Showing posts with label venom. Show all posts
Showing posts with label venom. Show all posts

Saturday, July 12, 2014

Is 'The Amazing Spiderman' Franchise in Trouble?

Amid recent reports that The Amazing Spiderman 3 has been pushed back to 2017, one of the screenwriters for ASM 2 Robert Orci has told IGN Movies that he has exited the sequel.  "I don't know what their plans are for that franchise," Orci said. Then when asked if he would return for future installments he said "I don't ever want to say never, but we have to figure out what their scheduling is in terms of when they want each movie. I've read probably as much as anyone else. There's a love for the Sinister Six, the idea of Venom -- there's an idea of Spider-Man's going to be one of these characters that's part of our business. He's such a popular character. Spider-Man's not going to go away any time soon. When it all happens and how and all that has yet to be determined." Orci's next project will be directing the JJ-less Star Trek 3.

Source: IGN Movies
             ComicBookMovie


First off I would to say that I'm not the biggest fan of Robert Orci or his former writing partner Alex Kurtzman. They have many shitty projects clogging up their combined resume including Cowboys vs Aliens and Transformers: Revenge Of the Fallen. Overall they are mediocre writers at best. They are the geniuses behind using super blood as a plot device in both Star Trek: Into Darkness and ASM 2. Fuck, I wouldn't be surprised if they are the ones who proposed the idea that the aliens' motivation in Cowboys vs Aliens was that they wanted our gold. Just terrible. So somehow these two were believed to be featured heavily in the future of the ASM franchise. Kurtzman was to direct Venom and both of them were expected to pen the upcoming sequel. That was all before the lukewarm critical and box office reception of ASM 2. So now Orci is off to ruin Star Trek and Kurtzman is god knows where. So where does that leave Spiderman and his spinoffs?

What is really interesting is Orci's comments about not knowing the schedule of future Spidey films. A few months ago it seemed very set in stone that Amazing Spiderman 3 would be released in 2016. But in a post ASM 2 world, that no longer seems so certain. Same thing with Venom and the Sinister Six. Sony's plans for the villainous spinoffs seemed like a guarantee, but now Orci's comments make it sound like the studio is weary to make those flicks.



So let's face the facts, Amazing Spiderman 2 has (at least temporarily) crippled the once promising franchise. As a staff we gave the film an 7.5, but others were not as kind. So what was the problem with the movie? Andrew Garfield sure of hell isn't, he is a great Spiderman. Emma Stone was once again top notch. The problem is Marc Webb and the writing team. Webb has swung and missed on both of the mains villains and focus of the first two movies. 

I have never particularly found the Lizard to be an exciting villain and as for Electro, Jamie Foxx's performance of wasn't the problem, the way he was misused was. The character was extremely powerful (superpowers-wise), it just did not feel like the main villain of the film though. He was only around so when the time was right he could break Harry Osborn in Oscorp and give us a Goblin origin. Still somehow in forgien markets this film had the subtitle Rise Of Electro. Even though Electro is missing through most of the film and done away with rather quickly in the finale so that the more compelling villain Green Goblin can fuck with Peter. Webb has stated that Electro is his favorite Spiderman villain, yet the character felt like he didn't belong in this movie. 

The other main problem I have with Webb is his focus on Peter's parents. The storyline had an  obvious ending and took away valuable screen time from other scenes that could have improved the film. It just further made the film jumbled by making it spin more story lines. Also nobody has ever given a shit about Peter's parents. Like seriously I'm surprised this franchise even attempted to address them.

So yes maybe The Amazing Spiderman franchise is delaying it's 3rd film and subsequent spinoffs. But truthfully I find this to be a good thing. This franchise needs to find a new direction. Orci leaving is a good start, but I really believe Sony needs to replace Webb as well. He is great with the romantic scenes, but I'm sorry to tell him that Spiderman isn't all about romance. He picks and misuses the villains of his films and I do not want to see him ruin characters like Venom or Kraven anytime soon. Get a new writing team and tell Webb to hit the curb. Hopefully then Andrew Garfield can get a movie that his fantastic portrayal of Spiderman deserves.


Thanks for reading and make sure to follow us on Twitter @Caped_Informers or me @cstrand73 for all your comic and ASM updates.

Thursday, May 8, 2014

Weekly Poll Analysis: Spiderman Villains (5/8/14)

For this week's poll question I asked "Who Should Be the Main Villain in ASM 3? The people have spoken and they demand Venom! He took the poll this week with 37%.


The results were:

Venom: 37%

Doctor Octopus: 28%

Kraven: 13%

Mysterio: 11%

Sandman: 4%

Green Goblin: 4%

Vulture: 0%

Analysis: 

Venom: The results to this poll were not surprising in the least. With a proposed Venom movie on the horizon, the decision to introduce the character in ASM 3 would make sense. I believe having Venom as the main protagonist in his own film requires Sony to set up his origin beforehand. I do not want to see a Venom origin movie without Peter Parker. Venom's main motivation is to destroy his arch rival and my fear is that without Peter in the film, Venom will start out not as a villain, but rather a hero. In 2007 we received a shit Venom. I do not want to see the character further disgraced on the silver screen by completely changing his motivations and background. Yes, Venom has been an anti-hero, but that was after he was initially fucked with Peter/Spidey. If Sony wants to "redeem" the character like their producer Avi Arad desires, then Venom has to start out as a baddie not a goodie. So Sony, if you are listening Venom would be the smart choice for the villain of your 3rd Amazing Spiderman film.

Doctor Octopus: On the coattails of the evil symbiote was the brain swapping expert Doc Ock. His trusty mechanical arms were teased in ASM 2, but instead of introducing him in Spidey 3 I believe he would be better off first appearing as a member of Harry Osborn's Sinister Six. The villain team up film could be a good place to set up the character then later produce him as the bad guy for the Amazing Spiderman 4. By that point, 2018, audiences will have been 14 years removed from Alfred Molina's Doc Ock and ready for a new interpretation. Though if he was selected as ASM 3's villain it would not be the end of the world. Otto could help further guide the story to the Sinister Six. I just personally feel establishing Venom is of more importance because Harry essential stated he is setting up the Sinister Six at the end of ASM 2.
          
Kraven: Earlier this week, director Marc Webb stated that he would be interested in adapting Kraven the Hunter to the big screen. Now do not get me wrong, Kraven is one of my favorite Spiderman villains. I believe Kraven's Last Hunt is of the best Spidey stories ever told. Having said that, I do not want him as the main villain in Amazing Spiderman 3. My hope for the character is an inclusion in Sinister Six and perhaps a turn as a main villain in a future Spidey film. Perhaps based on the Last Hunt storyline. Other villains like Venom and Doc Ock make more sense to guide the franchise to it's spinoff films.

Green Goblin and Sandman: Dane Dehaan's Gobby is busy setting up his Sinister Six, so I imagine he will not be the main antagonist of ASM 3. Perhaps a small role, but not much more. Sandman however should be left alone for a while longer. Let the stench of Spiderman 3 wear off. Venom was misused in that film, but his popularity can overcome it. Sandman does not have the same level of fan following. I would wait until perhaps a sequel to Sinister Six to first introduce Flint Marko.

Vulture: Sorry, Adrian Toomes. Apparently no gives a shit about you. Personally I don't much either. His Vulture wings were teased along with Doc's arms in ASM 3 which probably means an invitation to join the Sinister Six. Other than that keep this old bird in his cage.

Now sit back and relax until the villain is announced later this year. Thanks for reading!



Make sure to make your voice heard by voting in our polls every week. Who do you want as the villain in ASM 3? Tell us in the comments.

Tuesday, April 29, 2014

CinemaSins Does 'Spiderman 3'

This week CinemaSins tallies up the flaws of everyone's favorite superhero film Spiderman 3. Hopefully the forthcoming Venom film will redeem the character for big screen audiences. And perhaps maybe Sandman can get a proper treatment as the asshole he really is. Not the killer of Uncle Ben who only steals money to support his sick daughter. Does every Spidey villain have to be sympathetic to be in a movie? Amazing Spiderman 2 will answer that question when it opens in theaters Friday.




Tuesday, April 22, 2014

THE REDEEM TEAM!

On our 12th podcast, Christian, Karl, and Ryan discuss the future spinoffs of major superhero franchises. The gangs touches upon the Sinister Six, Venom, and even Mystique. So strap in for some Spinoff action!
(Recorded 4/13/14)

Follow us on Twitter: Caped_Informers


Monday, April 14, 2014

Carnage as the Potential Villain for Venom Spin Off?!

As we reported last week friends, yes there will be a Venom spin off, and yes there will be a Sinister Six spin off. Now, we are seeing reports that Cletus Kasady aka Carnage could be making an appearance in the Venom spin off. Both Matt Tolmach and Avi Arad, the guys in charge of the spin offs, said we could possibly we see Carnage show up. Let me just say this. You had me at Venom, but now this changes everything. Every fan of Venom knows wants there to be an epic show down between him and Carnage. Why wouldn't you want to put that on the big screen. Two of the baddest Spidey villains, one who happens to be a crazed serial killer, going toe to toe. This needs to happen. In any way, shape, or form please let this happen. The people are demanding Carnage. What do you guys think? Carnage vs Venom.



Source: http://www.comicbookmovie.com/fansites/JoshWildingNewsAndReviews/news/?a=98083

Thursday, April 10, 2014

Venom and Sinister Six Spinoffs Happening Sooner Than We Thought???

In a recent interview with "Den of Geek", Matt Tolmach the man in charge of the Spidey Spinoffs that currently include both Venom and the Sinister Six, said we could be seeing them before the release of Amazing Spider-Man 4. Now this I find very interesting. For those of you that are avid listeners of our podcasts, I made a prediction that we could see hints of both spinoffs in the upcoming Spider-Man film. Whether this means I was right or wrong, I think we can all agree that I was not too far off. Mr. Tolmach saying we could see these movies before the 4th installment is huge. Especially since there is so much room in the Spidey universe for cross overs and things of that nature. All in all it's great news for us web head fans and for all those opposed. Get it? Villain humor.











Monday, February 10, 2014

WE ARE THE CAPED INFORMERS!

Hello and Welcome to the Caped Informers official blog!
We are a couple of spirited individuals who love discussing current comic book topics, so we decided to record it and put it online. Thanks for checking us out.

Tune in this week and listen to our hosts Brady and Christian discuss everything from The Amazing Spiderman 2 trailer to the Arrow mid-season finale. (Recorded 12/19/13)

Wanna keep up to date on all Caped Informers' podcasts, follow us on twitter @Caped_Informers

Our first podcast (Caped Informers #1: All Kinds Of Venom) is attached below. Enjoy!