Showing posts with label gotham. Show all posts
Showing posts with label gotham. Show all posts

Saturday, January 17, 2015

2nd Annual Capey TV Nominations!

The 2nd Annual Capeys:
TV Nominations

As I said yesterday the Capey's are now divided into 3 separate categories: Movies, TV, and Comic Books. Today the boob tube gets it's due. Comic book TV shows have taken over everyone's DVR schedules this year. Whether it's old favorites like Arrow and The Walking Dead or newbies like The Flash and Gotham everyone is watching something comic related. So with so many shows, expect the winners to have fought vicious battles in order to come out the victor. People saying winning a Capey means you have really made it. So get in the spirit of Award season by voting for your favorite show in the comments section or on Twitter. Good luck to all the candidates.


Time to reveal the nominees!
Comic TV Show Of The Year
Arrow (CW)
Gotham (Fox)
The Flash (CW)
Agents Of S.H.E.L.D. (ABC)
Constantine (NBC)
The Walking Dead (AMC)

Best Sci-fi/Fantasy Show
Supernatural (CW)
Game of Thrones (HBO)
Orphan Black (BBC)
Sherlock (BBC)
Black Mirror (BBC)

Best Lead
Oliver Queen/Arrow (Steve Amell)
Barry Allen/The Flash (Grant Gustin)
Phil Coulson (Clark Gregg)
Jim Gordon (Ben Mckenzie)
John Constantine (Matt Ryan)
Rick Grimes (Andrew Lincoln)

Best Supporting
Daryl Dixon (Norman Reedus)
Felicity Smoak (Emily Bett Rickards)
Harrison Wells (Tom Cavanaugh)
Harvey Bullock (Donal Logue)
Skye "Daisy" Johnson (Chloe Bennet)

Best Villain
Oswald Cobblepot/The Penguin (Robin Lord Taylor)
Slade Wilson/Deathstroke (Manu Bennett)
Lenard Snart/Captain Cold (Wentworth Miller)
Those Terminus Pussies
Reverse Flash (Yet To Be Revealed)

Best Episode of 2014
Unthinkable (Arrow)
Man in The Yellow Suit (The Flash)
The Grove (The Walking Dead)
Turn, Turn, Turn (Agents Of S.H.I.E.L.D.)
Flash vs. Arrow (The Flash)

Best Animated Show
Ultimate Spiderman (Disney XD)
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles (Nickelodeon)
Beware the Batman (Cartoon Network)
Teen Titans Go! (Cartoon Network)
Star Wars Rebels (Disney XD)

The Worst of the Worst (The Gotham Award)*
Fish Mooney
Edward Nygma's Terrible Riddles
Destroying The Rogue's Gallery
Barbara Kean's Infidelity/Annoyingness
The Spirit of the Goat (Worst Episode of TV ever)

Most Exciting Future Show
Supergirl (CBS)
Daredevil (Netflix)
Krypton (Syfy)
Titans (TNT)
The Atom (CW)

What Deserves A Show
Moon Knight
Green Lantern
Suicide Squad
Nightwing
The Punisher

The awards will be given out on our podcast later this week. Thanks for reading and congratulations to all the nominees. Tweet at @Caped_Informers or tweet me @cstrand73 to tell us who should win what or sound off in the comments.

*Our apologies if you love Gotham, it's just not our cup of tea. So be prepared for us shitting on it in our podcast. Because truly we have nothing better to do and Gotham sucks.
UPDATE!: As I wrote this Gotham got renewed for it's second season. In short fuck me.

What commonly happens after you win a Capey
This blog is getting sexual and I love it

Wednesday, December 24, 2014

Merry Christmas From The Informers

Happy Holidays from the Caped Informers! Hope it's a good one.


Remember be safe. Wear a condom. Have a DD. And if you do get hammered, don't go to Gotham City.

Monday, October 27, 2014

Gotham "Spirt of The Goat" Review

Harvey reflects back on better days, while Oswald takes a bath on an all new Gotham.


Synopsis: A killer targets Gotham elite’s firstborn children, and the case brings back painful memories for Bullock. Elsewhere, Gordon is forced to deal with the consequences of his past decisions.

High Points
  • Interesting to see Harvey's past
  • Jim Gordon can kick some serious ass
  • They got the Penguin's middle name right
  • Fish Mooney didn't show up
You can cut the sexual tension with a knife


Low Points
  • Couldn't come up with a better name for the killer than The Goat
  • Edward Nygma is nauseating
  • Nevermind he is fucking worse than nauseating
  • I would rather eat my own shit than to watch him on screen
  • Cobblepot's mom is a caricature joke
  • Nice Silence of the Lambs ripoff with the penny
  • Selina breaks into Wayne manor for no apparent reason
  • Umm that Penguin and Mama bath scene...
  • The villain was hypnotism

Verdict: This week Jim and Harvey go after a serial killer that has ties to a case Harvey solved years back. Now this ep. kinda reminded me of last year's episode of Arrow entitled "Broken Dolls" (If you haven't seen it, go watch it, it's great). That being said Arrow did this scenario much better than Gotham. Det. Lance on Arrow had a strong emotional connection to the old killings because the victims were all women in their early 20's and his daughter, who was that age, had recently died. Lance thought that if he could stop this killer (The Dollmaker), it was almost like her could save his daughter. Now on Gotham, Harvey had no real emotional trauma from his old case. In fact the writers could have killed off his old partner (appropriately named Dicks after what kind of bag this show sucks) to give Harvey more of a connection to the case. But there was no emotion. Instead it was an easily solved case (Solved by looking at who took days off from work!) with an easily caught baddie who went by a terrible name (Spirit of the Goat, really?). Yes there was a twist that a random therapist and her hypnotism caused these Goat men to go on killing sprees, but that was laughable explanation  As for other story lines, Edward Nygma's portrayal is irritating and unneeded. We get that he will be The Riddler, but stop having him talking in riddles and start having him be a person. Eddy in the comics has always thought he was the smartest person in any room he stepped into. Show him doing something mildly intelligent. Any asshole can google riddles and say them aloud. On one final note, Oswald couldn't even save this episode. He took a bath with his mom. That's about it. overall I give "Spirit of the Goat" a 3.0 out of 10. This show needs to be better than this because if this is the best Gotham has in store then it's gonna be a long season.


Thanks for reading. What did you think of Gotham's sixth episode? Sound off in the comments. Make sure to check out our reviews every week and follow our live action tweeting of every episode @Caped_Informers and @cstrand73See you next week folks!

Believe it when I say i like Jim Carrey's better
Famous Baths: Penguin shared a bath with mother tonight So I thought we should look back at history's most famous bath. It was of course the time President Taft got his fatass stuck in the presidential tub at the White House. Just think about that anytime you are feeling down. Also Penguin's bath reminded me of Blazing Saddles. "Mother that's not froggy"

Monday, October 20, 2014

Gotham "Viper" Review/Thoughts

Free Drugs! Get your free drugs here! Gotham is overtaken by a new "super" drug. Mild SPOILERS!


Synopsis: Gordon and Bullock search for the source of a new street drug that causes euphoria then death. Meanwhile, Oswald Cobblepot works his way deeper into Maroni’s inner circle and Fish Mooney continues her plot against Falcone.

High Points

  • Bullock likes pickles
  • Bruce is the best detective on the show
  • Bullock and Gordon's interplay still fun
  • Edward Nygma didn't make me puke this week
  • Penguin tells Maroni the truth
  • David Zayas is a great Maroni
  • Penguin compromises Gordon again
You haven't earn the right to call me Mama, Jaden!

Low Points

  • No one questions random guy handing drugs to everyone
  • Viper (Later Venom) leads to milk addiction
  • Low grade special effects
  • Cases are very linear
  • Jada Pinket Smith's overacting has worn its welcome
  • Van Gough wannabe and Super Old Man were shit villains
  • No suspense
  • Awful villain motivation
  • Villains only exists to show Wayne Enterprises sucks
  • Another episode more dead villains to never return
  • Falcone is thinking with his dick
Verdict: Arrow is great. The Flash is great. The Walking Dead is usually fun. But unfortunately Gotham is quickly becoming The Agents Of SHIELD (otherwise known as Agents of SHIT) of DC comics shows. This week the new Fox hit decided to bastardize Bane's favorite drug Venom (I NEED MILK!!!). By having it created by two badly motivated villains who's grand plan was thwarted by simple having people run out of a room. The whole situation just had no suspense and was just plain boring. Five straight weeks of uninteresting cases and undeveloped quickly dead villains. Once again the redeeming part of the ep. was the Penguin. His confession to Maroni and how it subsequently affected Jim was the only exciting event to take place. Otherwise this episode was just a set up to show that Wayne Enterprises is run by shitheads. Huge surprise, since we have yet to find one decent person in the city besides Bruce, Alfred, Jim, and maybe Harvey. Well at least this WE plot thread allows lil' Batman to go on a detective case into his parents' company. Could actually be something worth watching. Unlike Fish Mooney's scheme to trick Falcone to fall in love. I thought this was a mob war not Gossip Girl. I understand Mooney is playing both sides of the coin by banging the Russian dude too, but this fake girlfriend plan is overused on TV. Overall I give "Viper" a 5.0 out of 10. Scarecrow looks to be the villain next week perhaps he can get this show out of it's early growing pains.

Thanks for reading. What did you think of Gotham's fifth episode? Sound off in the comments. Make sure to check out our reviews every week and follow our live action tweeting of every episode @Caped_Informers and @cstrand73See you next week folks!


What did you do to Venom?

Gotham Conspiracy Theory: Is Harvey Bullock actually Bubble Bass from SpongeBob Squarepants? I don't see anyone saying he isn't the Sponge's arch nemesis. Expect the crossover soon. You heard it here first!


Monday, October 13, 2014

Gotham "Arkham" Review/Thoughts

The gang war starts as councilmen are killed off left and right in this week's Gotham. SPOILERS


Synopsis: As a contentious city council vote on the future of the Arkham district approaches, politicians from both sides are in danger. Gordon and Bullock must race to protect the council and an old friend visits Gordon.

High Points

  • The Asylum look cool
  • The gang war starts
  • Bruce Wayne starting to be a detective
  • The Penguin and Gordon's evolving relationship
  • Penguin's promotion
  • Gordon and Bullock's dynamic
  • Ozzy manipulating and killing
  • Arkham will be reopened

Arkham sure is lovely this time of year

Low Points

  • Again slow episode with little tension
  • Edward Nygma sucks
  • "It was just a box of paper clips!"
  • Villain once again a bore
  • Fish Mooney "Chick Fight" scene stolen from The Dark Knight
  • WE GET THE BEST OF BOTH PLANS!


Verdict: This show should really be renamed Penguin because he is the only interesting part of the story. His crawl to the top of the mob world is filled with manipulation and murder. The rest of this show is just filler really. Filler with crappy Batman teases. Sure Arkham Asylum will be reopened but did anyone really feel the Councilman serial killer case was interesting at all? Just another by the numbers investigation that ends in killing the suspect. I enjoy seeing Harvey and Jim's separate philosophies on solving cases go head to head, but otherwise that story arc was just bland. Meanwhile Maroni and Falcone war began in the most boring way possible, fighting over a vote. In the coming weeks I hope the battle for top Don really picks up. As Penguin gets more involved (especially by playing both sides of the coin by working with Gordon) it definitely should. Overall I give the episode a 5.5 out of 10. Ain't good ain't bad.

Thanks for reading. What did you think of Gotham's fourth episode? Sound off in the comments. Make sure to check out our reviews every week and follow our live action tweeting of every episode @Caped_Informers and @cstrand73See you next week folks!


Jim Gordon's Movie Pick of the Week: Jim should really pick up Chasing Amy this week. He seemed uncomfortable with his wife's past lesbian relationship and Kevin Smith's flick would really help Jim figure out his feelings on the situation. Perhaps he could resolve his inner problems the same way Batfleck's character tried to. Bring Barbara and Montoya together and say...


Sunday, October 12, 2014

Leslie Thompkins and Hush Are Coming To "Gotham"

IGN had an exclusive interview with some members of the cast of FOX's Gotham after the show's NYCC panel had ended today. During the interview, the cast members confirmed that doctor Leslie Thompkins will be making an appearance on the show. Audiences should also expect a Tommy "Hush" Elliot easter egg as well. Check out the link below to watch the video.

Source: IGN

Best Friends 4 Eva!

I have been giving Gotham a lot of shit for bringing on too many famous villains on too soon, but I am actually okay with them bringing on Tommy Elliot. Tommy was Bruce's childhood friend who eventually became the bandage baddie Hush. So having Tom as Bruce's childhood bud is okay with me. That is only if Tommy is a kid. If Gotham pulls the same shit with him that they are pulling with Harvey Dent and make Tommy 20 years older than Bruce, I'm out...

In addition to a young Tommy, Leslie Thompkins is perfect for this show because of her ties to a young Bruce Wayne. She has long been recognized as a friend/mentor to the millionaire orphan. 

These two characters coming to the show make sense. Actually when this show was first announced I had hoped that they would be included. Glad to see some actual pieces of Bruce Wayne's childhood will be showcased. #BruceShouldn'tKnowSelina

Make sure to check out Gotham on FOX on Mondays at 8! Then check out our weekly review of the show. See ya tomorrow!

Monday, October 6, 2014

Gotham "The Balloonman" Review/Thoughts

This week in Gotham The Balloonman terrorizes the city's untouchable criminals which leads Jim and Harvey to finally learn how balloons work.


Episode Description: Detectives Gordon and Bullock track down a vigilante who is killing corrupt Gotham citizens by attaching them to weather balloons. Meanwhile, Oswald Cobblepot returns to Gotham and gets a new job close to an influential figure in the underworld.

High Points

  • Jim Gordon vs. Everyone
  • Harvey Bullock getting his ass kicked
  • Barbara and Montoya ;)
  • Penguin's kill streak continues
  • Alfred is growing on me
  • Intro to Sal Maroni
  • The corruption of Gotham runs deep
  • Villain presents interesting moral conflict for Gordon

Low Points

  • Balloonman was ridiculous villain
  • Lameass Bullock interrogations
  • Gordon easily tricked by Selina
  • Fish Mooney is beginning to wear thin
  • Once again overall episode was just boring
  • And once again little tension or excitement
Verdict: This show's heart is in the right place. Jim Gordon's characterization is great and the show continually demonstrates how shitty the city of Gotham is. The problem is so far no bad guy has really been worth investigating for a full episode. Hell, no one in the city even wants these cases solved except for Gordon. The Balloonman was a ridiculously stupid villain. His balloon kills were more hysterical than scary which made this villain of the week a real joke. His only plus side was he that he's a murderous vigilante which presented an interesting moral dilemma for Gordon. On the flip side of the episode, Oswald Cobblepot meeting Maroni was interesting. I'm excited to see what part Ozzy plays in the impending mob war. Overall I give "The Balloonman" a 6.5 out of 10. Well, at least Jim and Harvey learned how balloons work.

Thanks for reading. What did you think of Gotham's third episode? Sound off in the comments. Make sure to check out my reviews every week and follow our live action tweeting of every episode @Caped_Informers and @cstrand73See you next week folks!



Gotham's Weird Fact Of The Week: For some reason all three episodes so far have some weird mention of shoes. First episode had Jim Gordon notice that Mario Pepper owned no shiny shoes. The second had Bullock get told that he had nice shoes. And now in third episode, Oswald kills a bro for his shoes. This leads me to the conclusion that Bruno Heller has a foot fetish. That is all!

Tuesday, September 30, 2014

New Gotham Trailer Reveals Even More Villains

Check out the newest Gotham trailer featuring some sneak peeks of some of Batman's most iconic villains.


Sal Maroni, Professor Pyg, Mr. Zsasz, and even a possible Scarecrow. Jesus man, is any villain gonna be left to fight after this first season? Is season 2 gonna have to be a season long arc against KG Beast because everyone else will have already been used because it's starting to look that way. With rumors of the Joker, Killer Croc and Mr. Freeze also on the horizon this really could be the case.

Poor KG Beast

Personally if I was in charge of plotting this 1st season I would have exclusively focused in on the Wayne's murder and the Falcone-Mooney-Maroni gang war. Have Cobblepot building up his own crew in the background and Nygma doing weird shit at the police headquarters. Then causally use just a few low key villains like Pyg or Zsasz. Not just blow through every Batman villain ever created so early on.

This show was supposed to be about Jim Gordon and not just about following pre-villains before they morph into the future geriatric baddies they will be when they finally fight Batman. Well at least there are no current rumors that Bruce Wayne will befriend a strange girl named Harleen Quinnzel. That will help me sleep at night.



What do you think of the upcoming season of Gotham? Too many villains? Sound off in the comments. And check out our Gotham reviews every Monday.

Monday, September 29, 2014

Gotham "Selina Kyle" Review/Thoughts

This week's Gotham episode titled "Selina Kyle" surprising has very little Selina Kyle to go along with a very "by the numbers" procedural case.


Episode DescriptionDetectives Gordon and Bullock investigate a child trafficking ring preying on Gotham’s street kids, including Selina Kyle (Camren Bicondova). Meanwhile, Penguin (Robin Lord Taylor) resurfaces in the countryside and begins to make his way back to GOTHAM, leaving victims in his wake.

High Points

  • Jim Gordon and Barbara Kean are a solid moral compass
  • Oswald's killing spree is fun
  • Excited to see Mooney's power play against Falcone
  • Professor Pyg?
  • Bullock and Gordon remain an interesting pair

Low Points:

  • Boring "by the numbers" case
  • Absolutely no tension or suspension
  • Lame ass kidnappers
  • Lame shootouts once again
  • Still hate Hardo Alfred
  • David Mazouz's performance was cringe-worthy
  • Unexciting case conclusion
  • Episode titled Selina Kyle has little Selina Kyle
  • Beginning to feel like just another network procedural
Verdict: Gotham's second episode did little to utilize the show's potential. Bullock and Gordon  go on a "by the numbers" no surprises case that gave the audience zero tension and zero connection to any of the kids being kidnapped except Selina. And she only spoke once before being nabbed. Sure McKenzie's Gordon and Logue's Bullock have an interesting working relationship but that main storyline was just a total dud. Thank god for Oswald Cobblepot and dare I say Fish Mooney. Ozzy's killing spree as he makes his way back to the city is a load of fun. While Mooney's future play against Carmine Falcone is the only story line I am actually interested in. So overall I give Gotham's second episode a 5.5 out of 10. Once again this show isn't bad, but it sure as hell isn't good. I hope the impending mob war and perhaps even Prof. Pyg help bolster this frustrating ordinary show.

Thanks for reading. What did you think of Gotham's second episode? Sound off in the comments. Make sure to check out my reviews every week and follow our live action tweeting of every episode @Caped_Informers and @cstrand73See you next week folks!


Gotham Tweet of the Week:  @Caped_Informers "The Dollmaker! How many villains are we gonna see in season 1? Im expecting to see Victor Fries driving an ice cream truck by ep 10 now."


Monday, September 22, 2014

Gotham "Pilot" Review/Thoughts

After months of anticipation and hype Gotham is finally here. Ben Mckenzie steps up to the task of portraying a young Jim Gordon, but this pilot isn't without it's flaws...


Episode Description: Rookie detective James Gordon battles villains and corruption in the premiere of this action-adventure series set in pre-Batman Gotham City.

High Points

  • Jim Gordon does a little bit of detective work
  • Selina Kyle is agile
  • Solid characterization of Carmine Falcone
  • Fish Mooney was interesting
  • Robin Lord Taylor is an intriguing yet different Oswald Cobblepot
  • Donal Logue is a solid Bullock and Mckenzie is a solid Gordon
  • The look of Gotham is beautiful
  • Barbara Kean is pretty :)
  • Gotham City is a shithole like it should be
  • Enjoyed the final 10 minutes

Low Points

  • Overall slow pace
  • Boring action pieces
  • Terrible shootouts
  • Hardo Alfred is a Hardo
  • Ivy Pepper and her family cause volatile body reactions
  • Shoving several classic villains into the pilot
  • Would like more Bruce
  • People already calling Oswald "Penguin"

Verdict: I'm not going to lie, I had low expectations for this show. My heart belongs to the Batman universe and anyone who I believe is attempting to harm it automatically becomes my enemy. Everything I heard about this show going into its premiere made me think that I would detest it. To my surprise that wasn't the case. I didn't hate Gotham, but I sure as hell didn't love it either. The show has a good cast and the potential to be a new take on the tale of the early days of the comic world's most infamous city. Yet this first episode felt very slow. It also felt like a chance to cram every DC villain the general audience knows into one episode. Hopefully this series overcomes pilot syndrome and can turn into a interesting take on the early Batman mythos. Oswald Cobblepot was a standout character for me though. I wanna see more of him climbing the ranks and being a slippery fuck. Overall I give the pilot episode of Gotham a 6 out of 10. This show has potential, lets hope it lives up to it.


Thanks for reading. What did you think of Gotham's premiere episode? Sound off in the comments. Make sure to check out my reviews every week and follow our live action tweeting of every episode @Caped_Informers and @cstrand73.

Thursday, September 11, 2014

Teen Titans Live Action Show Could Be Coming To TNT

DC is taking over TV. The comics company already has two shows on CW in Arrow and Flash and the highly anticipated Gotham is set to debut on Fox this month. Hell even the mystical side of the DC universe will be explored in Constantine on NBC. Now Deadline is reporting that TNT is developing a Teen Titans show called Titians with Dick Grayson/Nightwing as its lead. The site says "Titans revolves around the eponymous group of young Super Heroes-to-be from the DC Universe. The action series centers on Dick Grayson (probably best known for his alter ego as Robin), who emerges from the shadow of Batman to become Nightwing, the leader of a fearless band of new Super Heroes including Starfire, Raven and many others." Writer Akiva Goldsman (Batman and Robin) has written the pilot along with Marc Haimes (The Last Word). The project is expected to be green light for a pilot order soon. 

Sources: Deadline
                ComicBookMovie
                Variety


Now I've been clamoring for Dick Grayson/Nightwing on Arrow or in a DC movie for some time now. Never anticipated he would first appear on a Teen Titians show. Always thought it could work better as a movie, but I am willing to give this show a chance only because Dick is the lead. 

But God as my witness if this TNT crap doesn't allow for Dick to enter the DC Cinematic Universe in some capacity there will be hell to pay. I need to see Nightwing and Batman team up on the big screen before I die. Especially after what Chris O'donnell did to the character in the 90's. Who wrote those films by the way? O that's right, Akiva Goldsman. Glad this show is in good hands! Goldsman partnered together with a TV Budget is a match made in heaven. Most likely there will not be enough money for CGI for Beast Boy or Cyborg. And if there is any CGI it will probably water down both Starfire and Raven's powers. But then again TNT knows drama so I have the upmost confidence.

Saturday, July 26, 2014

Season 3 Trailer For 'Arrow'

Yesterday at SDCC, CW's Arrow released the first look of it's third season. First looks at Roy as Arsenal, Brandon Routh as Ray Palmer, and scariest off all a pissed off John Diggle.


Identity seems to be the main theme this of this clip. Can Ollie be both the Arrow and lead a normal life? October cannot come soon enough.

In other Arrow news, Batgirl may be coming to Starling. Well maybe just Barbara Gordon, but a guy can dream can't he? This rumor comes in hot by way of a DC tweet claiming that some episodes this year will have flashbacks specifically focused on Felicity's origin story. Most Arrow viewers should know that Ollie's right hand woman is a graduate of MIT and that is where these flashbacks are to take place. Barbara Gordon also went to MIT. Coincidence? I think not. Because this rumor got really interesting when DC added that one of the episodes will be titled Oracle, Barbara Gordon's codename after she was confined to a wheelchair. So will we see Babs? Maybe its no guarantee. The guys who write Arrow are huge comic fans and love references. The episode title Oracle could just be a nod to how Felicity plays a similar role to Ollie like Babs did to Bats. 


Tuesday, July 22, 2014

DC TV Updates For 'Flash', 'Arrow' and 'Gotham'

Hey everybody! Sorry for the hiatus. I just took the last week for a little R+R, but now I'm back and more dedicated than ever. Let's talk some DC TV.

Wentworth Miller Cast as Captain Cold

Last Friday TV Guide tweeted that Prison Break actor Wentworth Miller will portray the ice villain and leader of the Rogues on Flash. The character will be first introduced in episode 4.


Miller is a great cast for Leonard Snart. He fits the new 52 look of the character which is the direction I believe the show should take. Ice Powers > Ice Gun every time. With Cold being added there is only a matter of time before this show brings in the rest of the Rogues. Can't wait.

Arrow and Flash Will Have a Two Hour Crossover!

TV Guide also nabbed another a big DC TV scoop this week from an interview with Flash and Arrow producer Andrew Kreisberg. He revealed that both shows will have a crossover event that will take place across each of the show's 8th episodes. The producer also mentioned that everybody's favorite Arrow character, Felicity Smoak, will be making a stop in Central City in Flash's 4th episode.


These shows exist in the same universe so a crossover was inevitable. Thats not meant to say that I'm not excited for it though. It's going to be cool seeing Ollie team up with super powered Barry. The dynamic between the characters will be much different than Barry's Arrow guest stint considering they are both superheroes now. Bring on the mash up.  

By the way the most exciting question about this crossover is who's the bad guy causing this little team up? Could it be the Rogues first assembling? Or maybe Deathstroke breaks free? Or could Gorilla Grodd bringing his own brand of whoop ass to Central City? (I'm still riding on an Ape-high because of Dawn of the Planet of the Apes) Well whoever it is must be tough to catch the attention of both our CW heroes.



Geoff Johns Confirms DC TV and Movies Are Not Connected

DC Entertainment Chief Geoff Johns had a recent interview with IGN Movies where he revealed that the DC Movie and TV universes are not connected. Johns said "You'll see a lot of DC universe characters [on The Flash and Arrow]. You won't see Batman or Superman. We're on production on Batman V Superman now. So you'll see characters like The Atom or Firestorm, but no not Batman or Superman right now [on TV]." That makes sense, but Smallville aired when Superman Return was released, so why not?... It's a separate universe than film so that the filmmakers can tell the story that's best for film. While we explore something different in a different corner of the DC universe. We will not be integrating the film and television universes."


We live in a world today where everybody expects every comic related media to be connected. Marvel Studios has revolutionized the genre by weaving a larger tale with their interconnected films. Last year the studio attempted to integrate TV into it's MCU cannon by adding Agents of S.H.E.I.L.D. Now that show blows. Like seriously sucks ass. And while I believe that Marvel's Netflix series will fair much better, I think AOS proved that making your TV show connected to your movie universe is not always a good thing. 

Yes having a Movie Flash and a TV Flash will not please everyone. But I actually like what Johns said about having the universes separate allow the writers to explore different characters in the TV corner of the DC Universe. I mean let's face it, not every comic character is going to be brought to film. The Flash and Green Arrow might get film adaptions yet characters like Firestorm, The Atom, and Katana probably never will. So having heroes like Flash and GA on TV allows for these more obscure DC characters to make it into the limelight. And if the two heroes are played by different actors and make it into film, then they can deal with their fellow Justice Leaguers. I think it just means more stories being told about our favorite characters. So its not the end of the world that Ben Affleck will not be taking selfies with Colton Hayes anytime soon.

Gotham show runner Bruno Heller Dishes on Batman Prequel

Bruno Heller (The Mentalist) has been talking non-stop about his new show Gotham. Heller told IGN Movies about the potential Joker appearances, Poison Ivy's name change, the inclusion of Hugo Strange, an older Harvey Dent, and Arkham Asylum all in season one.


An older Harvey Dent and Hugo Strange. Great two more villains for this show to ruin. Let's go through which foes have been confirmed for this show. Penguin, Catwoman, Riddler, Poison Ivy, Hugo Strange, Two Face, Joker, Scarecrow and some have even rumored Mr. Freeze will make an appearance. That's 9 of Batman's top baddies and they have only shot the pilot. Are gonna introduce fucking Clayface and Professor Pyg this season too? If the writers did they would probably rename them Swine Bacon and Johnny Mud. (The name Ivy Pepper still makes me fucking puke.)  Seriously though I thought this show was about Jim Gordon and the GCPD. Gordon's past now only really seems like a vehicle for these horrendous villain backstories that no one wants to see. The season is supposed to consist 16 episodes, but I starting to think that is 15 episodes to many. Bury this shit before it starts to tarnish Batman's legacy.


Sources: IGN Movies
               TV Guide

That's all the recent DC TV news, but make sure to follow us on Twitter @Caped_Informers or follow me @cstrand73 to keep up on all your comic related news. Thanks for reading.

Monday, July 14, 2014

New 'Gotham' Trailer and Poster

As SDCC approaches Fox has been revving up their media campaign for their Batman prequel series Gotham. As I have stated before I want this show to succeed, but everything that has come out from the pilot episode so far has made me skittish. Check out the new trailer and poster and tell us what you think.


Forget it! I just can't. 2 minutes from an episode and I have seen enough. Fuck this show. "Well aren't you a cool glass of milk" and "If I want riddles I'll read the funny pages." Are you shitting me? Where is the Bruno Heller who wrote Rome? Not the hack who is writing lines that make Arnold's Mr. Freeze quotes seem Shakespearean.


Now for the poster. Maybe this will help my better my expectations.


Nope! Ivy Pepper and Fish Mooney. Who is coming up with these names? Was Pamela Isley too real of a name for them? And on second thought why is she even on the show? How many villains are in this damn pilot episode?

Fox will be airing the pilot for Gotham at SDCC in two weeks and the show will airing episodes on Mondays starting in September. I can't wait...

Source: Batman-News

Sunday, July 6, 2014

'Gotham' Adds Kyle Massey For Guest Role

In a move that should surprise no one, TV Line reports that Fox's Gotham has cast the much sought after thespian Kyle Massey (That's So Raven) in a guest role for it's inaugural season. Massey will play a neglected and abused street kid named Macky. Could he be a new playmate for Selina Kyle or Fish Mooney? Or could Gordon nab him while pulling a B&E? We will find out when Gotham airs in the Fall.

Source: TV Line

Hopefully Cory and the Boys can make an appearance as well. Gotham could use some love.

Wednesday, July 2, 2014

Carol Kane Cast As Penguin's Mom on 'Gotham'

Carol Kane (Taxi) has joined the cast of Fox's Gotham as Oswald Cobblepot's Mom, Gertrud Kapelput. TVLine broke the news earlier today and was also able to grab a brief character overview, Gertrud will be a "proud and faded beauty with delusions of grandeur." Kane will be working closely with Robin Lord Taylor to bring the Cobblepots to life.

Listen, I have given this show a lot of shit. Most of it is unjustified since it has yet to air an episode. The pilot will air at SDCC in a few weeks and we as fans will hear the first reactions soon. I really am hoping this shows turns out well. I am a Batman fan through and through. What irks me though is from what I have heard about this show, it is very much like the usual cop bullshit on TV today. I just don't want to watch them destroy an iconic Batman villain every week with some crappy cop drama. Every week a fucking goose chase to find out pre-supervillain assholes like Waylon Jones (Killer Croc) were stealing Snickers bars from 7-11's to feed their drunk parents or some shit.

Source: TV Line


Does that mean Pee Wee Herman is no longer his Dad?

Saturday, May 10, 2014

FOX Releases First Poster for Gotham

Alfred's hand placement is aggressive as fuck.


The idea of Fish Mooney angers me. This unneeded show is going to use every goddamn Batman super villain in the first episode, but they refuse to use any actual Gotham mob rulers like Carmine Falcone or Sal Maroni. Jada Pinkett Smith could have been Sofia Gigante, Falcone's daughter who became mob leader after his death, for fuck's sake. Now she is signed up for one season to be a pawn for Penguin to fuck over. Not too compelling. Plus can't wait to see Jack Napier telling shitty jokes on stage at a gangster club. Going to be glorious. This show is shaping up to be the Agents of SHIELD for DC. A super hero show that has no superheroes and just name drops for ratings. 

Thursday, May 8, 2014

'Flash' has Officially Been Picked Up by CW

IGN reports that the CW has officially ordered the new Flash pilot to series. Grant Gustin (Glee) had already been introduced as Barry Allen from a two episode arc on Arrow late last year and since had shot a pilot episode as Flash. CW ordering the series today finally confirms this show is happening. I hope to see more Arrow/Flash crossovers in the future. It's will be cool to have a DC Universe on TV. Especially if Gotham is not included! Flash will begin airing in October.

Read more: IGN