Showing posts with label edgar wright. Show all posts
Showing posts with label edgar wright. Show all posts

Thursday, July 16, 2015

Ant-Man Review

Paul Rudd bursts onto the Marvel scene in Ant-Man. Check out my review of the pint sized hero's first solo outing. (Mild To No Spoilers!)



Description: Several months after the events of Avengers: Age of Ultron, ex-thief Scott Lang must aid his mentor and former hero Dr. Hank Pym in safeguarding the mystery of the Ant-Man technology—which allows its user to decrease in size but increase in strength—from various new threats, and plot a heist that will save the Earth.

High Points:
  • Paul Rudd was classic charming Paul Rudd. You buy that his Scott Lang is a criminal who wishes to reform. He also provides his A+ comedic timing.
  • Speaking of comedy, this movie is funny. And the funniest person isn't even Paul Rudd, it's Michael Pena as Luis. Almost every word out of his mouth made me laugh.
  • Michael Douglas was a great Hank Pym. He and Rudd had solid chemistry. Their mentor/men-tee relationship was the core of the film.
  • Loved Hank Pym's backstory.
  • The Ant-Man shrinking sequences were pretty cool. The stunt team and special effects  were able to make Ant-Man fight in a much different way than most superheroes. He used his size and speed to his advantage.
  • Scott actually controlled a shit ton of ants. 
  • There is a sequence with an Avenger that was an unexpected surprise.
  • Loved the heist film vibe. What Marvel has excelled at is making their movies feel like different types of films rather than just a generic superhero film. 
  • Yellowjacket had a kickass suit. It looked damn cool.
  • Judy Greer is America's Mom.
  • The final fight sequence encompasses everything that made this movie a blast. 
  • Cut Scenes set up two future Marvel movies!
  • T.I. was in it and that makes me happy.

Ant-Man's Theme Song

Low Points:
  • While Ant-Man's powers + action sequences felt new and exciting, other elements of the film felt rather predictable and generic. Particularly a romantic plot and the film's entire opening.
  • Corey Stoll is a great actor. I fucking loved him as Peter Russo in House of Cards. He is wasted here. He is generic Bad guy #1. The actions he takes to make the audience hate him are ridiculous/hilarious. Marvel continues to show that they don't give a shit about villains.
  • Non-chalant Hydra reference.
  • Ants are gross.

Verdict: Ant-Man is a fun film. Another product of the proven Marvel formula. The movie has a generic bad guy, but that has worked for these films that fit into the MCU. Despite that major flaw, Paul Rudd's charm and the great use of Ant-Man's powers put this flick a step above many of Marvel's other solo efforts. Overall I'm giving Ant-Man a 7.5 out of 10. A cool new superhero romp that doesn't disappoint, but fails to get from good to great.

Thanks for reading! What did you think of Ant-Man? What part will he have to play in Civil WarLet us know in the comments or tweet at us @Caped_Informers or me @cstrand73. And be sure to check out all our other TV + movie reviews.


P.S. Someone start a Kickstarter for the Michael Pena (Luis) spinoff!


P.P.S. I'm still fucking bitter that I didn't direct this.

Tuesday, January 6, 2015

Ant-Man Trailer Has Finally Been Released!

Paul Rudd stars in a movie that I didn't direct alongside Michael Douglas as a character I didn't cast in Marvel Studios' Ant-Man. Last year everyone claimed that Marvel was taking a major risk with Guardians of the Galaxy (look at how that worked out!), so the risk with Ant-Man looks like slightly less at this point. Disagreements with the studio caused Edgar Wright (Hot Fuzz) to leave that director chair and rumors that there is something wrong with this movie to spread. Now people love Paul Rudd (myself included) so I don't think this movie will totally bomb. I'm just saying from this trailer, Ant-Man looks a lot like another Thor: The Dark World and not a GOTG. That's not a good thing if Marvel wants to launch another character to join their Avenger's roster. 
          In the end though there is no stopping Marvel these days. They are on a roll after an amazing 2014. So with the Marvel logo in the front the credits, Ant-Man should be just fine. Plus I fucking love Corey Stoll (House of Cards). He will be a great adversary for Paul Rudd.  Ant-Man comes out July 2015.


Friday, May 23, 2014

Director Edgar Wright Exits 'Ant-Man'

CBM.com has reported that Marvel Studios and director Edgar Wright (Hot Fuzz) have parted ways due to "creative differences". Wright was set to first Marvel's Ant-Man or the first film of their Phase 3. Wright spent 6 years developing the project. The Studio will have to quickly find a replacement because the rest of the crew and cast are set to shoot. This a big blow to Marvel Studios that has had trouble with actors and directors in the past. When you are owned by the Big Mouse it's his way or the highway. My guess is Wright probably tried to inject some of his brand of comedy to the superhero genre and Mickey would have none of it because it doesn't fit into Disney's "family friendly agenda". Or maybe he really did just have "creative differences. well whatever, Fight the Power Edgar! Ant-Man is still expected Summer 2015.

Read more: CBM



Tuesday, March 25, 2014

Corey Stoll To Join Ant-Man!

If you loved the alcoholic and prostitute obsessed Rep. Peter Russo from season 1 of House of Cards, get excited because apparently so did Marvel Studios. Corey Stoll (The Strain) who played Russo, is up for a role in Edgar Wright's Ant-Man. Once again who he will be playing has not been revealed. So we must speculate. Stoll is bald, so my guess is a scientist or Egghead. Ant-Man is expected in theaters July 2015.

Read the Report: http://www.thewrap.com/house-cards-alum-corey-stoll-talks-join-marvels-ant-man-exclusive/