Last night The Flash ended its second season in style. "The Race of His Life" had lots of unexpected twists and turns. All of which led to a very excited cliffhanger.
The future of The Flash will certainly be different. Here are some of my ideas of what could happen when the show returns in October. (IF YOU HAVE NOT WATCHED THE FLASH FINALE DO NOT CLICK THE JUMP, MASSIVE SPOILERS AHEAD!)
You don't get it, son. This isn't a email service, it's a blog and we're the bloggers! We are the Caped Informers. Here to inform you on all current comic related news.
Showing posts with label green arrow. Show all posts
Showing posts with label green arrow. Show all posts
Thursday, May 26, 2016
5 Cool Possibilities For Season 3 Of The Flash
Labels:
2016,
Arrow,
barry allen,
captain cold,
cisco,
DC,
DC TV,
eobard thawne,
flash,
grant gustin,
green arrow,
harrison wells,
jay garrick,
killer frost,
reverse flash,
season 3,
supergirl,
the flash,
thomas wayne,
zoom
Wednesday, May 6, 2015
Arrow "This Is Your Sword" Review
Wedding Bells are in the air as Al Sah Him is about the wed the woman of his dreams, his ex-girlfriend's ex-girlfriend! (SPOILERS!)
High Points:
- Diggle and Canary should team up more often.
- Dinner with the Al Ghuls is not as fun as dinner with the Diggles.
- Oliver isn't as brainwashed as we thought. Having him have to team up with one of his worst enemies, Merlyn, to take down Ra's really shows how desperate Ollie is in this situation.
- Roy is a damn sexy mechanic!
- Shit always heats up when Roy and Thea are alone together. To quote Nick Fury these two bang "like Catholic Rabbits".
- Who is the better Dad: Ra's Al Ghul or Joe Jackson?
- Did you see the sign for Ferris Air Baggage? With so many references to Coast City and Ferris Air popping up on The Flash and Arrow, Hal Jordan is all, but confirmed to show up on the CW next fall.
- Enter Katana!
- Ray Palmer is the greatest human being to ever live. The massive spinoff Legends of Tomorrow is gonna be a kick ass show with him as the lead.
- Katana and Maseo's showdown would have been even cooler if the flashbacks actually made us give a shit about them.
- Always good to see some Roy and Thea pillow talk.
- Malcolm Merlyn is always playing his cards close to his chest. Whatever moves puts himself in the best position is the move he is going to make a 100% of the time. Allegiances and loyalty don't mean shit to this guy. Makes him such a slimly yet lovable character.
- Felicity's face when hearing of Oliver's impending nuptials was priceless.
- Attempted murder always makes a wedding ceremony more exciting.
- Solid cliffhanger.
Roy and Thea's theme song
Low Points:
- Felicity is so self righteous it's fucking sickening. She "always" has to be right. She always has to be the voice of reason. Season 3 has ruined her forever.
- Was not invested enough in Maseo and Katana's kid to give a shit that he died. (Sometimes I can be a real cruel prick.)
- The flashbacks just need to stop. I understand that Maseo + Ollie came across the virus a few years back. We got the information we needed. No need for more useless backstory.
- Shrieve sucks. Just another faceless Army drone for Ollie to beat down.
- Leaving Thea naked in your bed? I thought you were a gentleman, Roy Harper?
| Season 3 Felicity's state of mind |
Verdict: Oliver is in a tight spot. Ra's has pushed him to the edge. With his back against the wall there is only one man that Oliver can turn to. Everyone's favorite terrorist, Malcolm Merlyn! This was a nice twist by the Arrow writers. Oliver being forced to turn to his enemy for help shows how desperate he really is right now. What is that old saying: "The enemy of my enemy is my friend."
Well, this revelation that Ollie was working with Merlyn the whole time leads the team back to Nana Parbat. In order to stop the Alpha Omega from being released upon Starling they must infiltrate Ra's crib. Serious question, how many raids on Nana Parbat have we seen this season? 4 maybe 5? I'm just tired of seeing of beating down LoA goons. These guys go down pretty damn easily. I guess what I am saying is that I want Ra's Al Ghul to pick up his sword and fight some fools. 22 episodes in this year and we have only seen Ra's battle 2 times. Don't want more of the Demon, I need it. Though seeing Katana suit up and murder her husband was a pretty sight amongst the other meaningless fighting. The emotional fallout from her killing Maseo didn't land that much, but the brawl sure was cool. So points to the stunt team on that sword battle.
To keep appearances Ollie was then forced to capture his compadres. Ra's Al Ghul then poisoned those poor bastards with the Alpha Omega virus. Then Ollie gets married while his friends die in the next room over. This was such a massive dickhead move by Ra's. "This Is Your Sword" did a good job of showing us that the Demon's Head is not a good guy. He is a villain that needs to be taken down. (Unlike Shrieve, who is using the Nazi's excuse). All of this lead to a solid cliffhanger of not knowing if Team Arrow would survive the Alpha Omega.
That was until I saw the preview for next week that aired immediately following the episode. It showed all of Team Arrow safe + sound and in Starling next week. I hope there is some sort of fallout from the Alpha Omega being released and that it is not concluded by some twist in which Oliver or Maseo replaced it with sleeping gas or some shit. Please have some consequences occur in that storyline, okay?
Overall " This Is Your Sword" did not really light my fire and I'm giving it a 7.0 out of 10. Now onto next week, Ollie is technically married and I can't wait to see him fight it out with his new father in-law next week. Arrow has had two great finales and I hope "My Name is Oliver Queen" will be another triumph.
Thanks for reading! Are you excited for Oliver's showdown with the Demon? Do you cry when a child dies on TV? Let us know in the comments or tweet at us @Caped_Informers or me @cstrand73. And make sure to tune in for our weekly Arrow, Flash, and Daredevil reviews.
| Jane Fonda would have made a great Ra's Al Ghul |
Thursday, April 23, 2015
Arrow "The Fallen" Thoughts and Review!
Things in Ollies world come crashing down when we find Thea in the hospital, we take another fun trip to Nanda Parbat, and learn even more about the mystic waters there within.
![]() |
| "Who let that chick piss in my Laz Pit"-Jason Todd |
High Points:
- Although it was a total steal from the Batman story line, I enjoyed the fact that the Lazerus Pits have been heard to have the same effects in the DC TV series as they do in the animated/comic world.
- It was good to see Oliver show some emotion finally on this show. He's been so stone walled, emotionless for too long and it's nice to know he's still human inside
- When Team Arrow arrives in Nanda Parbat, they are met by what looks like the entire league and it looked awesome. Almost like something out of Lord of the Rings on a much smaller scale
- Big Daddy Dig coming in strong calling out not just Maseo, but the whole league calling them cowards, and a bunch of pansies running away all the time. Dig doing big things each week
- The resurrection scene was pretty awesome. The anticipation was definitely felt because I could feel it. Only little down side I will post in "Low Points"
- The sex scene happened, couple episodes late but over and done with
- I think Arrow heard my claims of the flash back scenes being lackluster all season, they were much better tonight, and a lot more fun to watch
- Team Arrow ft Maseo fight was a pretty awesome fight scene, including Ollie recognizing himself as the air to the Demon's Head commanding the league
- How awesome did Ollie look in the League uni tonight at the end of the episode? Looked like the first time Jerome Iginla put on a Boston Bruins jersey for a year.
![]() |
| Watching the Olicity sex scene like.... |
Low Points:
- The entire episode was one giant Olicity show. I really hope they did that so we have no more moments between them. It's quite honestly the worst part of this show.
- Speaking of Felicity, what the hell in her mind tells her its ok to drug a guy after sex or tell the Demons Head he's out of his mind? If you ask me thats probably two of the biggest no no's I can think of
- Very slow episode all together. I understand it was focused around the Lazerus Pits and Nanda Parbat, I just feel they could have put this in another episode, and now by itself.
- The Lazerus Pit scene was extremely short, and Thea turning demon/confused teenager was quite strange.
I can only imagine Maseo felt like this after letting Team Arrow escaped.
Verdict: Tonight's episode as we all knew going in was going to be all about Nanda Parbot and the Lazerus Pits. Here's what I thought they did wrong about with this episode. They built so much hype around a matter of two minutes. I thought it was much too short, and not exactly what you wanted to see after all the hype. Also, I would have liked to have scene some more detail on Thea's part in the pits.Its like one moment she's in and in a blink of an eye shes in a bed resting completely fine. Hopefully the side effects of the pits show up in remaining episodes and she starts losing it. Could be a very cool aspect to the story line. Another point I want to touch on is the Olicity moment that everyone has been waiting for finally happened tonight. Now I don't hate it, I thought it was much overdue and needed. I just hope that now that its off the chest of the writers, they can focus on what made this show so great in the first place. Briefly commenting on the flash backs this week, I thought they were much better and I'm anxious to see what happens now that the alpha-omega bioweapon has been released into the streets. Now we come to the point everyone will be talking about. Oliver Queen aka Al Sah-Him aka air to the Demon. I have to say, I'm ok with this decision and what direction Oliver's story will go in. I thought he looked awesome in the League uniform, and I think this means we will see him in full fledge action mode these next few eps. Only question is where does this leave Team Arrow. From the short promo of next week's episode and an educated guess, I can only assume there will be some sort of show down that will eventually bring Ollie back to Staring. Another thing to think about in these last few weeks of Arrow, is Ollie just "playing" the role until he can find a way back out of the league? It's something to think about because once Ras is gone and/or killed (if this should happen) Ollie is in control of his own destiny. It's a long shot but should be fun to watch as things unfold in the final weeks.
All in all I give tonights episode a solid 7.0 out of 10!
Thanks for reading! What do you guys think is next for team arrow? Will there be a show down between them and the league? Will Oliver eventually make his way back to Starling City, or will he be consumed by the league? Let us know what you guys think by commenting below or sending us a tweet @Caped_Informers or @O_doyleRULES11.
Tune in next week for "Al Sah-Him"
Wednesday, April 15, 2015
Arrow "Broken Arrow" Review!
The Arrow's world is crashing down as Roy is being sent to prison for his "crimes". Don't drop the soap, Roy! (SPOILERS!)
Episode Description: With Lance still targeting the Arrow, Felicity insists that Oliver keep a low profile; a metahuman who uses blasts of energy and plasma to kill people terrorizes the city, forcing Ray and Oliver to team up.
High Points:
Verdict: So what was looking like would be another filler episode for Arrow, turned out to be quite entertaining and fun effort. At first I really didn't like Ray in the field, but then I was intrigued when Ollie took the reigns and pep talked Ray on what it means to be a hero. Although Ollie did most of the fighting, Ray proves that he has something to offer the city of Staring when the Arrow is a no show, or incapable of saving the city. Next, as I touched on in the Low Points, what is going on with these flashbacks? Each week they seem to get worse and worse. Nothing makes sense, I am honestly so lost of Ollie's background story because so many different things happen each week. If you guys watch Daredevil, you'll notice the flashbacks tie into the story. It used to happen on this show too, but for some reason not this season. It should be fixed. Ok now to the good stuff. Roy is leaving, and I have to say I thought it was coming. I was freakin out when he "died" only to realize it was all a plan to escape. With Roy leaving what happens to Team Arrow? Is Roy going to go off the rails again, become his own vigilante like the story line in Young Justice? It's just a thought and most likely a fantasy story line. Which leads us to the last 2 minutes of the episode where Thea is struck down by the sword of the Demon's Head. As soon as that happened all of us arrowheads/DC fans thought one thing, Lazurus Pits. Sure enough there is the preview for next week showing Thea wrapped in cloth dipped in the pits. All I could think of was a personal favorite movie of mine Batman: Under the Red Hood. Now Thea will most likely not become Red Hood because then this show should just be called Batman, but we hear Ras mention that being dipped in the pits, bringing people back to life changes them. I think that in the next few weeks to come we will be seeing a completely new side of Thea Queen.
Episode Description: With Lance still targeting the Arrow, Felicity insists that Oliver keep a low profile; a metahuman who uses blasts of energy and plasma to kill people terrorizes the city, forcing Ray and Oliver to team up.
High Points:
- Ollie plans to break Roy out of Iron Heights. I believe Captain Cold and Heatwave may have some experience in that department.
- Every scene that Detective Lance was in tonight was fantastic. He is one of the greatest actors on this show and each outing he proves he has beach ball sized balls.
- This week seems to be all about team ups in the Flarrowverse. Arrow+ Atom team up lived up to the hype with the virtual reality fight.
- Roy proved to all of us today that when you just might be the be the best looking guy in a prison, you better know how to fight. And fight he did ladies and gentlemen and it was awesome.
- Big Daddy Dig proves week in and week out that he is the voice of reason of Team Arrow. Brings 110% to the table every week.
- Cisco's cameo was cool. Always good to see some flash people and his bromance with Ray keeps growing and growing.
- The fact that Deathbolt was not in Central City the night of the particle excellerator explosion leads us here at the informers that we could have had a spinoff easter egg.
- Roy's apparent death had me yelling and punching things around me. The inside guy, the knife, the poison it was all so cool and gave us quite the feels.
- I thought Felicity was a little better this week than she has been the whole season. Between her and Ray being in the field I thought she was just a smudge better.
- It was a cool take this week with Ollie being behind the scenes being that motivational voice to Ray which is a role he usually isn't found in.
- The fight between Ras and Thea was pretty good well choreographed......but my god the ending will blow your mind (I will not spoil until later down in the review).
![]() |
| Ollie and Ray be like... |
Low Points
- Thought the overall flow was slow this week.
- The Ollicity moments just need to stop. I get it its the CW they need these lovey dovey moments, but it's the Lana/Clark Kent shit that we hated in Smallville reincarnated.
- Flashback scenes continue to disappoint just as much as the Bruins disappointed all of Boston this season.
- Roy leaves to go wherever the wind takes him, and the reason it is a low point is because it makes me sad.
- The breaking Roy out of prison part never happened, was pretty excited for that.
- Deathbolt was lame as hell. Cyclops mixed with General Zod. Ya he was just a filler villain but man what a snore fest he was.
That moment you realize that Roy broke out of prison the same way GOB did.
Verdict: So what was looking like would be another filler episode for Arrow, turned out to be quite entertaining and fun effort. At first I really didn't like Ray in the field, but then I was intrigued when Ollie took the reigns and pep talked Ray on what it means to be a hero. Although Ollie did most of the fighting, Ray proves that he has something to offer the city of Staring when the Arrow is a no show, or incapable of saving the city. Next, as I touched on in the Low Points, what is going on with these flashbacks? Each week they seem to get worse and worse. Nothing makes sense, I am honestly so lost of Ollie's background story because so many different things happen each week. If you guys watch Daredevil, you'll notice the flashbacks tie into the story. It used to happen on this show too, but for some reason not this season. It should be fixed. Ok now to the good stuff. Roy is leaving, and I have to say I thought it was coming. I was freakin out when he "died" only to realize it was all a plan to escape. With Roy leaving what happens to Team Arrow? Is Roy going to go off the rails again, become his own vigilante like the story line in Young Justice? It's just a thought and most likely a fantasy story line. Which leads us to the last 2 minutes of the episode where Thea is struck down by the sword of the Demon's Head. As soon as that happened all of us arrowheads/DC fans thought one thing, Lazurus Pits. Sure enough there is the preview for next week showing Thea wrapped in cloth dipped in the pits. All I could think of was a personal favorite movie of mine Batman: Under the Red Hood. Now Thea will most likely not become Red Hood because then this show should just be called Batman, but we hear Ras mention that being dipped in the pits, bringing people back to life changes them. I think that in the next few weeks to come we will be seeing a completely new side of Thea Queen.
All in all I give tonight's episode a solid 7.5 out of 10!
Sorry Thea, but Jason Todd had it much worse.
Thanks for reading guys. what do you think is next for team Arrow. How will Ollie come back into Starling City as the vigilante? Will Roy ever come back from where ever he is headed? How will the rest of Thea's story play out in the last few weeks? Let us know leave us a comment or tween @Caped_Informers or at me @O_doyleRULES11.
Tune in next week for "The Fallen".
Labels:
Arrow,
arrow season 3,
CW,
DC,
DC comics,
DC TV,
green arrow,
oliver queen,
roy harper,
thea queen
Wednesday, April 1, 2015
Arrow "Public Enemy" Thoughts/Review
From an insane police chase, The Demon's Head appearing again in Starling, to a very interesting ending that will change Team Arrow, its Wednesday and it is time for another review.
Episode Description: During an attack on the mayor's office, Ray is critically injured. Felicity is pleasantly surprised when her mother, Donna Smoak, shows up at the hospital to offer her support. With the SCPD out in full force looking for the assailant, Oliver and his team work hard to stay one step ahead of the police to find the man responsible. However, things come to a head when Ra's al Ghul kidnaps Captain Lance.
High Points
- As far as action in these episodes, I thought tonights was full of it. Every action scene seemed to be perfectly shot and was very entertaining to watch
- Ray Palmer using nano bots to cure him means he must have the technology to have the ATOM suite shrink? I say that's a fair guess.
- Thea back on the Roy Harper D. Giggity Roy, giggity.
- We see the return of Felicity's hot mom. We should see more of her she really, uh spices the show up.
- For once Team Arrow was fully suited up and went into action. More scenes like that, the team action is the best action.
- Ras continues to maintain his death grip on Starling and increasing the pressure on Ollie to take his place.
- The scene between Lance and Ollie in the van after he turns him self in was incredible acting on both parts. Very intense scene between two of my personal favorite characters
- Ollie turning him self in for the sake of saving the rest of team arrow perfectly shows his heroism and why he tool up the mask and bow.....or so we thought
- The ending......
![]() |
| I agree Ollie, Team Arrow needed to suit up together. |
| That moment you realize you may be the best looking guy in prison... |
Low Points
- The scenes with Felicity continue to be the worst part of this show. A once incredible character has taken a very negative plunge week after week.
- Speaking of Felicity, she deny's Ray cold of the I love you. Ray you deserve better bud.
- Although it was very interesting meeting Shadow's twin sister, the flash back scenes didn't really do much for me this week.
- Captain Lance has had some of the worst luck on this show, but threatening his own daughter with jail time at gun point, come on man thats family.
- The CW moments between Ray and Felicity. Heres hoping Ray doesn't fall down that same path Felicity did.
| You gonna deny this Felicity? |
Verdict: After last week's episode which had gotten mixed reviews amongst the informers and I'm sure some of our readers, I believe this week's episode took it to a new level from last week. It started right off the bat with a fully suited up Team Arrow going into battle with the league. This is only after Captain Lance had put the bounty out for the Arrow and his accomplices. Lance's act provided an unbelievable police chase that we havn't seen in this show before. The action during this entire scene set the tone for the episode from Roy's escape tactics to Nyssa showing up and sniping the gun right our of Captain Lance's hands. Just incredible stuff. Now as for Ollie's decision to turn himself in, as I said in the "high points" section, I thought it was the right move. It proves that being a hero is more than just wearing a mask saving people, it's about looking out for the people you care about, and if that means turning him self in he had to do it. These next few sentences are going to provide spoilers so if you haven't watched yet stop reading here. The ending sparked a major controversy and could shake team arrow for a good amount of time. Roy posing as the Arrow to save Ollie. Can honestly say I did not see that coming. He explains to Thea that he wanted to be done, he was excited to go to jail, but I didn't think anything of it. So my question to you the readers is this. What happens now? In the preview for the next episode Roy says "you saved my life once, now I'm saving yours", while in the prison suit. Is that it for Arsenal? I guess only time will tell but I will say no for now.
All in all I give tonight's episode a solid 8.5 out of 10!
Thanks for reading guys. What do you guys think of tonight's episode? Did you agree with both Ollie, and Roy's decisions? Leave a comment and send us a tweet @Caped_Informers or @O_doyleRULES11. Tune in April 15 for "Broken Arrow".
Wednesday, March 25, 2015
Arrow "Suicidal Tendencies" Thoughts/Review
Taking a well deserved honey moon to Kasnia with The Suicide Squad, Diggle and Lyla, run into some trouble in an all new Arrow.
Episode Description: It's celebration time as Diggle and Lyla get married. However, Deadshot interrupts their honeymoon and tells them the Suicide Squad has been given a new mission rescue United States Senator Joseph Cray from a hostage situation in the Republic of Kasnia. Amanda Waller breaks down the mission and introduced them to the newest member of the Suicide Squad, Cupid. Meanwhile, Oliver learns about Ray's new Atom costume and the two have a heated stand-off. Felicity and Ray hit a rough patch.
High Points
Episode Description: It's celebration time as Diggle and Lyla get married. However, Deadshot interrupts their honeymoon and tells them the Suicide Squad has been given a new mission rescue United States Senator Joseph Cray from a hostage situation in the Republic of Kasnia. Amanda Waller breaks down the mission and introduced them to the newest member of the Suicide Squad, Cupid. Meanwhile, Oliver learns about Ray's new Atom costume and the two have a heated stand-off. Felicity and Ray hit a rough patch.
High Points
- "I love weddings, drinks all around"! as Captain Jack would say. Congrats to the newly weds.
- It's always good to see Diggle get some action in an episode. Besides when him and Ollie took on the league, it has been to long since we have seen him in action.
- Suicide Squad is back, and Cupid joins their ranks and I thought she fit in pretty well.
- I really enjoyed the the Ollie 4-way fight with him self.
- The ATOM suit showed us some new abilities that we weren't able to see in last weeks episode.
- The Ollie-Ray face off was pretty cool. Each one now knows where the other stands in terms of saving the city and also Felicity.
- The flash back scenes this week gave us an insight to Dead Shot's background which I thought was pretty interesting.
- To add to the Dead Shot background, we see the mention of HIVE, how he became a bounty hunter, and his first target.
- I thought the plot had a pretty good twist involving the suicide squad and their mission in Kasnia. A senator faking a hostage situation just for a presidential bid.
- Very action packed episode with well balanced drama if you ask me.
- Dead Shot taking a hero's death to save others. He was a true soldier till the end. We applaud your efforts good sir.
- Did the ending reveal something that will shake Team Arrow?!?
"congratulations Dig and Lila"
![]() |
| "We want you to join the Suicide Squad" |
Low Points
- Why did Felicity sound like she was on drugs the entire episode? Speaking slowly almost sounding like she was drunk. Just really don't like how her character has evolved.
- The ATOM suite is still a glorified Iron Man suite. Although Tony Stark would approve, we want to see some shrinking in size some real ATOM suite abilities.
- Although Dead Shot was a villain, it was sad to see him go. He was a great villain and a lot of fun to watch.
- If Diggle ever left Team Arrow, there would be riots in the streets. Im talking burning cars, angry mobs, you know the stuff you see after a Patriots Super Bowl loss at Umass.
![]() |
| "I am Iron Man...ur uh I mean.....ATOM" |
Verdict: Tonight's episode pretty much picked up right off from last week. The League of Assassins are framing The Arrow for murder to have the city turn against him. Also this week we had the Suicide Squad and their next mission. With Waller dispatching the Squad to Kansia, Team Arrow loses Dig to his duties. Although the story line of the squad this week did not have much to do with the underlying story line, we still got to see some awesome action, some characterization of Dead Shot, and also a warriors death (you know who I am talking about). Lets focus now on what the league is doing to Ollie. Along with the entire city being turned against him we see Ray Palmer taking actions into his own hands, and his own plan to take down the Arrow. After an X-Ray (no pun intended) ATOM discovers Ollie is the Arrow and decides to take matters into his own hands. So we get to see our first Arrow v. ATOM show down. Wasn't much of anything. A couple of sonic blasts, and before you knew it it was over. Arrow shuts the suit down and tells Ray he's not a killer, back off, and go to Felicity thus in a nut shell ending Olicity. My question is this, what can we see in the future? The end of the episode left us hanging, Ray and Ollie seem to have an understanding with each other so could we see a future team up? How will this all play out when Ollie is being shunned by the entire city with Ras Ah Gul completely in control? The answers lie within the remaining episodes of season 3.
All in all I give tonight's episode a solid 8 out of 10!
Thanks for reading guys! What do you think is next for Team Arrow? Will Ray and Ollie team up? Were you satisfied with the suicide squad's results? Leave us a comment or tweet us @Caped_Informers or @O_DoyleRULES11.
Tune in next week for episode 18 "Public Enemy"
Labels:
"Arrow,
ATOM,
CW,
DC,
DC TV,
deadshot,
green arrow,
John Diggle,
oliver queen,
ray palmer,
Suicide Squad,
team arrow
Wednesday, March 18, 2015
Arrow "The Offer" Review
Ra's Al Ghul offers up the position of the Demon's Head, while Ray Palmer offers up the promise of steak dinner in an all new Arrow. (SPOILERS!)
High Points
- Thea feels strong guilt for Sara's death. She has really been put through the ringer.
- Nyssa Al Ghul beats on Roy and Laurel in the Arrow Cave.
- Lazarus Pits exist and Ra's has been using them. (Why couldn't this have been revealed by reviving Ollie in one?).
- When Black Canary, Arrow, and Arsenal all team up, I get tingles in my bathing suit area.
- Officer Lance expressed his anger with the Arrow for not telling him about Sara's death and how Laurel has now become the Canary. Paul Blackthrone always does great with this kind of emotional material. Him and Joe West really need to meet up sometime and vent about these damn superhero kids of theirs.
- Ray Palmer is suave as hell. He makes me want to go on a steak dinner with him.
- Ollie got friend-zoned.
- Thea's mid drift is back and better than ever.
- Daddy Diggle always has to play the role of Oliver Queen's psychiatrist. Where would the Team be without him.
- Malcolm tries to be a supportive dad by telling Thea to kill him. #FatherOfTheYear
- Felicity gives one of her old school pump up speeches. #OldSchoolFelicity
- Cops are absolutely useless in the Flarrow universe and its hilarious. #FuckThePolice
- Nyssa saves the day!
- Awesome action set piece at the precinct Laurel, Arsensal, Arrow, and Nyssa kick some mute ass.
- Oliver Queen doesn't dance. "You know I don't dance".
- Ollie rediscovers why he is a hero.
- Laurel and Nyssa are gonna train together. Laurel has become a great character. Her, Nyssa, and Thea have really become #TeamDaddyIssues.
- Thea like anyone would seeks the comfort of Roy Harper.
- Ra's is posing as the Arrow to try to hurt Oliver's reputation.
![]() |
| Decisions ... Decisions |
Low Points
- Boring opening that had Ollie chat with Ra's about shit we already knew.
- Can someone explain how Ollie "defied death"? Was it really just because it was cold.
- What the hell is Ollie talking about when he said "All the guys we put away are back out"? You stopped plenty of people who are still locked up (ex. Slade, Boomerang, Brick).
- Ollie is actually considering Ra's offer just so we can fill up an episode.
- Murmur went out with a whimper. He was a villain who couldn't speak, so it was not surprising he wasn't overly compelling.
![]() |
| Live look at Murmur getting booked at the precinct. |
Verdict: For a month, I have been ranting and raving about how Arrow continues to steal elements from Batman's universe. When Ra's Al Ghul offered Ollie the position as leader of the League of Assassins, I lost my shit. Shouting complaints to anyone who would listen. And then I began posting this picture anyplace that would listen to my tirades.
But as most fanboys do, I think I overreacted. The ending of "The Offer" just sent this story into a direction that I didn't see coming. Instead of Ollie rejecting Ra's offer and the League subsequently launching an attack on Starling, the writers threw us a curveball by having Ra's Al Ghul impersonate the Arrow. It was a cool twist that was reminiscent of a Batman/Ra's storyline. The Demon Head's late nights in the hood will definitely affect the Arrow's reputation in Starling and lead to a much more interesting clash between the League of Assassins and Team Arrow.
As for the rest of the crew this week, many of our favorite characters were left to deal with their daddy issues. Laurel is having trouble with Lance after she repeatedly lied to him. Thea wants to kill her dad, Malcolm. And Nyssa is pissed that her dad would choose an outsider over her to lead the League. Each character sought comfort in someone to talk about their issues which led to the awesome team up of Nyssa and Laurel. This will be huge for Laurel. She can finally receive some hardcore training and be ready to kick ass on the streets just like Sara did. Not to mention it will get Ollie to stop saying she needs more training.
For the villain of the week, Murmur didn't factor in much. He couldn't speak so it's not like he would be able to say anything anyway. Unlike The Flash's Weather Wizard from last night, Murmur made zero impression. Just don't bring this weirdo back.
"The Offer" did not have a final 10 minutes like last night's The Flash, but it did offer a twist of it's own. So by surprising me with their direction, Arrow gets a solid 7.5 out of 10. Who is excited for the return of the Suicide Squad next week?!
Thanks for reading! What do you guys think of Ra's pretending to be the Arrow? Have you ever been friend zoned? Would you get a steak with Ray Palmer? Let us know in the comments or tweet at us @Caped_Informers or me @cstrand73. And make sure to tune in next week for "Suicidal Tendencies".
Labels:
2015,
Arrow,
arrow season 3,
Batman,
black canary,
DC,
DC comics,
diggle,
felicity,
green arrow,
laurel,
league of assassins,
ras al ghul,
roy harper,
steve amell,
Suicide Squad,
the flash,
the offer
Friday, March 13, 2015
DC Core Heroes Are Getting New Costumes
Forget Paris Fashion week, it's DC Fashion week. Last Friday, Supergirl showed off her new duds for her upcoming TV show. And now DC has flexed it's designer muscles again by revealing several costume redesigns for it's core heroes. That's right DC's greatest characters are getting updating after their Convergence event in June. So let's walk these beauties down the runway and decide who is the fairest of them all.
1. Superman/The Man of Steel/Man of Tomorrow
2. Batman/The Dark Knight/The Caped Crusader
Batman isn't brooding in the shadows anymore with this new getup. This big blue machine is much more conspicuous than the classic black cape and grey tights. Bruce has really developed a mechanized suit fetish in the New 52. First he wore one in the "Night of the Owls", then he donned the Hellbat suit on Apoklips, and then most recently at the beginning of "Endgame" he fought the Justice League in his Justicebuster suit. Out of all of those suits I would say this new one is third coolest of the four. The most interesting part about this costume though is the solicit for Scott Snyder and Greg Capullo's 41st issue it says someone other than Bruce is in the batsuit. Just look at recently fired gun in that picture. Bruce is never gonna use a firearm to fight crime. So who is under the cowl? My guess would be Alfred's daughter Julia (just tossing a name out there), but whoever it is better be ready to brawl because you are not gonna be able to be stealthy with long ears that would put Roger Rabbit's to shame. Grade: B
3 + 4. The Flash + Green Arrow / The CW Crew
Green Arrow on the other hand has been hitting the gym. Looking buff, Ollie. And not just that he is growing out his hair making him look like his past counterpart on Arrow. I'm really digging it. Grade: B+
5. Wonder Woman/ The God of War
Ever since the Finchs took over Wonder Woman, I have had little to no interest in keeping up with their current storyline, but these new duds might just change that. Wonder Woman is armoring up in a big way. Switching out that silver trim for gold that really makes it all pop. But mostly I just wanna see Diana impale a dude with those bracelets. Grade: A
Thanks for reading! Are you excited for DC's new costumes Post-Convergence? Who do you think is in the new Batsuit? Let us know in the comments or on twitter @Caped_Informers or @cstrand73. Also be sure to check back regularly for more show/movie reviews and editorials regarding the comic book universe.
Wednesday, February 25, 2015
Arrow "Nanda Parbat" Review!
Ollie and Dig take a field trip to Ras's hide out, Ray Palmer gets laid, and Nyssa Ah Gul attempts to slay another one of the Lance sisters (and I don't mean kill). (SPOILERS!)
Low Points:
Episode Description: Ra's al Ghul captures Malcolm and takes him to Nanda Parbat; Ray obsesses over finishing his Atom suit, but Felicity tries to get him out of the lab to prevent him from going down the wrong path.
High Points:
- Really enjoyed the training scene between Ollie, Thea, and Malcom. It really showed in a quick instant what great fighters the three are. (As if we already didn't know!)
- Welcome back Mr. Palmer!
- Laurel Lance really has done a complete 180 in this show. She is such a better character then she has been in the past. Her burning Ollie was my favorite line of the night.
- Malcom Merlyn took Laurel down with both hands behind his back. Laurel was ballsy to take on someone so well trained.
- The flash back scenes were much better this week.The gun fight took raised the stakes in the past and once again showed how big of a bitch Amanda Waller is.
- Ra's mentions being around in the 1800's again. Thus again confirming the existence of Lazarus Pit.
- Big Daddy Dig and Ollie took on the leagues guards in military-like fashion. I can't remember the last time we saw Dig in action so it was really fun and enjoyable to watch.
- THE ATOM SUIT IS ACTION READY!
- Roy Palmer got laid...
- When Diggle and Ollie get captured, Diggle talks about the war and how soldiers need to keep the "I will be going home mentality". This was a true testament to Dig's character and how he is always the one to show valor and courage when all else seems to fail.
- Boba Fett dolls make up for all wrong doing. Nice gift, Roy!
| Want some ice for that burn, Ollie? |
- Sometimes Arrow goes overboard with the melodramatic then it really should. I get it there are a lot of family matters on this show but this isn't Full House.
- Felicity. I mean my god she gets worse and worse every week. Just showing up ruining peoples day, locking people out of computers. She's like the younger sister that gets mad and goes in your room and fucks everything up. What a poo poo character she has become.
- The conflict between Team Arrow and The League of Assassins could be better. Perhaps a harsher conflict like say Ollie accidentally killed Nyssa, or something like that.
- By offering Ollie the chance to be the next Demon's Head, Arrow is essentially stealing Batman's storyline. Batman was supposed to be the next Ra's Ah Gul. Not Green Arrow. Now it will be interesting to see how this plays out in the Arrow world, but this is a low point because as Christian and I discussed they could have come up with something original and just as cool. This show hurts itself when it tries to become Batman-Lite. Green Arrow is his own character. I'm sure they could have done something differently.
- When the ATOM suit finally turned on, I wanted to see it shrink not fly around. So little has been seen of the suit so I don't want to pass judgements just yet, but I hope the writers don't turn Ray into an Iron Man ripoff.
Watch Arrow at 8pm on Wednesdays on the CW
Verdict: As predicted this week was an improvement. After coming off of a slow episode last week, Arrow needed this one. I feel like tonights episode spoke a huge amount of how tense it is to be on Team Arrow right now. Everyone is angry and upset. In particular, Laurel has a legitimate gripe with Oliver once again because of his lie about who actually killed Sara. She goes on to tell Ollie she can't remember a time she ever loved him. Now if your a man and you hear that from a previous lover/girlfriend, you just bought yourself a first class ticket to the doghouse. In the end though even with all the Malcom Merlyn shit going on, we still see how this team stands for and cares for one another. Especially Diggle. He is the heart of the show. Mostly he has been used as the father figure of Team Arrow this season, which is cool and everything, but tonight we saw the old Dig. The badass American Soldier Dig that everyone has missed. Him and Ollie make such a good duo, and ya they got trapped, but taking down the league isn't the easiest thing in the world to do. (But Felicity is! O, burn!!!!)
Now on to Ray Palmer. Finally he returns to the show and as a bonus we got a taste of his new A.T.O.M suit. Compared to Ollie's night, Ray made out like a bandit. Got a little nookie, then perfected his super suit for a quick test drive. But seriously that character has been missed and it was a great way for him to return.
Lastly this brings me to the ending. Ra's wants Ollie to be his predecessor, and for both Ollie and Dig to walk out of Nana Parbat alive. The question is what will Ollie say? Will there still be a Team Arrow if he says yes? Will we see Lazarus Pit in the near future?!?! Guess we will have to wait and see. The one downside to the storyline though is that is has been done already with Batman. Green Arrow is his own character and should have his own stories to be told with Ra's.
Now on to Ray Palmer. Finally he returns to the show and as a bonus we got a taste of his new A.T.O.M suit. Compared to Ollie's night, Ray made out like a bandit. Got a little nookie, then perfected his super suit for a quick test drive. But seriously that character has been missed and it was a great way for him to return.
Lastly this brings me to the ending. Ra's wants Ollie to be his predecessor, and for both Ollie and Dig to walk out of Nana Parbat alive. The question is what will Ollie say? Will there still be a Team Arrow if he says yes? Will we see Lazarus Pit in the near future?!?! Guess we will have to wait and see. The one downside to the storyline though is that is has been done already with Batman. Green Arrow is his own character and should have his own stories to be told with Ra's.
Anyway I want to give tonights episode a solid 7.5 out of 10! Mostly cause Ray Palmer is awesome.
Ray Palmer's theme song
Thanks for reading! What do you guys think of Ollie becoming the next Demon's Head? Let us know in the comments or tweet at us @Caped_Informers. And make sure to tune in next week for "The Offer".
Wednesday, February 18, 2015
Arrow "The Return" Review
Ollie goes back to his favorite vacation spot while in the past Ollie creepily stalks his family in this week's Arrow. (SPOILERS!)
Did that Robert Queen video remind anyone of this?
Episode Description: Malcolm (John Barrowman) puts Oliver (Stephen Amell) and Thea (Willa Holland) in a dangerous situation that lands them on Lian Yu with Oliver’s former enemy, Deathstroke (guest star Manu Bennett). A flashback reveals when Oliver and Maseo (guest star Karl Yune) returned to Starling City to retrieve the Omega bio weapon, and despite being under strict orders from Amanda Waller (guest star Cynthia Addai-Robinson) not to reveal himself to anyone, Oliver looks in on his family, Laurel (Katie Cassidy) and Tommy (guest star Colin Donnell).
High Points
- I wanna grab a beer with Young Detective Lance.
- I wanna grab a drink with school girl Thea.
- Cool reversal seeing Ollie on the island in Present day and seeing him in Starling City in the past.
- Slade Wilson is on the loose y'all. Thanks Malcolm, you always make everyone's lives suck.
- I wanna grab a drink with young Tommy Merlyn.
- I wanna grab a drink with young Felicity Smoak.
- Throwback FLO RIDA track!
- I wanna grab a drink with young John Diggle.
- I wanna grab several drinks with young Laurel.
- Tommy Merlyn's pick up game is fire. "Have you ever had sushi eaten off of you?"
- Killing a drug dealer is the fastest way to end a bitchin' party.
- Drunk detective Lance is an asshole and I love it.
- Maseo takes a shot at Ollie's season one look. "That look wouldn't work even if you smeared grease paint on your face."
- Ollie's booby traps still work!
- Ollie finally tells Thea that she killed Sara. I feel like every week I'm writing that Ollie finally told somebody something. Dude has more secrets than Ted Bundy.
- The Queens vs. Slade was a pretty awesome fight.
- Ollie viscously punched out China White!
- Thea took the path of the hero by not killing Slade.
- Present day Det. Lance's anger is 100% justified.
- Willa Holland did a great job tonight. Her character is completely different from how she was way back in Season 1.
![]() |
| Slade be like... |
Low Points
- China White's conflict worked well in getting Ollie back into Starling, but overall it was a slow and meaningless conflict.
- Hated how the episode was not dedicated to the Slade Wilson's breakout.
- The flashbacks did little to further the story. All they did was retell stuff that we already knew. (Thea did drugs, Lance was a drunk, Tommy was a perv, ect.)
- That Robert Queen video was unneeded and weirdly prompts Ollie to be a vigilante.
- Captain Boomerang was in the other cell on the island and we never got to see him.
- Slade Wilson took a season to take down last season. It took about 15 minutes to take him down this season.
- We hear about Ra's Al Ghul constantly, but yet have only seen him for about 10 minutes this entire season.
- WHERE THE HELL IS RAY PALMER? Three episodes in a row with no Ray.
- No present day Roy, Diggle, and Felicity also hurt this episode.
Verdict: "The Return" was very much the proper title for tonight's show. Present Day Oliver returned to the island. Long-Haired Ollie returned to Starling City. But why I found the title so fitting was because this episode felt like a return to Season 1. And that's not a compliment. This episode felt like it was from the first half of Arrow's inaugural season, when the villains and flashbacks were lame. In fact most of what we saw in tonight's flashbacks were things we already knew about (Thea did drugs, Lance was a drunk, Tommy was a perf, Laurel wanted to bang Tommy, ect.) . The only new piece of information we got was that Ollie was back in Starling briefly. So my question is why did these flashbacks take up the majority of the hour? They did nothing, but put Ollie right back on a plane to Hong Kong. As for the villains, can someone tell the writers to stop using China White. Her scheme was easily stopped and she didn't even put up a fight. She has never been a compelling antagonist and never will be.
Now for what disappointed me the most this week. "The Return" also marked the return of fan favorite bad guy Slade Wilson (played by the incredible Manu Bennett). Executive Producer Marc Guggenheim had promised that this episode would give closure to Slade and Ollie's arc from Season 2. Now while Slade never breaks his promises, Guggenheim clearly breaks his. Slade was seen tonight for total of 5 minutes in which he got his ass handed to him by the Queens. I would be completely okay with that if he had some sort of closure with Ollie, or maybe he revealed something unknown, but he didn't. Just got his ass beat and casually threatened Felicity. The whole scenario of an escaped Slade just felt like a wasted opportunity. So when Deathstroke does eventually come back to Starling, I hope he gets treated better than he did tonight. Deathstroke deserved better.
On a positive note at least Ollie finally told Thea that she killed Sara. Thus officially ending her relationship with Malcolm Merlyn. She is finally starting to make smart decisions Thea may have started out as a whiny druggy, but has since turned into a hardened badass. Every episode she inches closer and closer to becoming another one of Green Arrow's sidekicks. Seeing her don a costume will be a delight (mostly because it will probably show her always visible mid-drift). And while we are in the business of talking about donning costumes, next week's promo seems to show that Ray Palmer will finally suit up as the Atom. So there is definitely stuff to look forward to this season even though I spent most of this review bitching. I just think Arrow needs to be more like the The Flash by setting up more intruguing possibilities for their future, instead of just breaking down the past that the audience already knows about. So at the end of the day I have to give "The Return" a 6.5 out of 10. Don't worry though Arrow-heads, things are always darkest just before the dawn. With Atom suiting up and Ra's Al Ghul reemerging, I predict a return to form for Arrow next week.
Now for what disappointed me the most this week. "The Return" also marked the return of fan favorite bad guy Slade Wilson (played by the incredible Manu Bennett). Executive Producer Marc Guggenheim had promised that this episode would give closure to Slade and Ollie's arc from Season 2. Now while Slade never breaks his promises, Guggenheim clearly breaks his. Slade was seen tonight for total of 5 minutes in which he got his ass handed to him by the Queens. I would be completely okay with that if he had some sort of closure with Ollie, or maybe he revealed something unknown, but he didn't. Just got his ass beat and casually threatened Felicity. The whole scenario of an escaped Slade just felt like a wasted opportunity. So when Deathstroke does eventually come back to Starling, I hope he gets treated better than he did tonight. Deathstroke deserved better.
On a positive note at least Ollie finally told Thea that she killed Sara. Thus officially ending her relationship with Malcolm Merlyn. She is finally starting to make smart decisions Thea may have started out as a whiny druggy, but has since turned into a hardened badass. Every episode she inches closer and closer to becoming another one of Green Arrow's sidekicks. Seeing her don a costume will be a delight (mostly because it will probably show her always visible mid-drift). And while we are in the business of talking about donning costumes, next week's promo seems to show that Ray Palmer will finally suit up as the Atom. So there is definitely stuff to look forward to this season even though I spent most of this review bitching. I just think Arrow needs to be more like the The Flash by setting up more intruguing possibilities for their future, instead of just breaking down the past that the audience already knows about. So at the end of the day I have to give "The Return" a 6.5 out of 10. Don't worry though Arrow-heads, things are always darkest just before the dawn. With Atom suiting up and Ra's Al Ghul reemerging, I predict a return to form for Arrow next week.
![]() |
| We love you, Manu! |
Thanks for reading! Was I too harsh? Are you excited to see the Atom? Let us know in the comments or on twitter @Caped_Informers. and @cstrand73. Be sure to check back regularly for more show/movie reviews and breaking news/stories regarding the comic book universe. Arrow returns same time next week with "Nanda Parbat" as Ra's Al Ghul returns to the show! It's can't miss TV.
Update!: Robbie Amell posted this pic of him and his cousin Steve on Instagram. Looks like Firestorm is coming over to Arrow!
Update!: Robbie Amell posted this pic of him and his cousin Steve on Instagram. Looks like Firestorm is coming over to Arrow!
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)
























