Showing posts with label netflix. Show all posts
Showing posts with label netflix. Show all posts

Friday, August 18, 2017

The Defenders: Mid-Binge Thoughts

Marvel Netflix's titular The Defenders isn't the grand slam we had all hoped for. It's more like a double that only knocked in a run or two. Here's why:



  • Finn Jones and Danny Rand continues to be uncompelling. This man child chi-user seems out of place from his counterparts. I cannot fathom seeing this version of Danny becoming best friends with Luke Cage. Centering this show's entire premise was not a good idea. 


  • You would think with the episode order cut from the Netflix average of 13 down to just 8 that this team-up would need to pick up its pace in order to tell a cool and action-packed narrative for the first meeting of its heroes, but sadly this is not the case. The main plot moves at a snail's pace with a few dust-ups sprinkled in (Don't worry, the hallways and dark alleyway fights for which we have become accustomed are there). But unlike the current season of Game of Thrones, which also saw it's episodes cut, The Defenders is not using it's short schedule to make all 8 episodes exciting. The series so far just doesn't feel worth it. Maybe this should have a 2 hour Netflix movie instead?

  • To the show's credit, it has delivered some great character moments. With at least a full season of stories devoted to each of the main protagonists (Luke, Matt, Jessica, and Danny), the audience knows these characters pretty well, but seeing them all finally interact with one another is exciting (even if it takes several episodes to finally happen). The side players (Foggy, Colleen, Claire, Misty, Rachel) are delegated to the background but each of them is always a welcome prescene, as is the great Scott Glenn's Stick, who plays an incredibly angry old man just the way Frank Miller intended.

                                       

Overall the show is just solid. So much of our media is thought of as either great or shit. Well guess what there is something called the middle and that is where The Defenders lies. My suggestion: Cut each individual show's episodes down to ten a piece and make the next Defenders a team-up movie. But hey I'm only mid-way through, maybe the second half is great and I'm just a whiny ass. I sure hope so.

P.S. Add in Blade, Punisher, or Ghost Rider to the mix for the next round.


Thursday, March 24, 2016

What I Learned from Daredevil Season 2: Punisher Is God

Jon Bernthal deserves an Emmy. Jon Bernthal deserves his own Netflix series. Jon Bernthal doesn't just deserve one batch or two batches, he fucking deserves all the batches. He deserves the dime not the penny.

Do not watch unless you have finished Daredevil

Those have been just some of the thoughts running through my head while watching Daredevil Season 2. Jon Bernthal's Punisher is an incredible addition to the Marvel Universe. Ever since he was announced as joining the show the general feeling was that Bernthal would bring justice to the character of Punisher, who has a shit go of things in live action (Expect for Tom Jane in Dirty Laundry). He just nailed everything I wanted to see from Frank Castle. The philosophical divide between Punisher + Daredevil is handled beautifully. Frank's solution to crime is to eradicate it by any means necessary. Matt Murdock still believes in the justice system he serves and believes in redemption and second chances. This causes an epic collision of these two characters that makes people in Hell's Kitchen asking what really makes someone a hero. I have so much more to say but I'm gonna save it for my full season review.

What do you guys think of Jon Bernthal's Punisher? What about season 2 of Daredevil in general? Sound off in the comments.

Thomas Jane in Dirty Laundry


Monday, November 23, 2015

Jessica Jones Is Awesome

Forget the movies, Marvel's Netflix series (No Agents of S.H.E.I.L.D. does not countare by far their greatest accomplishment. Daredevil and Jessica Jones are both excellent character pieces told over 13 episodes. Their stakes are considerably smaller than the movies, but the tension feels much greater because these stories are much more personal. Basically I'm just saying I'm halfway through JJ and I know that I prefer these series to those sugar coated fairytales that Marvel puts out twice a year. I'd rather see Daredevil beat the shit out of child traffickers or Jessica Jones and Luke Cage "super-fuck" than to watch (SPOILER FOR INFINITY WAR) Tony Stark braid Thor's hair.




Also Vincent D'Onofrio as the Kingpin and David Tennant as the Purple Man are two of the three best villains in the MCU. The other is Loki. There is no debate.

Are you liking Jessica Jones? Which do you prefer: Marvel TV or Marvel Movies? Sound off in the comments.

A full review of Jessica Jones will be up this week. For all my thoughts on comics, TV, movies, and various other bs follow me on twitter @cstrand73.


Tuesday, July 7, 2015

Elodie Yung Is Electra in Davedevil's Second Season

Hot off the heels of adding Jon Bernthal (Wolf Of Wall Street) as the Punisher, Marvel TV has announced that actress Elodie Yung (GI Joe: Retaliation) will also join the series as Matt Murdoch's ex-girlfriend Electra. The character was briefly mentioned in DD's tenth episode and it sure will be interesting to see how the show introduces both Electra and the Punisher. 

Source: Marvel


This chick ain't fucking around


What do you think of Elodie Yung? Can she be better than Jennifer Garner? Sound off in the comments or tweet at us @Caped_Informers or me @cstrand73. And make sure to tune in for all our TV + movie reviews. as well as our editorials.

P.S. Where the fuck is Bullseye? 

Sunday, April 12, 2015

Daredevil Season 1 (Ep. 7-13) Review

Daredevil and Kingpin are on a collision course to decide the future of Hell's Kitchen in the kickass final seven installments of Daredevil. (Mild Spoilers)


High Points (Ep. 7-13)
  • Stick was an asshole and I loved every second he was on screen. He gave us insight on what drives Matt as well as one kick ass fight scene. With an eventual Defenders team up occurring, Stick looks to factor in on future of the MCU Netflix-verse.
  • Ben Urich became one of my favorite characters on the show. A gumshoe journalist who seeks the truth instead of promoting bullshit. 
  • Flashbacks to Wilson Fisk's past were extremely well done. Learning about what happened with his father was very enlightening. And goddamn Dom from Entourage as Bill Fisk was some of the best casting I have ever seen. Guy just drips a prick vibe.
  • The significance of The Rabbit in a Snowstorm painting was amazing.
  • The later episodes make great use of Matt's Catholicism as both a metaphor for himself and Fisk.
  • Foggy and Matt bumping heads was an interesting conflict. Imagine having to question if anything about your friendship is true? Heavy Stuff.
  • The fight scenes against Nobu and Gladiator were excellent. Matt got hit by a lot of sharp shit. 
  • The first Wilson Fisk vs. Matt was brutal. Fisk is no slouch. Amazing strength comes with his rage.
  • Madame Gau is sure to factor in the other upcoming Netflix series (...Iron Fist!). She reminded me of the magician at the beginning of The Prestige, who pretended to be feeble in order to protect his secrets. Like him, Gau puts on an act. She is tough and very formidable.
  • That Electra reference! I wonder if any of Matt's other former lovers could come out of the woodwork say maybe Black Widow?
  • Karen Page's past will definitely be explored in the future. 
  • Daredevil's new suit is awesome! Armor, but with horns. Absolutely love it.

  • Fisk and Vanessa's romance grew on me. It became integral to the story and how Fisk began to falter.
  • Matt had no love interest and it was fucking great. None of that Olicity bullshit to get in the way of awesome fight sequences and badass dialogue.
  • Matt, Foggy, Karen, and Ben drove the Kingpin to the edge. He was forced to kill off his comrades left and right.
  • The entire finale is epic. Especially the final clash between Daredevil and Kingpin. Showrunner Steven DeKnight excels at finishing stories. Look at his finales for each season of Spartacus. 
  • This season was an origin story that didn't feel like an average origin story. It integrated past and present well.


All that was missing was a little of this!


Low Points (Ep. 7-13)
  • Stick was only in one episode. 
  • Rosario Dawson kinda fell off the map, but she will show up in other Netflix series.
  • Karen's storyline dragged at some points. It was vital, but could have been shortened. 
  • Second Season isn't online right now.


Verdict (Ep. 7-13): Everything I said in my first review still applies. This show is just grand. Amazing acting, writing, cinematography and fights that will make you physically ache like you were in them. I am just running out of amazing stuff to say about it. All I know is that I'm an asshole for giving the first half of the season an 8.5, it should have been a 9.5. That is my cross to bear. But back to what matters, Daredevil is exactly what the MCU needed. A dark character who fights street level crime. A character that lends himself well to long form storytelling. And Daredevil fit both those categories. Marvel has given us action comedies, fantasy films, a 70's political thriller and even a space opera with dancing trees. Now it has given us the gritty crime drama that we, the fans, deserved and the one we needed right now. So for all this amazingness I'm giving the second half of the season a 9.0 out of 10


Best Episode (Ep. 7-13): Episode #13 "Daredevil"

Best Superhero Fight Scene Ever: Hallway brawl in "Cut Man"

Watch it on repeat!!!

Season Average: 8.75 out of 10

Full Season Grade: 9.25 out 10 aka "Let the devil in!"

P.S. If there is a God, he will introduce Frank Castle, The Punisher, in season 2. Along with Bullseye, Electra, and the Hand. Please and thank you!

Thanks for reading! What do you think of Daredevil's 1st season? Who should be introduced in season 2? Let us know in the comments or tweet at us @Caped_Informers or me @cstrand73. And make sure to tune in for our weekly Arrow, Flash reviews.

Friday, April 10, 2015

Daredevil Season 1 Midseason (Ep.1-6) Review

The path to the Defenders begins as Matt Murdoch's journey to becoming the the Man Without Fear is set in motion in the all new Netflix/Marvel show Daredevil. (Very Mild Spoilers)


Episode Description: Matt Murdock opens his law practice while also starting his career as a nightly vigilante.

High Points (Ep 1-6)
  • Excellent performances from the entire cast, Cox in particular.
  • Brutal fights scenes are reminiscent of Spartacus. Every punch that is thrown in this show has consequences. Nobody leaves a fight unscathed. It is the type of bone crushing violence that Frank Miller loves.
  • That hallway fight at the end of the second episode is legendary. 
  • Love how Matt's powers are really secondary to his fighting skills. 
  • Slow burn introduction to Wilson Fisk. 
  • Fisk reminds me of Tony Soprano not because they are two fat mob guys, but rather they both have two sides to them. A family side and the violent monster they can unleash when needed.
  • Speaking again on the level of violence this show is by far the darkest content Marvel Studios has produced. Marvel is showing it has balls.
  • Because this is a show and not a movie, every character gets a chance to stand out. From Foggy to Urich to Fisk each person has had their strong character moments.
  • Flashbacks to Matt's past are utilized quite well (You hear that Arrow?). 
  • Ties to the rest of the MCU are there, but this still feels like a great standalone story in a small corner of the MCU. I love that the stakes are smaller than world conquest but that doesn't make it any less interesting.
  • I would be remiss not to mention I love Rosario Dawson as Night Nurse. 
  • The show makes good use of Murdoch and Nelson as defense attorneys. This led to some great court room scenes.
  • This show makes several choices to distance themselves from 2003's Daredevil and they all work. Especially how they display Matt using his powers.
Showrunner Steven DeKnight knows how to build great fight scenes

Low Points (Ep 1-6)
  • Opening episode is slowly paced
  • I understand showing a different side of the Kingpin (Wilson Fisk) when we first see him, but him courting his future wife from the art gallery are the least interesting scenes on the show.
  • Some early humor falls flat.
  • I wish we got to see Battlin' Murdoch fight Crusher Creel.
  • The show launched at 3:00 am EST. 
Was anyone else waiting to see Battlin' Jack save Fisk from Zed + the gimp?

Verdict (Ep 1-6): Daredevil is exactly what the Marvel cinematic universe needed. Something different, something dark that stand-alones from it's other popular properties. Using Netflix as a platform for it's newest TV show, Marvel has finally allowed for some darker tones mixed with brutal violence. Not every part of the Marvel universe is so chipper and this show cements that fact.
          As a lead Charlie Cox is a star. You will actually believe his Matt Murdoch would go out and be able to handle himself against insane mob fighters. Then when needed he can flip a switch and be an ace in the courtroom. As for his associates Foggy, Karen, and Claire each of them have their moments. I am particular to say that I am a massive Rosario Dawson fan and love that she is on this show. I hope she pops up in Jessica Jones + Luke Cage as well. Just outstanding casting all around.
         Lastly, I just cannot say enough about the fighting on this show. I thought Arrow had great stunt choreography. This show makes that stuff look like it's for pre-schoolers. Each brawl is intense and never ends with only one or two punches. Feels more like a man is fighting another man. No super strength or armor here. Really helps keep the spirit of the Daredevil the comic character alive.
          Truly I made this review short because I want to go back to binging this awesome show. Daredevil is legit and gets an 8.5 out of 10 for it's first 6 episodes. Can't wait to see what the next 7 have in store.

Best Episode So Far: Episode #2 "Cut Man"
          

Thanks for reading! What do you think of Daredevil's 1st season? Who should be introduced in season 2? Let us know in the comments or tweet at us @Caped_Informers or me @cstrand73. And make sure to tune in for our weekly Arrow and Flash reviews.

Wednesday, February 4, 2015

First Trailer For Daredevil TV Show Has Dropped!

Daredevil looks like he is finally gonna get his due. Netflix and Marvel have assigned show runner Steve DeKnight, who made the amazingly violent and sexual Spartacus, to dive head first into the darker part of the Marvel Cinematic Universe. Badass street brawls, blood, and mob figures like the Kingpin are not what we are used to from Marvel projects. So get fucking excited that we are finally seeing something different come April 10th! 


Luke Cage, Jessica Jones, and Iron Fist are all fine characters that deserve a little love, but personally I would rather have a Punisher series or Moon Knight show follow DD. That's just me.

Saturday, October 11, 2014

New "Daredevil" Costume Revealed

New York Comic Con is in full swing this weekend. For the occasion Netflix and Marvel Studios are taking the opportunity to showcase some footage and photos from it's newest series Daredevil due out next year.

During a panel, DD fans were treated to some footage from the show that revealed several new characters such as Ben Ulrich and The Owl. Rosario Dawson's mystery character was also revealed to be Night Nurse, a nurse that helps to treat the wounds of injured superheroes from several different Marvel comics. The footage also contained the first look at Charlie Cox (Boardwalk Empire) in an early iteration of the Daredevil costume. Here it is...

As if he already couldn't see shit
It's not the red and horned version fans expected, but Matt Murdoch has donned a costume very similar to this in comics before. Will be cool to see the costume progress with the show. What do you guys think of the costume? Sound off in the comments and stay up to date on NYCC with the Informers.


Thursday, June 26, 2014

'Daredevil' Casts Elden Henson As Foggy Nelson

Elden Henson (Hunger Games: Mockingjay) will join Netflix's Daredevil as Matt Murdoch's right hand man Foggy Nelson. The Marvel Studios' produced show's cast with the addition of Henson now consists of Charlie Cox, Vincent D'Onofrio, Rosario Dawson, and Henson. Daredevil will shoot this summer and will be available to stream sometime in 2015.

Source: Marvel

In case you were wondering, Elden Henson is indeed the actor who played Fulton Reed in all the Might Ducks movies. Bash Bros!

Friday, June 20, 2014

Netflix's 'Daredevil' Adds Rosario Dawson

Netflix's Daredevil announced today the addition of Rosario Dawson (Sin City: A Dame To Kill For) to it's cast. Dawson's role is currently unspecified, but according to Marvel's Head of Telvision Jeph Loeb (Smallville“Her role in the series is absolutely critical to Matt Murdock’s journey to become the hero we know as Daredevil.” 

Dawson could be playing any number of characters. The most likely suspect in my opinion is Karen Page, Daredevil's longtime girlfriend who is later murdered by Bullseye. Hopefully if I'm right, Bullseye's casting will be right around the corner. Netflix's Daredevil will be available to stream in early 2015.

Source: Marvel




Daredevil Dance Sequence? I think Yes!

Tuesday, June 10, 2014

'Daredevil' Show Casts The Kingpin!

Wilson Fisk is in the house! Variety is reporting that Vincent D'Onofrio (Men in Black) will play The Kingpin in the upcoming Netflix Daredevil. D'Onofrio is no stranger to TV. He was on Law And Order: Criminal Intent for several years. Can't wait to see the big guy battle it out with Charlie Cox's blind hero. I still hope we here casting soon for DD's other big bad Bullseye. Daredevil will begin shooting soon and is expected for streaming on Netflix in 2015.

Source: Variety


Let's hope Marvel provides enough sugar on set.

Tuesday, May 27, 2014

Marvel Casts Their Daredevil Star?!

Latino Review is reporting that Marvel may have casted an actor to play our favorite blind super hero. Could "Stardust" star Charlie Cox be wearing the crimson suit, rockin the double D logo for the Netflix series? At this point it's just a rumor, but other sources seem to think its more truth than rumor. Go on and jump ahead and read the article but these are my thoughts. Never saw Stardust and I've never watched Boardwalk Empire but my fellow informers have said good things about it. As far as Charlie Cox goes, never heard of the guy, or seen him in anything. People seem to like him so maybe it will work out. My personal choice was going to be Michael C. Hall but us beggars can't be choosers now can we? I say give the kid the benefit of the doubt, although I did say the same thing about Zac Efron as well. What do you guys think? Let us know!

Source: Latino Review


UPDATE:

Variety has now confirmed Latino Review's earlier rumor. Charlie Cox will indeed play Matt Murdoch/ Daredevil.  -Christian

Saturday, May 24, 2014

Steven DeKnight Takes Over For Netflix's 'Daredevil'

The Hollywood Reporter has confirmed that Drew Goddard (Cabin in the Woods) has left Marvel's Dardevil Neflix series in order to focus on writing/directing the Sinister Six film for Sony. Seems like Marvel was well aware of the impending departure and they have tapped Steven DeKnight (Spartacus: Blood and Sand) to replace Goddard as show runner. DeKnight has worked on many great TV projects in the past such as Buffy: The Vampire Slayer and Smallville. But my favorite work of his is Spartacus: Blood and Sand. Just hours of gladiator fights, sex, and people spouting "Jupiter's cock!". If Daredevil is anything like Spartacus, the show is in good hands.

Read More: The Hollywood Reporter



Friday, April 25, 2014

Fan Cast Friday! (4/25/14)

Its Friday, Friday, I'm not gonna finish that last part because Rebecca Black is a disgrace, but It is Friday and that means Fan Casts from your favorite informers!

Fan Cast: James Purefoy as The Joker



Why?:
I chose James Purefoy as The Joker. Purefoy has been in a lot of projects such as Solomon Kane, Rome, John Carter, and most recently The Following. Now his role in The Following is the soul reason why I think he would make a great Joker. As we all know, The Joker is a mad man, a psychopath, and just flat out crazy person whose one mission is to destroy everything around him including Batman. James Purefoy's character in The Following is very similar. He plays a psychopath killer with no regard for human life. They share the same resemblance there, but that is not the only reason why. In one of the most recent episodes, he comes face to face with the protagonist of the show and tells him  "you will not kill me and I will not kill you. Why? Because we need each other we make each other feel alive, we push each other to keep going that next step". Now if that's not Joker to Batman talk right there, I don't know what is. Leading up to that scene I always thought Purefoy's acting in this role reminds me a lot of a live action Joker, but now I was sold after watching that scene. So James Purefoy, maybe work on a laugh? Learn to put white make-up on? Keep up the good work and maybe we could see you playing the clown prince of crime one day.

-Brady

Fan Cast: Jensen Ackles as Matt Murdoch/Daredevil




Why?:
For the last 9 years Jensen Ackles has been salting corpses and exorcising demons as the sexy Dean Winchester on CW's Supernatural. Jensen has the athletic build to be able to pull off Daredevil's physique. and the intimidating presence that demands respect in a court room. Hell, for 9 seasons he and Jared Padelecki have basically been doing what Matt and Foggy do, except instead of stopping human evil-doers they stop ghosts. So I think it's finally time for Jensen to take that the leap from demon hunter to superhero. He has been taking baby-steps towards super-heroism for years. Back in 2004, he played Clark Kent's football coach Jason Teague on season 4 of Smallville. Then in 2010, he voiced Jason Todd/Red Hood in the much beloved DCAU film Batman: Under the Red Hood. So now in the year 2014 with a Daredevil Netflix series preparing to cast it's lead role, I ask Jensen to put down the stake and pick a White cane and some sunglasses.
THIS FAN CAST IS DEDICATED TO MY BIG SIS, ANDREA. HAPPY 24TH, YOU OLD BITCH!

-Christian

Tune in every Friday for a new Fan Cast! Who do you think should play the Joker? Who should play Daredevil? 

Wednesday, April 16, 2014

Marvel Studios Has Rights To Kingpin

Marvel Studios does not own the film rights to a few of the comic company's most beloved characters. Sony has the film rights Spider-Man. FOX owns X-Men and the Fantastic Four. Recently though MCU godfather Kevin Feige, in a interview with IGN Movies, confirmed that Marvel Studios does have shared rights to one of Daredevil's greatest foes, The Kingpin. Put one in the plus column for the studio because initially it seemed only Daredevil's rights reverted back to them which left us wondering if Matt Murdoch would do battle with Wilson Fisk on his upcoming Netflix series. Confirming the villain would be a big win for that series. Avi Arad, producer of the Spider-man films, then went on to add that Sony has access to the Kingpin character as well. A joint custody if you will. So maybe if Kingpin does show up in the Spidey-verse he could possibly be the antagonist of the Sinister Six film. Just spouting off a great idea. No big. Daredevil will be shot this summer, so expect casting news soon and Sinister Six is in it's beginning stages of development.



Thursday, March 20, 2014

Patton Oswalt Coming to Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.

Comicbookmovie.com has reported that Patton Oswalt (Ratatouille) will be bringing his comedic style to Clark Gregg's neck of the woods. Oswalt will be playing Agent Eric Koenig. That is all we know. Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. continues to add guest stars to try to improve its ratings. First it was Bill Paxton, then Jamie Alexander, and now Patton Oswalt. I'm not gonna lie in saying that I really don't give a shit. This is a Marvel superhero show without any superheroes. It would be like if DC did an A.R.G.U.S. (DC's ripoff agency) show. I can't wait until Marvel releases its Defenders series on Netflix and I can binge watch Matt Murdock adventures instead of decieding who I want to be killed off first Fitz or Simmons. Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. airs on Tuesdays at 8 pm on ABC.

Read more about it: http://www.comicbookmovie.com/fansites/notyetamovie/news/?a=96463