Showing posts with label Marvel comics. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Marvel comics. Show all posts

Wednesday, May 4, 2016

Rewatch Review: Captain America The First Avenger

In anticipation of Captain America: Civil War I decided to go back and rewatch some old Marvel Cinematic Universe movies to see how they hold up. Leading off this parade through the MCU is Joe Johntson's 2011 Captain America: The First Avenger.




Captain America: The First Avenger is the one MCU movie that I didn't get to see in the theater. In fact I didn't watch it until after I saw Joss Whedon's The Avengers in 2012. My college friends and I were so jazzed up about Marvel after watching The Avengers that we started talking about all the solo movies that came before it. What we quickly discovered though was that none of us had seen Captain America: The First Avenger. So without much hesitation I loaded the movie up my TV and we were off. 

Now I'm gonna tell you the truth. The first time I watched this movie I didn't like it. In fact all of my friends and I spent the majority of this film shitting on it. Now in retrospect that is probably because all of us had just seen The Avengers and we looking forward to this film being akin to that. 

In the 4 years that have passed since my first viewing I have seen (and loved) this movie's  sequel Captain America: The Winter Soldier and enjoyed another great Cap outing in Avengers: Age of Ultron. I have also read some Captain America comics and grown more fond of the character every time I've see him. In fact he is my favorite character on Marvel Studios roster now and I'm riding the #TeamCap train right into my Civil War screening tomorrow. So I think the combination of tempered expectations and more fondness of the character lead me to enjoying this movie a lot more in my second viewing. The first time I watched it I would have given it a D. Here is what I thought about it this time.

My Thoughts


  • The movie is very much a character piece. It is fully focused on showing it's audience how Steve Rogers is a great guy and hero at heart. Overall it's a great intro to the character.
  • Most of the action beats are solid though out, but full use of Caps fighting abilities (like kicking fuckers off boats and using his shield to take down a helicopter) are better showcased in The Winter Solider. This movie seems to be really focused on telling us that Cap can run fast and jump high. Now if this was a movie about how a shrimpy dude used a super soldier program to cheat his way into the Olympics then I would be fine with it. The problem is that this is a superhero flick and not The Ringer.
Watch Cap run and jump through the streets
  • A criticism for the MCU as a whole has been that there are no good villains besides Loki. Red Skull continues that trend by being the very one note evil German guy. In his defense though his makeup looks amazing.
  • Thorin Oakensheild, Margery Tyrell, and Damien Darhk are in this? That's cool. Also did anyone notice both of the announcers from the Hunger Games are competing German scientists? Coincidence I think not!
Hyrdra?



  • Most of this movie is great set up. Setting up Cap for the Avengers. Setting up Zola for his return in The Winter Soldier. Setting up Hydra and their utter awesomeness (I do not like Nazis I just like saying Hail Hydra!). Through all this set up is one crucial mistake. That is the mishandling of Bucky's death. He falls off a train and is never talked about again.They Han Soloed him. It was like in The Force Awakens how Leia hugged Rey and not Chewie. There is never a moment of Steve morning or saying anything about his best friend for the rest of the movie. Because Bucky's death was so unmemorable, The Winter Soldier has to drill what happened into the viewers head over and over for it's big twist to work.
  • The movie is poorly paced. So much exposition in the beginning then the end feels like a clip show of action moments. Don't get me wrong I liked a lot of the action and a lot of the exposition, it just felt like they were clustered together at the beginning and at the end.
  • I totally forgot about Cap's budding movie career. The old movie within a movie. 
Final Grade: Overall Captain America: The First Avenger is more enjoyable than I remember. It has great character moments and does a good job introducing the Captain we all know and love.
I'm giving my rewatch of CA:TFA a B-


What do you think of Captain America: The first Avenger? Was there to much running and not enough punching? Sound of in the comments and make sure to follow me @cstrand73 on Twitter for all my takes on superhero stuff.

Cannot wait for tomorrow 

Thursday, March 24, 2016

What I Learned from Daredevil Season 2: Punisher Is God

Jon Bernthal deserves an Emmy. Jon Bernthal deserves his own Netflix series. Jon Bernthal doesn't just deserve one batch or two batches, he fucking deserves all the batches. He deserves the dime not the penny.

Do not watch unless you have finished Daredevil

Those have been just some of the thoughts running through my head while watching Daredevil Season 2. Jon Bernthal's Punisher is an incredible addition to the Marvel Universe. Ever since he was announced as joining the show the general feeling was that Bernthal would bring justice to the character of Punisher, who has a shit go of things in live action (Expect for Tom Jane in Dirty Laundry). He just nailed everything I wanted to see from Frank Castle. The philosophical divide between Punisher + Daredevil is handled beautifully. Frank's solution to crime is to eradicate it by any means necessary. Matt Murdock still believes in the justice system he serves and believes in redemption and second chances. This causes an epic collision of these two characters that makes people in Hell's Kitchen asking what really makes someone a hero. I have so much more to say but I'm gonna save it for my full season review.

What do you guys think of Jon Bernthal's Punisher? What about season 2 of Daredevil in general? Sound off in the comments.

Thomas Jane in Dirty Laundry


Thursday, August 6, 2015

Deadpool's Trailer is Here and It's Spectacular!

Check out the Merc With The Mouth work his magic in the first trailer for his feature length movie!


Goddamn beautiful! This movie is using it's R-rating to the fullest. This isn't your average mainstream superhero flick. It's a hard R action comedy with some crazy athletic sex scenes. Can't wait. Deadpool hits theaters in Feb. 2016.

Are you excited for Deadpool? Let us know in the comments or tweet at us @Caped_Informers or me @cstrand73. And make sure to tune in for our weekly Arrow, Flash, and Daredevil reviews.

Tuesday, July 7, 2015

Elodie Yung Is Electra in Davedevil's Second Season

Hot off the heels of adding Jon Bernthal (Wolf Of Wall Street) as the Punisher, Marvel TV has announced that actress Elodie Yung (GI Joe: Retaliation) will also join the series as Matt Murdoch's ex-girlfriend Electra. The character was briefly mentioned in DD's tenth episode and it sure will be interesting to see how the show introduces both Electra and the Punisher. 

Source: Marvel


This chick ain't fucking around


What do you think of Elodie Yung? Can she be better than Jennifer Garner? Sound off in the comments or tweet at us @Caped_Informers or me @cstrand73. And make sure to tune in for all our TV + movie reviews. as well as our editorials.

P.S. Where the fuck is Bullseye? 

Wednesday, June 24, 2015

Tom Holland Is The New Spiderman

After looking through every teenaged actor who had a headshot, Marvel Studios + Sony finally decided to go with Tom Hollland (The Impossible) for their new take on the Webslinger. Holland will make his first appearance in Captain America: Civil War then jump to his own solo film in 2017 that will be directed by indie director Jon Watts (Cop Car). 

So we got a couple of real unknowns leading the Spiderman franchise. I hope Jon Watts' has a real kick ass vision for a 3rd set of Spidey films. If you wanna check out 6 things that I think the new Spirderman needs to do click right here.


What do you think of the new Spidey? Did you want Miles Morales? Sound off in the comments or tweet us @Caped_Informers or me @cstrand73. 

Thursday, June 11, 2015

Chiwetel Ejiofor Will Play Doctor Strange Villain Baron Mordo

Doctor Strange has found it's bad guy in the form of Chiwetel Ejiofor. The 12 Years A Slave actor will be suiting up to play evil sorcerer Baron Mordo. He joins an already impressive cast that includes Tilda Swinton (Snowpiecer) and of course Benedict Cumberbatch (Sherlock) as the titular hero.

Source: Deadline




Ejiofor is a great actor and has played villainous parts before. Check out either Four Brothers or Serenity. He will be a great baddie. 
          I hope we see Baron's past that includes him attempting to kill Dr. Strange's mentor, the Ancient One. And if we do see that maybe Baron can help set up his bestie Dormammuu as the villain of the sequel. That would be badass. Doctor Strange hits theaters in November of 2016.

Thanks for reading! Are you a Chiwetel Ejiofor fan? Are you excited for more magic in the MCU? Let us know in the comments and make sure to check out all our articles and reviews about comic book movies.

Wait Baron Mordo? That means... #SpidermanConfirmed!

Tuesday, June 9, 2015

Jon Bernthal Will Be The Punisher in Daredevil's Second Season

Chocolate + Peanut Butter. Corey + Topanga. Oreos and Milk (Also try it with American Cheese. Sounds gross, tastes awesome). These are all classic pairings that work perfectly together. Well be ready to add another pairing to that list because Marvel has just knocked it out of the park with it's latest casting decision for it's next season of it's Netflix hit Daredevil
          Way back in April, at the end of my review for the second half of Daredevil's first season I made a plea for Frank Castle/The Punisher to appear in next year's series of episodes. Wasn't sure it was actually gonna happen. Low and behold Marvel not only brings in Frank Castle for Matt Murdoch's second rodeo, but they also cast the perfect actor imaginable to play the hardened vigilante, Jon Bernthal. That's right. Shane, the world's most loyal best friend, from The Walking Dead is going to roam the streets of Hell's Kitchen looking for trouble. Now that is damn exciting. Bernthal is a damn fine actor and is sure to own this role.

Source: Marvel


So what will Frank Castle's role in the series be? Perhaps he'll be a comrade for Matt to help further each other on their vigilante crusades? Maybe he'll be a client for Nelson + Murdoch to defend? Or maybe he could be a straight up villain? All of those are certainly possible  but what I think is going to happen is that Frank + Matt are going to have a conflict of ideologies. Throughout Season 1, Matt tried to not cross a line into killing bad people. There is no line for Frank Castle. He won't just beat the shit out of the bunch of dudes in a hallway. He'll beat them then put a slug through their fucking skulls. Frank isn't fucking around and if he is leaving a trail of bodies, Daredevil is sure to try follow the corpses to the source. If these two duke it out, expect a fight for the ages.

P.S. Now cast Bullseye! 

Everyone's reaction to this news
Thanks for reading! Are you excited for Bernthal's Punisher? Will he and Daredevil butt heads? Let us know in the comments or tweet at us @Caped_Informers or me @cstrand73. And make sure to tune in for all our TV + movie reviews. 

Friday, May 1, 2015

Reranking The Marvel Cinematic Universe!

Marvel Studios has released 11 comic blockbusters since 2008. Iron Man kicked off their interconnected universe with a bang and comic book movies have never been the same since. So now that Marvel's biggest sequel yet Avengers: Age Of Ultron is tearing up theaters, the Informers decided to rank all 11 of the studios interconnected films. Let's get it going.

11. Iron Man 3 (2013)



Total garbage. The first Phase 2 movie takes Iron Man's greatest foe and turns him into a joke while placing Tony outside of his suit 98% of the run time. Shane Black and Drew Pearce successfully took Jon Faveru's Iron Man saga and turned it into shit.

10. Thor: The Dark World (2013)


2013 was not a good year for Marvel. After the debacle that is Iron Man 3, Thor got his sequel later in the year that wasn't that impressive. At this point if Loki wasn't in this franchise would anyone care? Malekith was absolutely forgettable along with Thor's crew of human sidekicks. Natalie Portman is really just picking up paychecks in these movies as Jane Foster. Less of her and more Lady Sif and the Warrior's Three for Thor Ragnorak, please.

9. Iron Man 2 (2010)


Love Mickey Rourke. Love Sam Rockwell. Just not in this movie. Neither villain really stands out or has an interesting plan. One could say the real villain could really be Tony's alcoholism. But despite all it's faults, RDJ and the addition of Don Cheadle as War Machine elevate this mediocre film to a decent one.

8. Thor (2011)


Not much to say here. Just an okay movie with some solid humor that helps set up the character for The Avengers. The Frost Giant battle is fun, but everything else comes off as alright.

7. The Incredible Hulk (2008)


Abomination vs. The Hulk is the main reason I placed this film at number seven. Ed Norton makes for a convincing Banner/Hulk while on the other hand Liv Tyler is a pretty crappy Betty Ross. Mark Ruffalo has done a commendable job picking up Banner from Norton left off, but after seeing Norton put on an acting clinic in Birdman recently, I would have loved to see what he would have done with the character had he continued to portray the Green Goliath.

6. Captain America: The First Avenger (2011)


An interesting period piece about Steve Rogers and his transformation into this universe's first superhero Captain America. Loved the WW2 setting and Steve's motivations. What I didn't care for was a slow story that had a difficult time showing off Cap's abilities. If you used this film as a point of reference for Cap's superpowers you would have to assume his own ability is super leaping. He used his amazing shield the least in his opening appearance.

5. Avengers: Age of Ultron (2015)


Earth's Mightiest Heroes reunite for a second go around. This time against the evil AI Ultron. The same humor and action you loved from the first Avengers is here. Seriously they could make 20 movies just like this and I would love them all. In the MCU, I think there are 3 tiers in the hierarchy of the MCU. Those are Average, Good, and Great. I would say #11-9 are average, #8-6 are good, and here at #5 the great films begin. Which makes it hard to put this great film all the way down at 5, but with so many awesome films compromises needed to be made.

4. Iron Man (2008)


Single handedly kickstarted the Marvel Cinematic Universe and rejuvenated RDJ's career all at once. Iron Man is one of the most important superhero films of all time. Aided by RDJ's charm and Jon Farveru's slick visuals this movie presents an interesting origin for Tony Stark while creating a world that has allowed for all these incredible superhero films to exist. Also ACDC!

3. The Avengers (2012)


The Avengers is the first ever giant superhero team-up on film. The final 45 minute battle alone could secure it a high spot on this list, but The Avengers has more going for it besides it's action. Joss Whedon expertly weaves in the each team members' different dynamics as the team forms to take down the villainous Loki (played by the great Tom Hiddleston). Solid performances across the board and hilarious moments make this movie a must for a superhero fans.

2. Guardians Of The Galaxy (2014)


When this film was initially announced, the general consensus was that this film would be Marvel's first real flop. Introducing five relatively unknown characters that include the likes of a talking raccoon and a tree sounded like a major risk at the time. Well, James Gunn proved all those people wrong and these five "losers" won the 2014 summer box office. GOTG is packed with humor + heart that just fit it's tone completely. Not to mention the best soundtrack in ages. Also Chris Pratt is the greatest.

1. Captain America: The Winter Soldier (2014)


Perfection. This film is an excellent adaption of a classic Captain America storyline that is great at infusing both drama and comedy. Directors the Russo brothers understand the Cap Universe and utilize the additions of Falcon as a sidekick, The Winter Soldier as an adversary, and Black Widow as Cap's moral foil propel this sequel way past it's predecessor. Best Marvel film period. Hail Hydra!



Thanks for reading! What's your favorite Marvel film? Which future movie are you most excited for? Let us know in the comments or tweet at us @Caped_Informers or me @cstrand73. And make sure to tune in for our weekly Arrow, Flash, and Daredevil reviews. You can also read my original rankings from August by clicking here.


P.S. These movies are dope and all, but Daredevil is the best thing Marvel has ever put out!

Avengers: Age Of Ultron Review

Earth's Mightiest Heroes are back on the big screen! Here is my review of the team's second outing with very mild spoilers


Description: Avengers: Age of Ultron, the epic follow-up to the biggest Super Hero movie of all time. When Tony Stark tries to jumpstart a dormant peacekeeping program, things go awry and Earth’s Mightiest Heroes, including Iron Man, Captain America, Thor, The Incredible Hulk, Black Widow and Hawkeye, are put to the ultimate test as the fate of the planet hangs in the balance. As the villainous Ultron emerges, it is up to The Avengers to stop him from enacting his terrible plans, and soon uneasy alliances and unexpected action pave the way for an epic and unique global adventure.

High Points:

  • Excellent opening sequence. Very cool to see the team fully formed and going on raids together.
  • Hail Hydra! Everyone's favorite evil organization shows up just in time to get it's ass kicked.
  • Captain America is my favorite Avenger. Joss Whedon finds about 150 new ways to use Cap's shield in battle this time around. #TeamCap #FuckStark
  • Hawkeye gets some much deserved screentime in this flick. He was brainwashed for the majority of the first outing, so it was great to spend some time with Clint and see what makes him click.
  • Humorous throughout. One liners were being thrown all over this joint.
  • Well done action sequences throughout. 
  • Aaron Taylor Johnson and Elizabeth Olsen's accents are the funniest things ever.
  • Cool insight into Black Widow's past. Since last year's CA: TWS, Agent Romanoff has really opened up and become a captivating character in the MCU.
  • A little Andy Serkis never hurts! Neither does a little Wakanda.
  • Joss Whedon took those Man Of Steel criticisms about not protecting civilians to heart because the Avengers are going out of their way to protect every Tom, Dick, and Harry. Seeing heroes be heroic is never a bad thing.
  • Great performances throughout the cast. Each actor has really bonded with their character now that they have all had multiple outings.
  • The Vision's entrance was a bit awkward, but his payoff was pretty great.
  • Age Of Ultron feels like a global film. Action takes place all over the globe.
  • Fun to see the Avengers kick back and dick around. The whole party scene is a lot of fun. 
  • I dug the Black Widow/Hulk romance. Two different types of monsters that have come together.
  • The science bros reunited for some more (you guessed it!) science!
  • DAT CUT SCENE!
Be careful Natasha that shit is dangerous.
Low Points:

  • Ultron was an okay villain. James Spader was good acting as an almost pseudo-Tony Stark, but he never got the full focus he deserved. For starters we never saw how he came across his first full form. He just instantly had it and was off to the races. With so many characters I understand it is hard to balance all of them. The main villain should really stand out though and once again Ultron falls into the MCU's pantheon of under developed villains.
  • Thor's side quest was to further inform us more about the Infinity stones. Sometimes the connective universe has it's movies looking ahead instead of dealing with what in the present.
  • I understand that because Scarlet Witch had come into the fold that mind control was back in play, so I'm okay with seeing it as a big plot device again, but this has to be the last time we see it in an Avengers movie. I don't want every movie to have the team be at each others throat because they are psychically being inclined to. Especially with Civil War coming up, mind control should play no role whatsoever. Have it be a fight of ideologies.
  • The final fight scene was pretty anticlimactic. Yes a sacrifice was made, but defeating Ultron and his goons was pretty simplistic. Also because I asked for the end of mind control in the last bulletpoint, I'm also gonna ask for this to be the last the Avengers face a giant faceless army. For Infinity War, let's see them fight a different threat. Like the Masters of Evil or maybe a space brawl.
  • Enough with the Disney parallels. Ultron keeping signing Pinocchio. Banner and Ramanoff are supposed to be Beauty and the Beast. I get that Disney owns Marvel and that allows for this kinda stuff to happen, but there was enough of it that I have expected Steve Rogers to start singing "Be A Man" from Mulan in the final scene.

Didn't Scarlet Witch's powers look a lot like Poison Ivy's magic dust?

Verdict: Age of Ultron delivers on action and humor. Sometimes it can feel like mindless popcorn entertainment, yet it never reaches Transformers levels of mindless violence. Something is always at stake and you care about the people who are fighting.
         Ultron could have used a bit more focus and sometimes the building of the future of the MCU occasionally hurt it as a standalone film, but there is such more positive stuff going on that you really don't care. This movie did it's number one job: Kept me entertained for 2+ hours. The characters you have grown to know and love are all there taking names and kicking ass. What's not to like about that? Overall I'm giving Avengers: Age of Ultron a 8.0 out of 10. Fun movie and the first must see of the summer.

Thanks for reading! What did you think of Age Of Ultron? What future MCU movie are you most excited for?  Let us know in the comments or tweet at us @Caped_Informers or me @cstrand73. And make sure to tune in for our weekly Arrow, Flash, and Daredevil reviews. Also make sure to look for my remodeled list of the best Marvel movies. Coming soon.

Sunday, April 12, 2015

Daredevil Season 1 (Ep. 7-13) Review

Daredevil and Kingpin are on a collision course to decide the future of Hell's Kitchen in the kickass final seven installments of Daredevil. (Mild Spoilers)


High Points (Ep. 7-13)
  • Stick was an asshole and I loved every second he was on screen. He gave us insight on what drives Matt as well as one kick ass fight scene. With an eventual Defenders team up occurring, Stick looks to factor in on future of the MCU Netflix-verse.
  • Ben Urich became one of my favorite characters on the show. A gumshoe journalist who seeks the truth instead of promoting bullshit. 
  • Flashbacks to Wilson Fisk's past were extremely well done. Learning about what happened with his father was very enlightening. And goddamn Dom from Entourage as Bill Fisk was some of the best casting I have ever seen. Guy just drips a prick vibe.
  • The significance of The Rabbit in a Snowstorm painting was amazing.
  • The later episodes make great use of Matt's Catholicism as both a metaphor for himself and Fisk.
  • Foggy and Matt bumping heads was an interesting conflict. Imagine having to question if anything about your friendship is true? Heavy Stuff.
  • The fight scenes against Nobu and Gladiator were excellent. Matt got hit by a lot of sharp shit. 
  • The first Wilson Fisk vs. Matt was brutal. Fisk is no slouch. Amazing strength comes with his rage.
  • Madame Gau is sure to factor in the other upcoming Netflix series (...Iron Fist!). She reminded me of the magician at the beginning of The Prestige, who pretended to be feeble in order to protect his secrets. Like him, Gau puts on an act. She is tough and very formidable.
  • That Electra reference! I wonder if any of Matt's other former lovers could come out of the woodwork say maybe Black Widow?
  • Karen Page's past will definitely be explored in the future. 
  • Daredevil's new suit is awesome! Armor, but with horns. Absolutely love it.

  • Fisk and Vanessa's romance grew on me. It became integral to the story and how Fisk began to falter.
  • Matt had no love interest and it was fucking great. None of that Olicity bullshit to get in the way of awesome fight sequences and badass dialogue.
  • Matt, Foggy, Karen, and Ben drove the Kingpin to the edge. He was forced to kill off his comrades left and right.
  • The entire finale is epic. Especially the final clash between Daredevil and Kingpin. Showrunner Steven DeKnight excels at finishing stories. Look at his finales for each season of Spartacus. 
  • This season was an origin story that didn't feel like an average origin story. It integrated past and present well.


All that was missing was a little of this!


Low Points (Ep. 7-13)
  • Stick was only in one episode. 
  • Rosario Dawson kinda fell off the map, but she will show up in other Netflix series.
  • Karen's storyline dragged at some points. It was vital, but could have been shortened. 
  • Second Season isn't online right now.


Verdict (Ep. 7-13): Everything I said in my first review still applies. This show is just grand. Amazing acting, writing, cinematography and fights that will make you physically ache like you were in them. I am just running out of amazing stuff to say about it. All I know is that I'm an asshole for giving the first half of the season an 8.5, it should have been a 9.5. That is my cross to bear. But back to what matters, Daredevil is exactly what the MCU needed. A dark character who fights street level crime. A character that lends himself well to long form storytelling. And Daredevil fit both those categories. Marvel has given us action comedies, fantasy films, a 70's political thriller and even a space opera with dancing trees. Now it has given us the gritty crime drama that we, the fans, deserved and the one we needed right now. So for all this amazingness I'm giving the second half of the season a 9.0 out of 10


Best Episode (Ep. 7-13): Episode #13 "Daredevil"

Best Superhero Fight Scene Ever: Hallway brawl in "Cut Man"

Watch it on repeat!!!

Season Average: 8.75 out of 10

Full Season Grade: 9.25 out 10 aka "Let the devil in!"

P.S. If there is a God, he will introduce Frank Castle, The Punisher, in season 2. Along with Bullseye, Electra, and the Hand. Please and thank you!

Thanks for reading! What do you think of Daredevil's 1st season? Who should be introduced in season 2? Let us know in the comments or tweet at us @Caped_Informers or me @cstrand73. And make sure to tune in for our weekly Arrow, Flash reviews.

Friday, April 10, 2015

Daredevil Season 1 Midseason (Ep.1-6) Review

The path to the Defenders begins as Matt Murdoch's journey to becoming the the Man Without Fear is set in motion in the all new Netflix/Marvel show Daredevil. (Very Mild Spoilers)


Episode Description: Matt Murdock opens his law practice while also starting his career as a nightly vigilante.

High Points (Ep 1-6)
  • Excellent performances from the entire cast, Cox in particular.
  • Brutal fights scenes are reminiscent of Spartacus. Every punch that is thrown in this show has consequences. Nobody leaves a fight unscathed. It is the type of bone crushing violence that Frank Miller loves.
  • That hallway fight at the end of the second episode is legendary. 
  • Love how Matt's powers are really secondary to his fighting skills. 
  • Slow burn introduction to Wilson Fisk. 
  • Fisk reminds me of Tony Soprano not because they are two fat mob guys, but rather they both have two sides to them. A family side and the violent monster they can unleash when needed.
  • Speaking again on the level of violence this show is by far the darkest content Marvel Studios has produced. Marvel is showing it has balls.
  • Because this is a show and not a movie, every character gets a chance to stand out. From Foggy to Urich to Fisk each person has had their strong character moments.
  • Flashbacks to Matt's past are utilized quite well (You hear that Arrow?). 
  • Ties to the rest of the MCU are there, but this still feels like a great standalone story in a small corner of the MCU. I love that the stakes are smaller than world conquest but that doesn't make it any less interesting.
  • I would be remiss not to mention I love Rosario Dawson as Night Nurse. 
  • The show makes good use of Murdoch and Nelson as defense attorneys. This led to some great court room scenes.
  • This show makes several choices to distance themselves from 2003's Daredevil and they all work. Especially how they display Matt using his powers.
Showrunner Steven DeKnight knows how to build great fight scenes

Low Points (Ep 1-6)
  • Opening episode is slowly paced
  • I understand showing a different side of the Kingpin (Wilson Fisk) when we first see him, but him courting his future wife from the art gallery are the least interesting scenes on the show.
  • Some early humor falls flat.
  • I wish we got to see Battlin' Murdoch fight Crusher Creel.
  • The show launched at 3:00 am EST. 
Was anyone else waiting to see Battlin' Jack save Fisk from Zed + the gimp?

Verdict (Ep 1-6): Daredevil is exactly what the Marvel cinematic universe needed. Something different, something dark that stand-alones from it's other popular properties. Using Netflix as a platform for it's newest TV show, Marvel has finally allowed for some darker tones mixed with brutal violence. Not every part of the Marvel universe is so chipper and this show cements that fact.
          As a lead Charlie Cox is a star. You will actually believe his Matt Murdoch would go out and be able to handle himself against insane mob fighters. Then when needed he can flip a switch and be an ace in the courtroom. As for his associates Foggy, Karen, and Claire each of them have their moments. I am particular to say that I am a massive Rosario Dawson fan and love that she is on this show. I hope she pops up in Jessica Jones + Luke Cage as well. Just outstanding casting all around.
         Lastly, I just cannot say enough about the fighting on this show. I thought Arrow had great stunt choreography. This show makes that stuff look like it's for pre-schoolers. Each brawl is intense and never ends with only one or two punches. Feels more like a man is fighting another man. No super strength or armor here. Really helps keep the spirit of the Daredevil the comic character alive.
          Truly I made this review short because I want to go back to binging this awesome show. Daredevil is legit and gets an 8.5 out of 10 for it's first 6 episodes. Can't wait to see what the next 7 have in store.

Best Episode So Far: Episode #2 "Cut Man"
          

Thanks for reading! What do you think of Daredevil's 1st season? Who should be introduced in season 2? Let us know in the comments or tweet at us @Caped_Informers or me @cstrand73. And make sure to tune in for our weekly Arrow and Flash reviews.

Thursday, April 9, 2015

First Look At The Fantastic Four's The Thing

We have seen what Jamie Bell's (Nymphomaniac) Thing's ass looks like, so today Fox decided it was time to show us his frontside.


It is indeed clobbering time! That dude looks like he is made of solid rock. CGI is turning out much better than that Michael Chiklis (The Shield) suit. Fantastic Four hit theaters this August.

Actually Tobias might have worn it better

Thanks for reading! What do you think of The Thing? Let us know in the comments or tweet at us @Caped_Informers or me @cstrand73. And make sure to tune in for our weekly Arrow, Flash, and Daredevil reviews.

Wednesday, March 4, 2015

The New Avengers Trailer Is Amazing

HOLY SHIT BALLS! Now that is how you pump up your fanbase! I need to see this movie and I need to see it now.


Avengers: Age Of Ultron hits theaters on May 1st.

Saturday, February 21, 2015

The Results For The 2nd Annual Capeys: Movies

The 2nd Annual Capey Awards: Movies

The votes have been cast, the points have been tallied, and the winners have been chosen. Welcome to the results to the 2nd annual Capey Awards. Your favorite Caped Informers got together and decided what was the best of the best in Superhero films in 2014. Well, Jabba looks excited let's get started!

Did someone say the Capey Awards?

Comic Movie of The Year
Amazing Spiderman 2
Captain America: The Winter Solider
Guardians of The Galaxy
TMNT
X-Men: Days Of Future Past

Winner: Captain America: The Winter Soldier



Captain America: The Winter Soldier only beat out Guardians of the Galaxy by a single vote.  So in short you could say it was a great year for Marvel Studios. Both their films were both critical and box office successes, but we gave the edge to the Captain. His 70's esque political thriller was riveting. It also helps that it had Scarlet Johansson. Never hurts to throw in a little Scarjo


Best Sci-Fi Movie of The Year
Dawn of The Planet of The Apes
Edge of Tomorrow (Live, Die, Repeat)
Godzilla
Interstellar
Snowpiercer

Winner: Dawn Of The Planet Of the Apes



This was another tough race. All five movies were excellent sci-fi, but at the end of the day we choose Dawn. The apes may have been the most compelling characters in cinema in this year. It's truly amazing how great the reboot to the classics have been.


Best Lead Hero
Captain America (Chris Evans)
Spiderman (Andrew Garfield)
Star Lord (Chris Pratt)
Wolverine (Hugh Jackman)
Caesar (Andy Serkis)

Winner: Captain America (Chris Evans)



No other hero has had as big of a character arc as Captain America has in his 3 movie appearances. He has gone from a government lap dog to full on rebel.

Best Supporting Hero
Black Widow (Scar Jo)
Falcon (Anthony Mackie)
Rocket Racoon (Bradley Cooper)
Professor X (James McAvoy)
Groot (Vin Disel)

Winner: Rocket Racoon (Bradley Cooper)



Rocket and Groot burst into the mainstream this year. It was another close race here. In the end thought the raccoon edged out the tree because of his brilliant prison escape.

Best Villain
The Winter Soldier (Sebastian Stan)
Ronan (Lee Pace)
HYDRA
Magneto (Michael Fassbender)
Alexander Pierce (Robert Redford)

Winner: HYDRA




HYDRA is that evil organization that you just can't help but love. HAIL HYDRA!



The Grab Bag Award
Gwen Stacy (Emma Stone)
Mystique (Jennifer Lawrence)
Quicksilver (Evan Peters)
Drax (Bautista)
Gamora (Zoe Saldana)

Winner: Quicksilver (Evan Peters)



For having easily the coolest sequence this year, Qucicksilver gets the Capey!

Best Director
Russo Bros. (Captain America: The Winter Soldier)
James Gunn (Guardians of Galaxy)
Brian Singer (X-Men: DOFP)
Matt Reeves (Dawn of the Planet of the Apes)
Chris Nolan (Interstellar)


Winner: Russo Bros. (Captain America: The Winter Soldier)

The Russo Bros. came in and took over a character that had been under-appreciated within the MCU and turned him into a star.


Best Movie Fight
Cap 2 Fighting WS on the Highway
TMNT vs. Shredder
GOTG Prison Break
X-Men Against Future Sentinels
Spidey vs. Gobby

Winner: Cap 2 Fighting WS on the Highway


Esquite knife work

Funniest Movie Scene
Quicksilver Saves the Day
Groot Murder a Few Guys
Drax Steals a Dude's Knife
Rocket Needs that Guy's Leg
Captain America Goes to the Apple Store

Winner: Rocket Needs that Guy's Leg



Best Elevator Scene
Professor X Punching Magneto
Gwen Stacy Meeting Max Dillon/Harry Osborn
Cap Critically Injures 15 Guys
The Turtles Jam session on the elevator

Winner: Cap Critically Injures 15 Guys



2014 was truly the year of the elevator. Whether it was Gwen Stacy conveniently meeting both bad guys from Amazing Spiderman 2 or Cap beating the piss out of HYDRA agents, everything was happening on an elevator. Even in real life, shit was going down in elevators. Solange beat the shit of Jay-Z. Then Ray Rice struck his wife like the piece of shit Raven he is. Was just a crazy year behind those closed doors.

Worst Movie Villain (The Aldrin Killan Award)
Electro
Ronan
The Rhino
Green Goblin
The Shredder

Winner: Electro


Best Buds!
I have shat on Electro countless times before, so I won't do it again here. I would like to instead thank Marc Webb for providing 3 villains for this list. Great job buddy, keep up the good work. You made Aldrin Killan proud by filling out this category.

Biggest Disappointment
Amazing Spiderman 2
TMNT
Sin City: A Dame To Kill For

Winner: The Amazing Spiderman 2


Wouldn't exactly call it his greatest...

Another thank you for TASM 2, for being so bad that Sony had to run to Marvel for help. Though it is a shame you wasted Andrew Garfield and Emma Stone's talents.

You Need To Be Replaced Award
Marc Webb (Director of TASM 2)
Josh Appelbaum, André Nemec (Writers of TMNT)
Jonathan Liebesman (Director TMNT)
Avi Arad and Matt Tolmach (Producers of TASM 2)
Megan Fox (Actress in TMNT)

Winner: Avi Arad and Matt Tolmach (Producers of TASM 2)

Immediately after I wrote these nominations these two dumbasses were demoted. #IMadeItHappen #NotReally

Best Sexually Charged Moment
Hipster Cap and Black Widow make out on an escalator
Peter stalks Gwen as Spiderman
Gamora does not succumb to Star Lord's pelvic sorcery
Wolverine's ass shot

Winner: Wolverine's ass shot

Last year, Hugh Jackman took home the Capey for best lead hero. This year he takes home the Capey for best ass. His wife must be proud.

Best Animated Movie
Justice League: War
Justice League: Throne of Atlantis
Batman: Assault on Arkham
Son of Batman
Lego Movie

Winner: Batman: Assault on Arkham



Any movie that gratuitous violence, sex, and Batman is an automatic winner. Sorry, Lego Movie. You got snubbed at the Oscars and at the Capeys.

Best Movie Trailer/Teaser
Avengers: Age Of Ultron
Guardians of The Galaxy
Star Wars VII: The Force Awakens
Ant-Man

Winner: Star Wars VII: The Force Awakens


88 seconds of pure bliss. December cannot get here fast enough!


Thanks for reading and congratulations to all the winners! What was your favorite movie last year? Let us know in the comments or on twitter @Caped_Informers or @cstrand73. Be sure to check back regularly for more show/movie reviews and editorials regarding the comic book universe. The Capeys TV winners will be posted later this week!