CW,
DC,
DC comics,
DC TV,
flash,
geoff johns,
gotham,
hugo strange,
penguin,
poison ivy,
rogues,
the riddler,
two-face,
wentworth miller
Saturday, May 10, 2014
FOX Releases First Poster for Gotham
Alfred's hand placement is aggressive as fuck.
The idea of Fish Mooney angers me. This unneeded show is going to use every goddamn Batman super villain in the first episode, but they refuse to use any actual Gotham mob rulers like Carmine Falcone or Sal Maroni. Jada Pinkett Smith could have been Sofia Gigante, Falcone's daughter who became mob leader after his death, for fuck's sake. Now she is signed up for one season to be a pawn for Penguin to fuck over. Not too compelling. Plus can't wait to see Jack Napier telling shitty jokes on stage at a gangster club. Going to be glorious. This show is shaping up to be the Agents of SHIELD for DC. A super hero show that has no superheroes and just name drops for ratings.
Labels:
alfred,
Batman,
ben mckenzie,
bruce wayne,
DC,
DC comics,
fish mooney,
fox,
gotham,
jim Gordon,
penguin
Monday, May 5, 2014
First Trailer of Fox's Gotham Released
You've read the questionable plot synopses. You've seen the questionable pictures. Now prepare to view the first questionable trailer for Fox's DC based project Gotham! As mentioned earlier, Gotham just recently got the green-light after Fox strongly approved of the pilot episode and mere moments afterwards they released a sneak-peek of what is to come. Personally, I am still a bit skeptical about a show that heavily advertises Batman's villains without the Caped Crusader himself. Perhaps they are banking on the general public to not realize that the villains arrived in Gotham because of Batman and not the other way around? That being said, I am still excited to see what the show has in store. And who knows? Maybe Cobblepot and Nygma weren't so much as villains back in the day, as they were just misunderstood men brimming with redeeming qualities. We all know how much America loves the redemption story, am I right Avi Arad? Anyway check out the trailer and feel free to give us your input on how you feel this show is shaping up. And be sure to pause it at 1:17 to get the first official glimpse of creepy Alfred in the background. Enjoy!
-Ryan
-Ryan
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)














